We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place & Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
“Great Place & Great Value”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed with friends for three nights and opted to get two canopy rooms. These rooms were both stunning and had the biggest baths I have ever seen. They were shaped like a heart and could accommodate two people easily. We had rooms 221 & 223 which are at the back of the hotel and each room has a balcony which overlooks the terrace area. We really love this place as it is timeless and unique. We would honestly come back again and again. This is our second trip todate and we can honestly say you will not be dissappoined. The staff are fantastic and the meals superb. Be aware that the parking is very tight and can only hold a small amount of cars. This is on a first come first served basis. The entrance in from the main front road through an archway and you have to pass through a security roller shutter door. To exit you have to drive straight through to another roller shutter door which allows you to exit at the back of the hotel on an adjacent road. The hotel is close enough to the town that a brisk 10 minute walk and you are amongst all the shops and eating establishments. We love Jersey and this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone. The breakfasts are overwhelming and you can eat as much as you want. We really hope you enjoy your stay and cannot see any genuine reason why you will not.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Canopy Rooms and ask to stay at the back of the hotel away from the road noise at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
We are delighted that you found our accommodation was very much to your liking. Thank you for your comments and for your return trip to the Royal.

Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    294
    73
    26
    9
See reviews for
113
449
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

wonderful hotel --great location easy acess to st helier, if you are going in high season be aware the hotel only has 16 car parking spaces and will fill up really quick but if you want to use the bus system it is really easy and you can buy a weekly ticket and get to see the island.Fabulous food in the bar resturant with fantastic staff,all in all a very good hotel --- worthy of praise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LiverpoolBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in September. On arrival our room was not ready which gave us time to check out the bar. We were made very welcome by the bar staff, after 30 minutes the room was ready.
Took the lift to the 2nd floor and then walked up and down a number of stairs until we eventally found our room, this was the only real minus of the whole week altough our room was not that large as it also had a single as well as a double in the room but it was clean and tidy.

We were slightly concerned however following on from that the week just got better. The staff were fantastic,nothing was to much trouble,always made sure you were happy,the food in the bat plus restaurant was terrific and the price was reasonable.
The breakfast was brill, was never cold and you were looked after by attentive staff, we would recommend this hotel even with a longish walk to your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We've just come back from a week in Jersey, trying a new hotel after "issues" with our previous one. We wanted to be nearer the town, and you can walk into the town centre in a few minutes. We had bed and breakfast and found the beds to be comfortable (when we mentioned we'd been a bit hot the night before, a fan magically appeared in our room that evening!), the bathroom very clean and user-friendly and the breakfasts were very good, with plenty of choice. What really stood out for us was the attitude of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. As we'd gone in September, we saw that quite a few guests were elderly people, who can be a bit demanding, but we found the staff to be unfailingly polite with some quite difficult guests. The manager (or certainly, someone who seemed to have his finger on the pulse of everything which was going on), Alex, was an absolute joy. Quite happy to do things himself (carry cases, help in the dining room) which others of his position was have found beneath them. We had previously stayed in hotels with a view of the sea, which was missing here, but we found the facilities at the hotel really made up for the lack of a view. One thing? Please sort out the wifi - I found I mostly had to check emails, Facebook and Twitter in the Reception area in order to get a good signal.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about wifi, make sure that your room gets a good signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hrhtheduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.

WIFI: There have been a few comments on WiFi cover in recent reviews. We regularly check the WiFi coverage throughout the hotel and have, since your visit, installed a new state of the art WiFi management system throughout the hotel. This new system will remain as a free service to guests.

In addition, the Royal has a free to use internet computer facility within our reception area.

Thank you for your comments which are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Went for a 5 night break in September half board. I was located on the 3rd floor at first but the bed was not very comfortable there was no problem with changing my room. As its an old building there were quite a lot of narrow stairs but that did not present a problem. The service offered by all the saff was a very high standard nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and serviced promptly. The staff in the resturant were especially friendly and helpful. We were half board and the food was on a very high standard, there was not one meal I did not enjoy. Overall I was very impressed by the standard of the hotel.
The location was good only 10 minutes from the centre, though some rooms did face a fairly busy road.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I spent a few weekday nights at the Best Western Royal Hotel recently and it fitted the bill for a short stay perfectly - a combination of a great location, a good standard of quality and real value for money. It has a slightly quirky layout, with a labyrinth of corridors and short staircases but once you get used to that it is perfectly ok.

I was given a small but comfortable room (118) overlooking the traffic lights in the side street adjacent to the hotel (Stopford Road). Noise levels from the road were a minor irritation at times, mostly in the late afternoon/early evening when traffic had built up and cars sat at the lights revving their engines. I have previously stayed at this hotel in a room overlooking the inner terrace and the difference in noise levels is quite noticeable. It certainly isn't enough to put me off coming back.

I only ate in the restaurant at breakfast and the selection was perfect for my needs, although service could be a little slow at the start of the day.

Throughout my stay staff were attentive and helpful without being over the top.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid roadside noise avoid rooms on the first floor, nearest to the traffic junction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FolkestoneJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you feel that the Royal fitted the bill for a short stay perfectly with its combination of a great location, a good standard of quality and real value for money.

We were established as an hotel in the town centre of St Helier in the 1840's and as such we have a really rich history and feel that the Royal has true depth of character. This makes our traditional hotel an interesting place to say, close to a town centre which has remained vibrant and colourful, with a great offering of shops and attractions, right through to the present day.

Thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed 4 nights in September on a B&B basis. One or two niggles, like intermittent wi-fi and a shower that didn't deliver in one room ( though a room change was no problem), prevented the score being perfect.
The cleanliness, the food ( we ate in twice) and particularly the service offered by every member of the very friendly staff made for a very comfortable and enjoyable break.
The location was ideal for shopping and restaurants which were all within easy walking distance but meant some daytime traffic noise was to be expected, but overall we were impressed and would stay at the Royal again next time we visit Jersey.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTTGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you would stay with us again.

WIFI - During August and September we have been newly installing a high specification WIFI system throughout the hotel. This service has now gone live and represents a significant investment for the hotel but will continue to be a free service for our guests and for those using our facilities. We are sorry that you found that our WIFI service during your stay was not perfect but the demands being placed by guest on hotel WIFI systems have grown enormously in the past year and this has necessitated an upgrade at the hotel.

Thank you for your valued comments which help us to deliver improved services for our valued clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites and executive bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing