We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I cannot honestly fault this hotel in any way. It was one of the most enjoyable breaks we have ever had. The facilities are top class, especially the spa area with a wonderful pool, sauna, steam room, plunge pool, hot tub etc. Same goes for the spa treatments and treatment rooms - best I have ever seen. Cafe Aroma has a good varied menu suitable for everyday eating whilst the Saffron restaurant offers a more upmarket dinning experience, both did not disappoint in the slightest. Lovely lounge bar area with big leather armchairs, beautiful terrace for eating / drinking, great wine list, all reasonably priced. Staff all very helpful and polite. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Lots of different room types and sizes, check with the hotel on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,469 - 1,475 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner, checked in early wasn't a problem, asked for a fan for our room wasn't a problem, amazing view from our room, room was very clean, pools were lovely, cafe at the hotel had a good choice for a one off lunch, there was a minibus that picked you up from the hotel and took you into town and would bring you back again at certain times throughout the day, the buffet breakfast was amazing such good choice and quality, overall a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was my first ever trip to Jersey, and the hotel certainly did not disappoint. It is a good 15-20 minute walk into the main town centre, but it is worth it. The rooms are immaculate with huge comfortable beds, everything you need and are quiet too so a good nights sleep.

The spa is one of the best I have come across great pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna. The staff at the hotel are really pleasant and helpful, look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very clean hotel. However, rooms looking a little bit dated. I have also an issue with thin walls. I spent 2 nights listening to my neighbour snoring. I travel a lot and have never had this issues with any other hotel. It was if the snorers were in my room.
Staff in the dining areas a little bit amateurish and I watched them clear away people's breakfast when the person had just gone up to get toast at the buffet. Bit more training would be useful. Otherwise food good and reasonably priced.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel de France is an impressive hotel situated close to central st helier.
The hotel has an impressive facade, sadly the interior of the hotel and rooms appears dated. The room was very large and had a small living room part and then a study??

The staff however are very friendly and welcoming and the food especially in the saffron a restaurant was outstanding.

The free spa facilities with sauna, steam room and pools were brilliant.
Would recommend but feel some of it needs updating.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomsproat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The staff at this hotel were wonderful, cheerful, helpful and welcoming. We had a 'king room' which was massive. The bed soooo comfortable. Our fourth floor room was at the rear of the hotel and so the views were not great, but not great worry for us.

The setting/grounds for the hotel are not great, this part of St Helier is not attractive and the buildings around the hotel are a disaster, but get past these and you'll have a great stay.

Breakfast in the Orangery was wonderful, an array of cooked, fruits, cereals...always fresh and attended to by the chef - constant supplies being brought out. Attentive staff.

In the evening we ate a number of times in the 'Cafe Aroma', with fantastic food. Mostly well served (although one night they seemed to be disorganised and slow (a Thursday, not sure if relevant) but it seemed to be a one-off).

The pool facilities are lovely, with massage pools, hot & cold plunge pools, 1st class steam room & sauna. Just a conflict between the calm ambiance intended and children playing....However as no children are allowed after 6pm we tended to visit afterwards (we were having a short beak without our children and so the last thing we wanted were other familys' kids crashing around.)

About a 15 minute walk to St Helier Centre, but if needed there was a hotel courtesy minibus running a few times a day. We had hired bikes for the week, which could be locked in a secure room in the car park - most useful.

Room Tip: Ask for the front (these might be the refurbished 'spa rooms')
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolly_gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I'm lying on the comfiest, biggest (seems larger than usual) kingsize bed in the biggest hotel room I can recall staying in uploading this review via the free wifi. The room is modern, bright and tastefully appointed and immaculately clean. The hotel itself appears in very good repair and is clean and tastefully decorated in keeping with its grand historical architecture and immaculate throughout. The staff are very competent, friendly and helpful in the bar, saffrons restaurant (see separate review), the breakfast room and reception. The breakfast is one of the best I have ever had, they have everything from continental cold cuts, smoked salmon and cheese to pastries, cereals, fresh fruit and juices with yoghurt and seeds etc to the full English (including delicious black pudding!) and a la carte items such as porridge and kippers. All the food is of good quality and the hotel must really be congratulated on providing an offering of this quality and choice! They also do some very competent cocktails. The only slight snag is it's slightly uphill from town but that's only a 5 minute walk and would not put me off returning. All I can say is how is this not awarded 5 stars!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_O_C479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St Helier
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 30 in St Helier
1,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 30 in St Helier
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £89 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 129 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing