We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great hotel and facilities generally, rooms disappointing”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, great hotel and facilities generally, rooms disappointing”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for almost a week. During that time we were made welcome by the staff, and enjoyed the pool and spa facilities. The public areas of the hotel are really nice and well looked after, however we found the bedroom a bit disappointing. Whilst it was clean and not shabby, it was dull and a bit dated. The walls were plain magnolia with nothing on them and the furniture a 'traditional' pine bed, dressing table and mirror. Not the largest of rooms either (we had a standard double). Personally I found the bed really uncomfortable as well, but I know this is subjective. However if you're not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, the rest of the hotel was really nice. Breakfast is good, the pool area is very good and prices reasonable for a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    555
    161
    46
    19
See reviews for
274
907
105
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here 14-16 August 2014. Group of 6 accommodated in 3 rooms (via Expedia who's site only allowed group bookings of same room type but follow up with hotel to change one to a twin without any problem). Helped by bellhop at check-in (which went very smoothly) and headed to our rooms. We were on the top floor (502) and 4th floor (402/403). Rooms a little small and a touch dated but more than sufficient for the small amount of time we were staying (I think there's an updated part of the hotel with more modern rooms?) Only slight criticism was size of the TV in the room (tiny!) but watched very little. They have all UK and main French channels and some German/Italian in case you're interested! Only ate breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurants. Breakfast choice was English or continental so plenty of choice so no complaints.

Made ample use of the spa for massage and facial treatments and it's safe to say, this spa is a credit to the hotel. Great, warm, service in a totally relaxed environment. We had 7 treatments between us with no complaints from any of us.

As one of our treatments was less than an hour before check-out, we asked to keep the rooms for an extra hour. Sadly, the hotel said they couldn't accommodate us (understandable as it was Saturday morning and no doubt they were busy that night so needed to get the rooms ready for the next guests). Suffice to say, we were a little disorganised and ended up checking out at noon but reception was very accommodating and stored our luggage until we had to leave later that afternoon, giving us a chance to explore the local area a little more.

Hotel is conveniently located about 10 minutes from the town/seafront. There is a medical centre (I think) in front of the hotel and as you enter, you wind up a somewhat unattractive roadway to get to reception behind the ugly building so can put someone off based on initial impressions but once you're past there, there's nothing you can really complain about - it looks like a French chateau and views over the town are great.

Overall, impressed with the hotel and the service and would happily recommend here as a place to say if you're heading to the island.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetePHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff and facilities were top notch and in a great location. Walking distance to Center, the walk is a nice one with a historical church and other historical buildings. Within the hotel there is a nice spa and pool which was not usually busy and a few good restaurants in the hotel. Would stay there again in a heart beat

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several years ago whilst on business in Jersey. At that time the Standard Double was a modern freshly decorated room with aircon. We stayed as a family in July 2014, and on arrival as requested we were allocated a family room but we found that this room was very dated, had no aircon and they had not placed the extra child bed in the room for us. We asked to change rooms but they were fully booked. The staff were extremely helpful though and promptly addressed the missing bed and shortly afterwards a portable aircon unit was brought up, which after several hours of running managed to reduce the room temperature to a manageable level. The weather on the island was fabulous during our stay resulting in high temperatures everyday. The spa facilities are excellent. We only had lunch at the hotel which was very nice, especially the freshly prepared juices they offer. The concierge staff and reception staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Location is very good for a quiet stay but 10 mins walk to the centre of Saint Helier. In summary excellent staff and facilities in a good location make this a good choice of hotel, but when booking ensure that you don't take for granted aircon as standard in all rooms and be aware that not all rooms have been refurbished for a while. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just had a fantastic weeks stay at hotel du France. We booked via booking.com and have never had a problem using them before.

We booked our rooms and when we arrived at the hotel were horrified too see that the rooms allocated were no not even close to being like those shown on the booking website. To say that. They appeared to have last been updated in the 70's would be kind.
3 rd floor in side wing.

To the hotels credit I took my I pad to reception and said that the rooms we booked were nothing like those we had been given. The manager agreed and although the hotel was virtually full moved heaven and earth for us to move rooms, All credit to the hotel itself. During conversation it was intimated to me that they had actually requested booking . Com to amend the photographs they used to be more 'reflective' to no avail.

Anyhow how once we were moved to suitable rooms we had a great week. Staff were simply fantastic, spa pools and steam rooms a great way to relax in the afternoons. Both restaurant served truly wonderful food.

My only one critism of the hotel is the lack of comfortable lounge areas to sit in the evening whilst enjoying a drink. I think I'm right in saying that seating in the lounge/bar was for circa 30-35 people, which is way to,little for a hotel this size. On 3 evenings we had to sit in the reception/lobby which has no bar and is a bit cold atmospherically.

However this one negative should not put anyone off staying here, it's a great hotel, staffed by people who are keen to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the main part of the hotel and not the old rooms on floor 3 to the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Basing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Hotel de France is a wonderful mix of traditional and modern comforts. The magnificent old building with a fascinating history combined with the modern spa and terrace bar provide a great venue for a long weekend or longer break.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MikeOldBasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just spent three nights in one of the hotel's spa rooms to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. The room was very spacious and modern with a large bathroom and walk in shower. There was a vase of flowers on the side which was a nice touch.

There was also a balcony overlooking St Helier.

The swimming pool and spa were amazing and a door opened onto a sunbathing terrace and lawn where there were plenty of sun loungers.

We ate in both restaurants and the food was good, although we felt a Saffron was expensive for the portion sizes. Breakfast was quality if a bit on the cold side.

All the staff were helpful and friendly and gave their knowledge of the area to us.

We would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel but it is a fifteen minute walk to the town so not for guests with walking difficulties.









Inside the hotel was tastefully decorated.





There were two restaurants plus the breakfast room and we ate in both of them. The food in Saffron was lovely if a little expensive for the portion size.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and were happy to give their knowledge of the area to us.

Room Tip: If having spa room ask fo second floor for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,888 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,470 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing