We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Bude,Cornwall
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We went to Jersey for a 4 day break with 4 other friends. The Best Western Royal Hotel was selected from the internet as a suitable hotel. They were helpful from the initial contact, sorting out and booking flights from Exeter and Gatwick for us and our friends.
On arrival we were made very welcome. The rooms were large clean and comfortable. I had booked dinner in the restaurant, the menu offered plenty of variety, the staff were polite and attentive, the food was excellent with a fair selection of wines, so we booked for the next two evenings.
Throughout the hotel the staff were first class. Best Western could do no better than use this Hotel as a flagship for training their staff.
If I had to pick a fault it would be no air conditioning in Room 109. The weather was not exceptional, so this was not a problem for us. The summer would be likely to change that view.
This hotel is real value for money and only 5 minutes walk from the main centre of St Helier.
If I return to Jersey I will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    285
    69
    26
    9
See reviews for
109
437
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel in December and there were one or two niggles but after returning last week, can honestly say that we could not fault our visit.

The Royal isn't the most modern accomodation but that adds to it's charm and makes quite interesting passage through the corridors of the hotel when the rooms were being cleaned as to the miriad of colours in the rooms. It makes a change from 'hotel beige and brown' and adds to it's character.

It's only a ten minute or so walk into St Helier so a good base for the restaurants and sight seeing for the island capital. The free car park makes for a quick exit onto the ring road.

Our room, sorry suite, as we were upgraded as it was our tenth wedding anniversary, was spacious and spotless. The only reason there was a 3 for sleep quality is was that it was at the back of the hotel which meant the dustbin lorry visited at 6.30am. This cannot be blamed on the hotel and the only thing we could not give full marks for.

Breakfast is a buffet with fresh cooked variation on the scrambled eggs that you can help yourself to. Plentiful and yummy!

The thing that sets this hotel apart from many other we have stayed in, is the staff who, irrespective of the time of day, without exception, are helpful and cheerful and nothing is too much trouble. We had only mentioned in our booking that we had been married 10 years on Thursday, but this was confirmed on checking in. At breakfast, we were congratulated and in the evening, returned to a bottle of bubbly, courtesy of the management with their best wishes.

We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Jersey.

Thank you to Adrian Gordon, for personally handling the booking. We loved every minute and will return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doobles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments relating to our Best Western Royal Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us.

We would agree that we are a traditional hotel in the town centre with individually furnished bedrooms. There is a great depth to the history to our hotel and this is an interesting feature which is much commented upon by many of our valued guests.

The comment that you make that our staff are both helpful and cheerful has been very much appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Lovely, helpful staff, good location for walking into town and the food was just wonderful. A good example of how to eat healthily and still look forward to the next meal, either breakfast or dinner. The Best western Royal gets our full recommendation. (We went on an easyjet flight/hotel package, which again works well.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandJliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

For a three star rated hotel, this is certainly highly recommended.
We were in room 127 which had double and single beds, with a large bathroom. This over looked a roof annex, ideal for relaxing and sunbathing.
Just did two nights b/b but that was long enough to establish that we had chosen well.
Very courteous and helpful staff who went out of their way to be super efficient.at all times.
A very good selection at breakfast and everything cooked fresh.
If I could fault anything it would be the bar. The girl was not always there to serve and the wines were poor quality.
The hotel has a good location, only five minutes from the shops and ten minutes from the Marina.
Would we stay there again? most certainly.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel. We are very proud of our team of staff at the hotel and your comments are very much appreciated.

As a point of note, over the past weeks we have installed new digital flat screen televisions to all guest bedrooms to further update the accommodation at the hotel. The style of the hotel is deliberately traditional but this technological update is important along with free wifi throughout the property.

Our wine in the bar area is normally very popular and an extensive wine list is also available to guests to give a full range and choice of quality wines - should choice be of concern.

Thank you once again for your comments and we are pleased that you found the hotel to be excellent overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed for a 3 night mini break to celebrate my husbands birthday.
Although St Helier is not an ideal location, the hotel was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and in particular the restaurant staff who went to a lot of effort to ensure that everything was to a very high standard .Both the food and the service were excellent and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Overall I quite liked this hotel and would be happy to stay there again. Good points -quite a large and well furnished room (although rooms aren't a standard size), convenient car park (probably gets full in summer, but was fine for our visit in April), accepts Tesco clubcard so overall value is not bad, service is good, location is just 5 mins walk from town and restaurants, free wi-fi in the hotel, tea and coffee in the room. Bad points - saturday night was very noisy (there's a club nearby) but other nights it was quiet, breakfast was OK but not great (fairly limited buffet), room could've done with a touch of paint here and there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_eyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Check in staff very efficient and friendly as were the waiters and bar staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was very clean with a really comfortable bed. Had a great nights sleep and enjoyed a delicious breakfast which was very generous and plenty of choice.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annebrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites, rooms with balconies and 'four poster' bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing