We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with by Brother & Sister In-law with their 17 month old daughter who was very energetic and wanted to explore the dinning room , bar and every area of the hotel !! The Staff were excellent and very patient in dealing with this little explorer !!
The hotel is in an excellent location , 10 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct with a vast array of restaurants to cover all tastes. We eat in the hotel Bar on several nights and the food was excellent , the fixed price menu for either two or three courses is excellent value for money . We also had breakfast in the hotel, this was included a full English and was always hot and tasty. The rooms were very clean and a good size , although if staying in Summer I would recommend asking for a room that is not on the main road as this can be noisy if you leave the windows open, for us it was OK but may not be for everyone. Also the room we stayed in didn't have air conditioning so the need to leave windows open.
Overall a great hotel, good value for money , excellent location and great staff . Will definitely stay again when w return to Jersey .

Room Tip: Rooms not on main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    284
    69
    26
    9
See reviews for
108
435
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catford, London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel to continue my travels around the world to visit racecourses. The hotel was clean and tidy and the bar had a lovely atmosphere. The food in the Season restaurant was really good and a nice selection with a well served breakfast to cover everyone,s needs. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to the town centre of St Helier just a few minutes walk which also had the bus station there to travel anywhere around the island.

Room Tip: We had the four poster room with double bath as a birthday treat. Friends we were with had the stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetterHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights with my daughter on a bed and breakfast basis and had a very enjoyable stay. All of the staff worked hard to ensure guests were comfortable and the hotel was clean and running smoothly. Our room was on the back of the hotel, which we were pleased about, as we had to keep the window open due to the hot weather. Twin room had everything we needed (bathroom a bit old fashioned). Breakfast was very good as was the meal we had in the bar one evening (3 courses for £15 - excellent value!) The location is handy for a short walk into town and is just around the corner from a lovely park. Enjoyed using the leisure facilities at a sister hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the back of the hotel - quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for a week with Good friends and found the whole experience great. Booked half board and what a good choice that was as the evening restaurant food is of the very best order, where the menu is changed daily. The variety and home cooked taste made us eat in every night, where prior to arriving, we thought we would try the odd night out to experience other restaurants, but really there was no need. As for the waiting staff they are delightful and very friendly ( big up for Maura, Mariya, Johanna - a credit to the hotel),

Accommodation was comfortable, however if you take a room on the front road it is very noisy and this was the only drawback for us, however we did change rooms mid holiday due to an electrical fault in our room and the rear of the hotel is very quiet and much better.

All-in-all, a great holiday and would be happy to stay at the Royal Hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel as it's quieter from busy main raod traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is our 2nd year staying at the Royal and we weren't disappointed. We had a room with four poster bed and big bathroom. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the terrace. Lack of A/C didn't bother us as we always like to have the windows open. Hotel is very clean and tidy. We only had the breakfasts which were always hot and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is just a nice walking distance from the town centre.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KETCHIKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abergavenny
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just spent 10 days in the royal for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Of medium size it sits on a main thoroughfare about a 5 min walk to St Helier centre. Our basic room was very small ;as was the bathroom (lovely bath!!) but very clean .Also very warm with no A/C. The hotel could also do with a conservatory on inclement weather--the bar is too impersonal and large for the hotel staff.There is an outdoor terrace area but open to the elements with no parasols but plenty of loungers.
The hotels strengths are the quality of the food and the staff; Nearly all east europeans (Romanian) were a credit to the hotel; efficient and so friendly. The chef and staff created lovely food and with one exception, did not disappoint.
Would I go again---yes but a larger room free upgrade?????? would be forthcoming.

Room Tip: quiet rooms at the back Ask for larger size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just come back from a four day break at this hotel. We had a large bedroom which led out onto the terrace. A nice big bathroom with toiletries provided. Clean towels each day. Shower and a bath. An in room safe which was large enough to accommodate our i pad. Plenty of coat hangers. Tea and coffee making facilities. Spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. An excellent breakfast provided each day served by efficient friendly staff. A wide variety of choice including, cereal, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, croissants, full English, eggs cooked as you wished, kippers and much more.

The hotel is situated within easy walking distance to the town where there plenty of places to eat, we ate in the hotel on our last evening. It is also within walking distance of the bus station and the shops.

The receptionists are all very pleasant and helpful. In fact we consider ourselves to be well traveled but the team at this hotel are one of the best we have come across. A credit to the management.

Room Tip: Rooms that lead onto the terrace on the first floor would be best. Quieter at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites, rooms with balconies and 'four poster' bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing