We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fab hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just back from jersey and what great hotel this is, the breakfast is to die for, rooms a bit small , the spa is very good, the staff where very polite but need to relex a bit more . I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flash16610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    527
    154
    45
    18
See reviews for
250
847
99
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This really is a Hotel existing in two worlds each with their own character. The original Building and the Spa Rooms. The Public Rooms in the original building are beautifully appointed to the extent of being luxurious, and the outside Terraces are places to while away time whilst relaxing in the sunshine with a drink or something to eat. No quibble either with the food or the Staff who were always helpful and pleasant. We stayed in a Spa Room which was large, had a balcony and a great view over St. Hellier, but the design of the interior could have been improved. The TV was small by today's standards, was positioned between windows opening out to the balcony, and was difficult to see from the bed which was set at an angle. The room lacked subtle lighting and looked like it was waiting for more furniture to arrive. The bathroom, although spacious, lacked towel rails and hooks, once again giving the impression of 'work in progress'. Such a shame. On the other hand we could not fault the Ayush Wellness Spa and the treatments that we had pre-booked.

Room Tip: Top Floor if you are staying in one of the Spa Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PaoloDanbury_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A lovely hotel with views out across the bay. The staff are superb and really make this a good hotel. Nice spa & pool facilities too. All-in-all thoroughly recommended.

We stayed in a standard room this time around - nicely done with a view of the sea but not a huge room. It had an interconnecting door with, unfortunately, a very loud snoring neighbour! To the hotel's credit, without us asking they upgraded us after two nights of disturbed sleep to a spa room, which is enormous and I would say is well worth the extra money to get the extra room and huge windows/doors looking out towards the sea.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and when we come back to Jersey again (I am sure there will be another trip back!) we will no doubt stay here again (and definitely pay for the larger Spa rooms!).

Room Tip: The spa rooms are worth the extra money as they are enormous and have huge bathrooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank fab2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanage
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fabulous hotel, staff and food. It was very friendly and professional - we will be back and are confident that we will receive the same high level of service! Beautiful pool, lovely spacious rooms especially those with spa facilities. From a group Morgan leader.

Helpful?
Thank graphsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I found the hotel very clean and well kept. The staff where polite but I felt could do with relaxing and being a little more friendly. It was all a little too rehearsed.
The wifi worked very well ( essential to me ) and the food was good.
I would definitly stay here again but wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The rooms were not large, but were adequate and very clean. What made this stay so good was the staff who were delightful, could not do enough to help, but were still unobtrusive. The food at this hotel was also exceptional, the Saffron restaurant has to be tried and the breakfast buffet as good as any other I have visited. The spa is also worth a visit with the pool and gardens also very well kept, would definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just back from Hotel de France. We only had the standard room, but with a view over St Helier it was great. The restaurants, bars, pools and gardens were all really good, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We want to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing