We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed after refurb ”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Disappointed after refurb ”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Have visited the hotel many times and stayed recently to see how different the place is after the recent Christmas refurb closure. I know they planed to convert one of the wings to apartments and was interested to see the changes. Besides the smell of fresh paint in my room I couldn't see any! The hotel is still ok and it's true it trumps a lot of the others with car parking and it's spa facility,especially if the weather is nice. This is a massive hotel and must be doing some very careful balancing of the books to keep it all going. I hope everything goes well for them but for me I think
It needs to be brought up to date or is likely to be stuck in a rut.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    546
    160
    46
    19
See reviews for
263
890
103
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at Hotel de France over Easter weekend, the hotel was tucked away situated behind a medical centre & a reasonable walk to the town although would imagine a long walk for some. The hotel was very clean, the room was good with good facilities although we were at the back of the hotel so no views. The staff were ok but not the friendliest I've ever met. The food was very good although the Saffron restaurant was closed some nights which surprised us over a bank holiday weekend. The Spa was very good, the staff were very helpful & the treatments on offer were good. Overall very good & would recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you select a room at the front of the hotel. Rooms at the rear overlook the roof of the gy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfkingKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Based 10/15 minutes from the centre of St Helier, the Hotel de France has a perfect location for exploring Jersey. The hotel's public areas were smart and well tended. The staff on the front desk were both friendly and helpful. There are two restaurants; one a brasserie and one a proper restaurant (Saffron's with a menu filled with good international fare). That said there are 4 Michelin starred restaurants on Jersey (with great value lunch offers), so we did not eat in the hotel often. I would not like to pass too much of a comment on the rooms; as we choose cheap and cheerful singles. They were clean though and with all the facilities (TV, bath, shower, free Wifi) that we required. The spa area is outstanding and of a very high quality. It would not look out of place in any 5 star establishment. There are 4 pools (a large length pool, two warm dipping pools and one cold water), a sauna, gym (with 2 upright bikes, 2 treadmills, cross-trainer and free weights) and then the spa treatments. Would certainly recommend the hotel as good value for money, if you were going to use these facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There have been a few less-than-complimentary reviews for this hotel but I think they're unfair. Yes, some things are a bit dated but we found the staff very pleasant, the room clean and the breakfast was pretty good for a buffet; a lot of choice and good quality.

But the star was the spa centre. Everything here was excellent. I'd have liked a hot tub but the jet pool was a first for me and I loved it. We also splashed out on some massages and here, the whole experience was wonderful, with even a kind of post-massage relaxation room where they give you a herbal tea and wrap you in a blanket rather than chasing you out the door. I got a £40 upper-body, neck massage and a £40 Indian head massage which which took about an hour and was well worth it.

The main thing about our stay was value. Our room was £76 per night breakfast extra and we got a great deal for that. We had a drink in the Grand and it did indeed look much more elegant - but it was more than double the price.

15 minute walk into town was easy for us and they have a shuttle bus a few times a day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streaky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just got back from 3 night stay. Think although spacious it was pretty average. Friendly reception staff. However .... Had a couple of pairs of worn underwear disappear from case in my room and felt a little embarrassed to report!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

5th April-12th April
Returned to Jersey for our 29th wedding anniversary. Stayed at this hotel for the first time and loved it.Stayed on B&B the breakfast was super with plenty of choice.
The room overlooked the town of St.Helier was very well maintained and clean.
The Spa area was also first class and my wife enjoyed the steam room!
We ate in the cafe aroma three times and the quality of food was very good.
Would certainly return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Think you need a town view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This trip was a Christmas present from my OH, excited as I stayed there as a child and wondered how much I would remember. The only real memory I had was of sitting at the bedroom window eating my tea and looking out at the view. The room we were given was tiny with a very small window looking out at nothing. It had a sloping ceiling and a dining chair either side of the bed facing towards the bed. When he complained he was shown two other rooms one he declared was worse and the other although slightly larger had an even worse view,if that was possible.
When we went back to reception they offered us one of the spa rooms at a supplement. In the end we agreed to pay as we weren't prepared to stay in the other rooms.
We were annoyed that we had been put in the uncomfortable position of having to complain in the first place and also that the supplement we had to pay had moving goalposts. The first rooms we were shown were not of the standard you would expect from this calibre of hotel, it was not a late booking so if they knew they were going to be full they should have upgraded people, maybe regulars, so that they had sufficient acceptable rooms without using what could only be described as small single rooms.
Had we not had all this hassle we would have had a very enjoyable weekend and been able to recommend it. As it is we are having to suggest people try somewhere else which is a pity as the spa and breakfast were lovely.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing