We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Whilst the rooms at the Best Western Royal Hotel in St Hellier may be a little dated, this is more than made up by the superb service, the fantastic quality of food and the friendly welcome from all staff. The hotel has a really good bar, which services very high quality three course meals at a decent price. You get served at your table, even when you just want a drink. Staff throughout the hotel are attentive and give you the type of service I have not received for a long time. Even the food at breakfast was of a very high quality and staff went out of their way to ensure you were enjoying your start to the day.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again should I be in Jersey on future business.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamM105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    290
    71
    26
    9
See reviews for
112
441
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I am so impressed with this hotel that I am writing this review while I am still here. My husband and I are staying in Jersey for a 5 day break to celebrate our Anniversary. We received a friendly and informative welcome. The room (standard double) is spacious and has all the facilities you need in a hotel room. The decor is a little outdated but not so much that it's offensive. In fact it makes a welcome change from other hotels where every room is decorated the same. It is one of the oldest hotels on the island and has a lot of character. The staff our outstanding, very helpful friendly and courteous at all times. Rooms are spotless and cleaned every day. The breakfast I cannot fault. There is cereal, continental as well as hot English food freshly cooked to order. The 'Seasons' restaurant serves fantastic reasonably priced food. A particular waiter 'Oliver' stands out as hard working friendly guy, who is an asset to the hotel team. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the shops and 15 to the marina. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hellsbellsbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed just for one night.

Not the most expensive hotel in St Helier, but for the price my room was clean comfortable and reasonable value for money.

Ate in the lounge bar for lunch and had a very acceptable BLT sandwich. Didn't eat at the hotel in the evening.

Staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was very good indeed.

Only slight issue was the hot water ran out whilst I was having a shower in the morning, a problem that they were very apologetic about and certainly seemed like a one off.

Overall a nice hotel for a one night stay for business and I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the Best Western Royal to be good value, clean and comfortable.

The hot water running out as you showered as you mention was thankfully quickly rectified and was fully investigated. Our hotel has two large oil fired heating boilers and certain areas have electrical heating to heat water too. One of our boilers was in need of a part which was quickly fitted so this was a ‘one off’ as you mention in a section of the hotel with most guests receiving an unlimited supply of hot water. We again apologise for any inconvenience caused to you personally.

It is wonderful that you would certainly stay with us again and that you enjoyed you stay, our catering and that you found our staff pleasant. Thank you for this valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had a one night stay at the hotel, the staff where very helpful and willing to help. The meal from the bar menu was pretty good and the Royal Burger was very good (I highly recommend). The breakfast I found very good and the full English options were a great size.

I stayed in a single room and found the room very small even for a single room the bathroom was a good size. I did have issues with the bed however I’m not massively tall 6 1 or 2 and I had a fair bit of leg hanging which in an effort to be able to stretch I started getting tangled in the sheets as they were lose on the bed. – but that prob just me!

But bar the small room and bed a lovely stay I would go back

Room Tip: 310 is a small small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have just got back from a weekend swimming in Jersey, we were a group of 22 and had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The rooms are lovely the food was fantastic even feeding a big group. The staff were friendly and always willing to help with changes to our meal times. Would stay again for sure. Many Thanks Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our first Christmas away so a little bit apprehensive at spending 5 days in a hotel but oh what a great time. All the staff were brilliant from start to finish, nothing was too much trouble and appeared happy in their work which is a most refreshing and somewhat hard to find nowadays, we have stayed in many hotels in past years but never experienced the whole package. The Hotel had an excellent Christmas ambience with trees & decorations in all communal areas which enhanced the true meaning of Christmas. Food & service in all restaurant areas were second to none, again no complaints in that department. The only negative comment I can make is about the room we stayed in, only to say it was a little tired & an update was probably needed and a little noisy throughout the night but overall very clean & comfortable so only a minor negative in comparison to a lovely stay. A ten minute walk into town was also a bonus especially for those not able to walk long distances. We would have no hesitation staying at The Royal in the future and highly recommend to others considering a holiday or short break in Jersey. Just like to say a big thank you to everyone at The Royal for making our Christmas stay a very happy & enjoyable one!

Lynn & Paul Orchard (Bristol, UK)

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back as when reviewing previous reviews rooms at front were noisy but act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed over the Christmas period. Despite the very poor weather spoiling most things, the hotel staff were polite, attentive and very helpful. The Bar was very poorly lit and made it difficult to read a book or information leaflet.
Our room was fine but, the staff entrance below is was very noisy on occasions with people coming and going and the high winds did not help.
All in all a very happy time was had by all and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure that you know where the hotel is if you are driving. The one way streets make a journey ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites and executive bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing