We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful place”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful place”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Hotel De France never disappoints and always surprises.
Such a wonderful place since the spa has been upgraded it's even better.
Simply a must for visitors to Jersey.
The food is amazing with great menu choices and several different places to eat within the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
defrance, Marketing Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you Marymoomoo for your kind comments. We endeavour to continually improve our facilities and service offering and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    553
    161
    46
    19
See reviews for
272
903
105
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed this weekend with my husband and small child, we had a family room which (while perfectly clean, quiet and adequate), looked like a throwback from years gone by. Given the website look and feel and the cost of the room I expected more.
That said, the waiting staff in Aroma Cafe were second to none with one of the waiters, John, being jovial with our 4 year old and making her feel special. Our food was fantastic too & I would head back there for that alone.
Again the staff in Saffrons bar were charming and attentive and were happy to accommodate us making an alcho-free cocktail for our daughter.
The pool area is fantastic & gives a luxury feel - again, well worth going for this.
I would go again, but this time I wouldn't expect so much from the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSilkyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Comfortable quiet room at the back of the hotel. Free wifi good signal. Buffet style breakfast was super; tasty fresh wide selection continental and traditional English too. As much as you like.

Swimming pool area although inside is bright modern and fresh. Two pools plus sauna and steam room.

Staff friendly and helpful

Like much of Jersey it's very quiet on a Sunday eg no courtesy bus into town and one of the two restaurants isn't open. The hotel is not in the centre of town, bear in mind if you don't have transport.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian-Drak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Staff are very helpful, food is excellent if a little expensive, free parking and wi fi. The breakfast is excellent and they offer a fulll range including kippers and porrage. The pool is just OK, it could be bigger and has a closed in feel to it.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but those with a front view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here over May bank holiday. Incredibly attentive staff, great dinner in the bistro, and pleasant evening afterwards in the bar area, which is very relaxing. The spa facilities, including pool, are absolutely lovely. Location is very good with just a short stroll into the town where there is a good variety of shops and restaurants. We will definitely be going back. The rooms are very clean and a good size, perhaps a little dated in terms of decor but by no means does this spoil the overall experience of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs302010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As ever the hotel experience is excellent. The service is excellent and the food in the Bistro is excellent and good value. The rooms are clean and tidy with good wifi connection. The only down side is the lack of curtains. I didn't use the Spa on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here during April 2014, Nice room on the third floor, good English fresh cooked breakfast.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms lack a little sound proofing but kept clean and tidy.
Did not get to use the facilites but looked very modern.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazerblazer1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,876 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,467 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing