We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good 3 star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A really good 3 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

First let me say that I have never felt the need to write a review before but my wife and I recently spent a week at the Royal Hotel and were very impressed by the standard of care and service provided by all of the staff. I spend a great deal of my working life in and out of hotels and I can honestly say that I have never been better looked after than we were at this hotel. We had a four poster room (298) at the front of the hotel and on our first night (a Saturday) there was a tiddly bit of noise from people and traffic passing below but this was greatly reduced when we shut the windows! There was a slight problem with the mechanical plug in the bathroom washbasin but this was quickly and and efficiently repaired as soon as the engineer became available. The reception staff were quick to offer an alternative room but we decided to stay where we were as our room was both large and very comfortable. We ate twice in the restaurant and twice in the bar; the food in both was very well presented and very well cooked. We were always able to find a space in the (admittedly small) car park and it was made clear to us when we checked in that alternative parking was available to guests at a partner hotel just up the road should there be no spaces at the Royal. (I understand that there are plenty of hotels in St. Helier where there are no parking facilities at all.) All in all this is a very pleasant and comfortable hotel with extremely well trained and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the roof terrace may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    285
    69
    26
    9
See reviews for
108
436
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 8.30pm in the pouring rain to be told that the hotel car park was full. As an alternative we were given a space in the car park at the sister hotel The Monterey, nearly a mile away. So we had to negotiate St.Heliers one way system, get a permit from the Montereys reception and cart all our luggage back to the Royal, in the still pouring rain! Not a great start to our 3 night break.
On the plus side, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the bedrooms are generous (a bit dated, but very comfortable) and the bathroom was also a decent size, although I would have preferred a walk-in shower. The breakfast buffet was very good and we had an evening meal on one night and it was very nice and beautifully presented.
The staff were excellent, always cheerful and polite and willing to help.

The only negative was the parking issue. A car park of FIFTEEN spaces is totally insufficient for a hotel of this size. We could not get a space on any of our 3 nights. If we had been told about this in advance we would have booked elsewhere, we specifically booked this hotel as it was stated that parking was available. Maybe the management should introduce a reservation system.

One other minor niggle, the hotel states that WiFi is available throughout, but we could only get a signal in the bar and reception, not in our room.

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling without a car, but if you're taking a car to Jersey opt for a hotel outside the town centre where parking is more easily available.

Room Tip: We had room 103 which was fairly quiet, except we were next to the lift so did get a bit of noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibirdy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Your comments in respect of the hotel are appreciated. Thank you.

We are a little unusual for a St. Helier hotel in that we do have a free on-site car park and we are located in the St. Helier town centre.

Our free car park normally accommodates the parking needs for our guests (we seek to keep the car park for our resident guests only and it is fully secure overnight and is code protected). In respect of parking space availability, we are a city centre hotel and not all guests hire cars.

As stated, our sister Monterey Hotel is also available to you and is located just a few minute walk away (much less than the mile stated) and a public multi-storey car park (pay card operated), which is also very close by, is an alternative. Car parking availability issues are rare and we are sorry that you arrived in the rain and did not feel able to leave your bags with us; as we would have been very happy to have stored these for you.

If car parking remains a major concern to prospective guests then you may wish to consider choosing the Monterey Hotel which is under the same ownership and is operated to the same high syandards.

Our wifi is available throughout the hotel and is a high specification system with excellent feedback from guests. We are sorry that you experienced difficulty. The system is available free of charge and is password protected.

Thank you for your praise of our catering standards. This is appreciated by our team at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I just returned from a one week stay in St. Helier. I can highly recommend the Royal Hotel. It's not far from Liberation Station (a 10 to 15 minutes walk) and the shopping streets. The staff is remarkably kind and helpful!!! We had suite 399 which was very spacious and clean. The breakfast is excellent with full English breakfast buffet and a big choice of juices, cereals, fresh fruit etc. In the evening we often went to the cosy bar where we enjoyed delicious food. I would return to this hotel at any time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed four nights in the Royal to celebrate a milestone wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.They made us really welcome and put a greeting card and bottle of wine in our room when we arrived. Breakfasts were excellent with good choice and great quality. We ate dinner once in the Seasons Resaurant and once in the lounge bar. Both meals were well prepared and beautifully presented. The room was spacious and very clean.
We had a room at the front of the hotel which did mean we suffered some traffic noise. On Saturday night we also had a good deal of "people" noise into the small hours, so I recommend choosing a room at the back if you stay at the weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front, particularly at weekends, because of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and i have just returned from a brilliant stay at the Best Western Royal Hotel. I cannot fault this hotel at all the staff were extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble for them and they always had a smile on their faces. We stayed B & B as we didn't want to be tied to a return time for meals, so we had a couple of meals in the bar which were really tasty. We hope to be returning next year this is one hotel i would definatley recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lannion
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent two nights at The Royal to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversay and we enjoyed every minute. There was a complimentary bottle of sparkly in our room and we think we may have been upgraded because the bed was a four poster.

All of the staff were so courteous, friendly and professional - nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed eating in the lounge bar as it reminded us of a typical English pub and as we live in France, this was a real treat. The food was really excellent and extremely reasonable (£12 for two courses).

There was a lot of choice at breakfast and the service was excellent.

Location was superb, we were able to walk from the ferry (about 20 mins) but more importantly the shops were just 10 minutes away! Can't wait to return (hope I won't have to wait another 25 years!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefinchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Royal Hotel. This hotel is outstanding, the service from every member of staff is the best I have experienced. Whether it was the cleaners or the waiters or the reception staff, they were all superb. Hotel and rooms so clean and tidy. Food in Seasons restaurant and in Lounge bar was second to none. I would recommend this hotel and would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a double and 2 singles and all were excellent/
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites, rooms with balconies and 'four poster' bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing