We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous de France”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I have just spent a fabulous 11 night break in Jersey and were delighted with our choice of hotel. On check in we were informed we had been upgraded to a spa room - great first impression! The room was spacious, clean, bright with a private balcony. The breakfasts were plentiful - continental, cooked breakfasts and you could also order porridge, poached eggs etc at no extra cost. We also ate in the hotel restaurants several times. Saffrons has an upmarket take on Indian food and Cafe Aroma is good for lunches or a light evening meal. The carvery offers excellent value for a 3 course meal - cheaper than anything equivalent we had eaten in St Hellier centre. Good choice of cocktails in the lounge bar too. The spa facilities add that extra ingredient to fully relax and unwind. The general hotel areas were clean and well presented. The staff were attentive and very helpful. It's a 15 - 20 minute easy walk to the centre of town - handy for walking off the tasty breakfasts and Jersey cream teas! The hotel has some evening entertainment but it is not intrusive and is a cut above the usual - special mention must go to the jazz quartet. We can't wait for our return stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikisViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Having stayed here before I think we were expecting too much? We went for a spa room, these are in the new part of the building. We hoped the room would be warm and welcoming. We found a plain soulless room with no welcome, no warmth or personality. The room was clean but had no freshness, no fragrant welcome which you might expect from a spa room. The bathroom would be great for less able travellers. V wheelchair friendly with the wet room. Also the two leather armchars in the room were ripped and very worn. Bed linens of poor quality!The hotel reception had a fowl smell, I was informed the sand in the ash trays outside needed to be changed. Shame as this was once a great hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel! We chose the spa rooms aswe were told had a balcony, yes it did but who wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tinyyorkielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here, as a family of four, with our two children aged under seven. The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere and all of the staff have a very polite and professional demeanour. It is not a modern building but that is part of its appeal. The hotel was not noisy at any time during our stay. The room was clean and well decorated as were all areas of the hotel. It was very hot during our stay and the room became unbearably hot but, without asking, we received a portable air conditioning unit. I thought that was an amazing attention to detail. The hotel does not particularly cater for children, as there are no kids clubs etc, but our children were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed being 'grown ups'. Our children loved their stay. The hotel is on a hill within walking distance of St Helier, about half a mile away. There doesn't appear to be sufficient parking but there were always a few spaces available. We thoroughly enjoyed the meals that we ate there and these were reasonably priced, if you bear in mind that Jersey is a shade more expensive than mainland UK. This is our fourth stay at this beautiful hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gjcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A fantastic find, booked last minute and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were great and very helpful, a fantastic spread of food for breakfast, high standard throughout. Luxury spa/swimming facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Thank you all at the Hotel de France we had a fantasic time at your hotel we could not find any fault with the hotel,in any shape or form very plesant staff very helpfull very polite people, food was fantastic and our room was very comfortable nice and airy nice out look. The spa and swimming pool very nice we cannot fault this hotel recomend

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade you canonly ask we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had to cancel Initial booking at two days notice.Hotel re-booked immediately at no expence.
Eventual stay was excellent in all aspects - room spacious, air-con welcome in view of the heat.
Aroma restaurant/cafe caters for all tastes with seating inside and out.

Room Tip: original parts - classic, newer parts- light and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trevor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed in the hotel in early July as a 4 day birthday break for my wife.
The staff were really friendly and welcoming, and the hotel is huge..
I picked the hotel because of the spa facilities in case we had bad weather. Well, the sun was out and it was 26degrees, but it was still nice to come back at the end of the day, and use the spa.

We were allocated room 265, which had a fantastic view looking over the top of St Hellier, and straight to the coast.


All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly, and I would defiantly book to go here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,584 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £89 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing