We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas Celebrations at The Royal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas Celebrations at The Royal”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our first Christmas away so a little bit apprehensive at spending 5 days in a hotel but oh what a great time. All the staff were brilliant from start to finish, nothing was too much trouble and appeared happy in their work which is a most refreshing and somewhat hard to find nowadays, we have stayed in many hotels in past years but never experienced the whole package. The Hotel had an excellent Christmas ambience with trees & decorations in all communal areas which enhanced the true meaning of Christmas. Food & service in all restaurant areas were second to none, again no complaints in that department. The only negative comment I can make is about the room we stayed in, only to say it was a little tired & an update was probably needed and a little noisy throughout the night but overall very clean & comfortable so only a minor negative in comparison to a lovely stay. A ten minute walk into town was also a bonus especially for those not able to walk long distances. We would have no hesitation staying at The Royal in the future and highly recommend to others considering a holiday or short break in Jersey. Just like to say a big thank you to everyone at The Royal for making our Christmas stay a very happy & enjoyable one!

Lynn & Paul Orchard (Bristol, UK)

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back as when reviewing previous reviews rooms at front were noisy but act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    304
    76
    26
    9
See reviews for
119
464
36
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed over the Christmas period. Despite the very poor weather spoiling most things, the hotel staff were polite, attentive and very helpful. The Bar was very poorly lit and made it difficult to read a book or information leaflet.
Our room was fine but, the staff entrance below is was very noisy on occasions with people coming and going and the high winds did not help.
All in all a very happy time was had by all and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure that you know where the hotel is if you are driving. The one way streets make a journey ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on a 4 night christmas break, staff excellent very polite and friendly, food first class, rooms very comfortable, entertainment could have been a bit better but overall would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

What a stay at the Royal! After an arduous ferry crossing we were made so welcome by the reception staff, shown our room and offered breakfast at 8:00am.The festivities over xmas were so good, the customer service was second to none, the food was cruising standard and the bar was very welcoming. The hotel was very smartly decorated, tidy and laid on little niceties such as a welcome get together with drinks and afternoon coffee, tea and mince pies. The restaurant staff were so obliging in reorganizing a table for 4 then for 6. We enjoyed really nice company during our stay and even had a present from Santa. Our return ferry was cancelled until the following day, again due to adverse weather. We were offered the additional night half board at 50% by the hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, friends, family and all those who read this review. Would definitely stay again in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Royal and have nothing but praise for the staff, who are all polite,pleasant and helpful,nothing is too much trouble.The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean.The breakfasts are plentiful,offering continental and full English,everything cooked to your liking.We have stayed twice now and will always return, as it is conveniently located to town and as we have family in Jersey, it is perfectly located for us.Well done to the Royal,we would recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have visited the Royal once more at the beginning of November and, once again, have ben delighted by the warm and pleasant place.

The more we come, the more we appreciate everything there ; the people working here always have a pleasant word for their guests, they never speak as if you were "just" a customer, you do not stay at the hotel, you stay with them. And this is a difference.

In a word, we will call again, sooner or later, at the Royal, the place deserve it and the people working there also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olivier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I booked in for 4 nights and on entering our room and having unpacked I found that the wifi was not working in the room.
On mentioning this to the gentleman at reception we were immediately offered another room which actually turned out to be a suite!
The rooms are spotless, the power showers are terrific.
The beds are really comfortable and we had great a nites sleep each night.
The cleaning staff are polite, friendly and most helpful. On asking the room maid for some decaff coffee it was no problem and was quickly supplied.
The breakfasts are lovely with an array of fruit juices, cereals, croissants, full english options and fresh fruit.
If that is not enough then all you have to do is ask the waitress and they will happily order eggs any way you like, porridge or fish from the kitchen.
We would definately stay here again when in St Helier.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 if you need wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krn1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites and executive bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing