We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel is a busy wee one with lots of people in and out as its near the busy part of st.helier .Rooms I have stayed in past here have always been clean and tidy and the better class rooms are a must.Had my marriage reception here and did not regret anything about the service we got provided with me and my ex wife.On a whole a nice hotel

Room Tip: choose best rooms you can afford.That wee bit extra can help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerseyscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

We are grateful for your review and are delighted that you are happy with the Royal.

Our bedroom selection includes ‘Four Poster’ bedrooms along with full suites. These bedroom types may be requested at a supplement when booking.

Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated by our team at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We recently spent a short break at the Royal Hotel (Best Western) in St. Helier Jersey. All of the Staff were most polite and helpful all the time, this included reception and restaurant and Housekeeping. The food in the evening meal was Excellent, served in good time and servers excellent helpful and friendly. We would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Just request the room you require and it is provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swmyoungson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel picked because of the reviews on here and it is indeed a lovely place to stay. ALL the staff are wonderful and their attention to customer service is second to none, everyone so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and if you prefer something that is not in the serve yourself area then it is no trouble eg. poached egg rather than the pre-made scrambled eggs. We also ate here on two evenings of our stay and again the food was excellent and plenty of it - one of these occasions was part of the Jersey Tennerfest when hotels and restaurants offer 2 or 3 course menus at set prices.

The only downside to the stay was the location of our room at the front of the hotel and the subsequent traffic noise. I had read about this from previous reviewers and had requested a quiet room away from traffice and street noise when I booked our stay. We were allocated a room on the top floor which we then hoped would be far enough above the road so as not to be a problem, however the road is such a busy one that it did not make much difference and also on the Saturday night there was the added problem of a large group of very drunk revellers going past shouting and swearing at 3 in the morning, however we do appreciate that this is something the hotel has no control over.

As others have commented the car park is quite tight with only limited places but we had no problem parking there although I imagine in the height of the season it would be difficult if you don't return quite early in the day.

This was our first trip to Jersey and we were very impressed with the hotel and the island in general, the friendliness of the staff at the hotel seems to apply to everyone we met on our travels round the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear to avoid the traffic/street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for your kind review in respect of our hotel and our catering arrangements. These comments are much appreciated and we are delighted that you found our hotel to be very good overall.

Most of our bedrooms are well away from any major road, with many overlooking our large inward facing central terrace area. We will always seek to meet requests for non-road facing bedrooms and it is rare that such requests are not fully met.

We are located in a central town location in St. Helier, near the shopping areas, and as we are set well away from the night club district, night-time disturbance is more unusual here. We are sorry that you were awoken and thank you for your understanding that this is not the fault of the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and although this was our first visit to the Royal, we were made to feel at home immediately. All staff from the Manager to the room service could not have done enough for us and the food, both in the restaurant and bar, was excellent. We had a basic twin room, which was located at the back of the hotel, but it was very clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back. Rowan and Viv Williams

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are a little more quiet, especially if you want the windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rowan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is the first time I have felt the need to share my opnions about a hotel on Tripadvisor although I do read them before booking. The reason I felt that this time the hotel deserved to be praised was that they get the basics of hospitality absolutely spot on.

Yes, the vast majority of the staff we came into contact with were Eastern European and not local (which to me seems a bit of a shame) but when they perform their duties to the level that the staff at the Royal do I can fully understand why they are hired. Friendly, proffesional, attentive, knowledgable and seemingly happy in their work help make the hole atmosphere of the place lovely.

The food in both the bar and restaurant was lovely, hot and reasonably priced. The bedroom (302) was nicely decorated, a good size and looked well cared for. The bathroom had what looked like new appliances and the shower was powerful and hot.

This is a 3 star hotel that exceeds expectations. As I said at the start when you get the basics of hospitality so right it makes such a difference in this day an age. Well done to the Royal, we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 302 was lovely and modern and even at the front of the building it did have secondary glazing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed with friends for three nights and opted to get two canopy rooms. These rooms were both stunning and had the biggest baths I have ever seen. They were shaped like a heart and could accommodate two people easily. We had rooms 221 & 223 which are at the back of the hotel and each room has a balcony which overlooks the terrace area. We really love this place as it is timeless and unique. We would honestly come back again and again. This is our second trip todate and we can honestly say you will not be dissappoined. The staff are fantastic and the meals superb. Be aware that the parking is very tight and can only hold a small amount of cars. This is on a first come first served basis. The entrance in from the main front road through an archway and you have to pass through a security roller shutter door. To exit you have to drive straight through to another roller shutter door which allows you to exit at the back of the hotel on an adjacent road. The hotel is close enough to the town that a brisk 10 minute walk and you are amongst all the shops and eating establishments. We love Jersey and this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone. The breakfasts are overwhelming and you can eat as much as you want. We really hope you enjoy your stay and cannot see any genuine reason why you will not.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Canopy Rooms and ask to stay at the back of the hotel away from the road noise at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

We are delighted that you found our accommodation was very much to your liking. Thank you for your comments and for your return trip to the Royal.

Your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

wonderful hotel --great location easy acess to st helier, if you are going in high season be aware the hotel only has 16 car parking spaces and will fill up really quick but if you want to use the bus system it is really easy and you can buy a weekly ticket and get to see the island.Fabulous food in the bar resturant with fantastic staff,all in all a very good hotel --- worthy of praise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LiverpoolBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel was established in the 1840's and is graded 3 Silver stars by the AA. Ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier, the hotel is equally suited to the leisure or business traveller. This attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites and executive bedrooms. An AA Rosette restaurant and a more informal bar menu makes the Royal a popular town centre choice year round. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing