We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking place too stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Brieuc, France
2 reviews
“Cracking place too stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I am a Diamond member of the Best Western loyalty card scheme. I have to say that the Best Western Royal Hotel, Jersey is the best Best Western where I have been a guest.

The staff were very attentive and helpful. The food and restaurant are excellent and the roof terrace was a joy to spend time relaxing.

There are several members of staff that stand out as exceptionally helpful and who made my stay a very enjoyable experience.

I was a guest for three months and thoroughly enjoyed my residency.. Thank you Royal Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 109 & 127 were fantastic. French doors give direct access to the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    288
    71
    26
    9
See reviews for
112
441
31
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel much better than expected - very good room with one of the biggest bathrooms we can recall. Clean towels daily and bed linen every other day. All staff very helpful and friendly - particularly on Reception and the Dining Room. More waiting staff than we are used to and they really tried to make sure your meal was enjoyable. We found the menu very acceptable -plenty of choice and personal attention. (The menu was made even more varied on the last day of our visit to prepare for the 'holiday season'). At breakfast it was possible to have your eggs, kippers, porridge, toast cooked for you individually - to be supplemented by an excellent buffet. We were rather disappointed in St Helier itself'

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at The Royal for a 4 night break for our wedding anniversary and we can't praise the hotel staff more. They were very attentive, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. They made our stay very memorable. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious and we had access to the terrace which, in the warmer months would definitely be a bonus. The breakfast and evening meals in the restaurant were excellent. There were a variety of meals to suit all tastes and a good selection of wines too. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Everything about this hotel is good. The AA rosette restaurant serves delicious food, the location is perfect for the centre of St Helier, staff are very friendly, making this 5 night break one of the most enjoyable we've had. Plenty to see and do, the buses are a great way of getting around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed overnight for a break (we're Jersey residents and successfully bid for the stay in a Charity Auction!). Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had Room 103 which was large and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was good, although the service could perhaps be improved (staff did not appear to have "stations" so we were asked the same thing by several different people, but over-attentive is better than the opposite). Some friends we met in the bar (by accident) said that the bar food was very good. Breakfast was served in the room with no extra tray charge. Breakfast was delivered to the room on time and was exactly as ordered (can be a novelty!), hot and tasty.As it was a beautiful day, we stepped out of a second room door onto a lovely large terrace and ate our breakfast out there. Not a private terrace, but very large with comfortable seating and tables.

Room Tip: Room 103 has access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very comfortable and didn't find it needing updating as other reviews say. Staff very helpful and polite. Room was fine but heating was a bit variable. Very clean hotel. We ate in the bar three nights and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Would stay here again. Only five minutes walk to market and town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed our traditional town centre BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel. We were established as an hotel in the 1840’s and the hotel has seen very considerable investment in recent years and continues to change and evolve with the times.

The hotel’s style is a balance for us as we want to retain many of the popular traditional characteristics of the hotel, not least as it is an important and landmark listed building in St. Helier. We are pleased that you felt comfortable with the style and characteristics of this characterful hotel and we are grateful for your feedback.

The hotel has held an AA Rosette for its catering for many years and we pride ourselves on the use of fresh local produce. It is wonderful that you feel that our prices are also reasonable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here March 2014 for 2 nights. The hotel is within a 8 minute walk of the town centre. On arrival, check-in was seemless and reception staff helpful. We stayed on B&B basis.

Our room, 103 was clean and tidy. Decor was a little dated in style, though tidy. The room had a kettle, tea, coffee and chocolate together with biscuits. The room lacked a fridge. Bathroom was clean and tidy with shower over the bath. Towels were changed each day.

Breakfast was English and continental. Quality of the food was reasonable for the price. Sunday the service was poor. We returned to our table with food only to find the had sat another couple there and removed the bag we had left there. It appears a large proportion of the waiting staff had been recruited only the Thursday before, so may take time to get up to speed.

Dinner, on the night we ate in was reasonable quality, given the price. They also gave us £5 vouchers off the meal. There are better restaurants in the town though the price is higher. Service was good.

This review is given in good faith and represents a personal view. Other people may have different experiences and views.

Room Tip: Our room. 103 stepped out onto a terrace. Next to our room was a large conservatory type room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissiemc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites and executive bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing