We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic would return”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic would return”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel is excellent, the pool area is fantastic with a pool large enough to seem in, the steam room and sauna is an added bonus
The only thing is for people with mobility the entrance is quite steep
But I would return
I used to live in Jersey and this is the first home I had visited the hotel
Excellent staff

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melandaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    555
    161
    46
    19
See reviews for
274
907
105
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

very friendly staff and well trained in hospitality. Food cant fault. This is our second stay and will stay again. Would highly recommend. Would like to have been offered a DBB rate but not many hotel seem to offer this in Jersey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel.
The staff are so helpful and friendly. Food is excellent for breakfast, the cafe and the main restaurant.
The spa facilities is one of the best in jersey with a good variety in the pool area and a beautiful spa area above.
Room are clean, spacious and comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I cannot honestly fault this hotel in any way. It was one of the most enjoyable breaks we have ever had. The facilities are top class, especially the spa area with a wonderful pool, sauna, steam room, plunge pool, hot tub etc. Same goes for the spa treatments and treatment rooms - best I have ever seen. Cafe Aroma has a good varied menu suitable for everyday eating whilst the Saffron restaurant offers a more upmarket dinning experience, both did not disappoint in the slightest. Lovely lounge bar area with big leather armchairs, beautiful terrace for eating / drinking, great wine list, all reasonably priced. Staff all very helpful and polite. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Lots of different room types and sizes, check with the hotel on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner, checked in early wasn't a problem, asked for a fan for our room wasn't a problem, amazing view from our room, room was very clean, pools were lovely, cafe at the hotel had a good choice for a one off lunch, there was a minibus that picked you up from the hotel and took you into town and would bring you back again at certain times throughout the day, the buffet breakfast was amazing such good choice and quality, overall a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was my first ever trip to Jersey, and the hotel certainly did not disappoint. It is a good 15-20 minute walk into the main town centre, but it is worth it. The rooms are immaculate with huge comfortable beds, everything you need and are quiet too so a good nights sleep.

The spa is one of the best I have come across great pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna. The staff at the hotel are really pleasant and helpful, look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Very clean hotel. However, rooms looking a little bit dated. I have also an issue with thin walls. I spent 2 nights listening to my neighbour snoring. I travel a lot and have never had this issues with any other hotel. It was if the snorers were in my room.
Staff in the dining areas a little bit amateurish and I watched them clear away people's breakfast when the person had just gone up to get toast at the buffet. Bit more training would be useful. Otherwise food good and reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,888 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,470 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: St Saviours Road, St Helier JE1 7XP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Business Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France is a 126 bedroomed four star Hotel conveniently located just outside of St.Helier on Jersey. Dining options include the informal brasserie style Garden View Restaurant overlooking award winning gardens or the fine dining 'Saffrons' Restaurant, where local produce is combined with healthy Indian spices. The 17,000sq ft Ayush Wellness Spa at the Hotel offers swimming pools, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms and an extensive fitness centre. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. A friendly but professional welcome is assured at the Hotel de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing