We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and friendly service”
Review of Ommaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ommaroo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

2 of us dined at the Ommaroo mid week for dinner. Not many other diners on a cold winters evening but the newly renovated conservatory still managed to feel cosy and welcoming. Good quality ingredients, simply but imaginatively prepared - we both enjoyed all 3 courses, particularly the delicious soup of the day which was beef and sounded a little odd but tasted wonderful! Smiling service from an experienced waiter is always appreciated and £18 for 3 tasty courses is hard to find. The hotel manager also stopped by to ask if we had enjoyed our meal before we left and was keen to stress the major upgrade underway of the hotel's common areas. Maybe this will be a new lease of life for the Ommaroo - I hear they have just started afternoon teas in the conservatory too, I might just be back to check out the scones!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    146
    64
    28
    9
See reviews for
84
170
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Ommaroo Hotel with my over half. We were very pleased on our arrival. Our room had been wonderfully renovated, very clean, large TV, lots of wardrobe space and had a very comfy bed. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both of which were delicious and well presented and as we ate at the front of the hotel, the view of Harve des Pas beach was spectacular. The staff were also lovely and made every attempt to meet everyone's needs. Overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebeka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIRRAL,MERSEYSIDE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have regularly stayed at this hotel and have never been disappointed.From the moment you turn up at reception you are greeted by friendly staff and nothing is too much trouble.We always book a sea-facing room,{which normally has a balcony!},and love the charm of the place.
This hotel has had a chequered past so check out the history of the place-fascinating.
I would recommend this place to anyone,{remember to use the room-service facility for afternoon tea on the balcony}.The food,by the way,is 1st class.

Room Tip: Sea- facing rooms are sun traps,try to get one with a balcony-even better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEYB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

On the 31st of January the Redbridge netball squad went to stay at the Ommaroo hotel for 3 nights. When we first arrived all the staff were very kind and welcomed us in. They had put on some supper of sandwiches as it was quite late. This was very much appreciated. That night i had a very good sleep as the beds were very comfy. In the morning i got up and looked around the bathroom, we had a bath/shower, sink and toilet. Also in 1 of the draws on the dressing table was a hair dryer. We went down for breakfast were they had kindly put a buffet on for us girls while our coaches ordered from the menu. On 1 side there was cooked food on the other things like croissants and cereals e.t.c There was a good selection and the food was very tasty. The hotel is ideally located near the beach and i am sure it would be lovely in the summer.

Over all i really enjoyed my stay and would like to say thank you to all the lovely staff.

By Nina McCausland aged 11

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Our experience was disappointing. We had to be moved twice on arrival as there was something faulty in each of the rooms and we finally ended up in one of the older rooms which was comfortable enough but oldfashioned and in need of refurbishment. The staff who manned the main desk were friendly but nothing in the hotel seemed particularly professional and there was a weary and casual atmosphere. The waiters were a varied lot but one felt that they had received little in the way of training and some were abrupt and charmless. A smile would have helped. The food itself was surprisingly good and we were impressed with their chef but the dining room was draughty and cold at night. Even the waiters complained of being cold!
The real plus was being on the sea front and being in walking distance of the town.
Overall one had the impression of a hotel that had seen better days and was in need of some imaginative and dynamic management.

Room Tip: Hard to advise as the refurbished rooms were the ones with things that were faulty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We live in Brittany and decided we would like to visit Jersey for Christmas. We booked direct with the Ommaroo and they gave us a good deal on a 4 night package in a refurbished room overlooking the sea.

We arrived Sunday afternoon and were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff. Christmas Day arrived and we spent the morning watching the brave swimmers taking to the water in the sea water pool opposite. Christmas Day Lunch was brilliant, held in the main function room, 7 courses with excellent service.

We left on the Thursday and were sorry to leave, excellent service and food. Yes the public areas need a spruce up but if the hotel does not get the guests then they wont have the money. Although there were over a 100 people for the Christmas Lunch, there were only 11 people staying at the hotel, a problem that other hotels were also suffering from.

If you are going to Jersey and want a hotel near the shops in St Hellier, you cant go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey C.I.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The food, the service and the location were superb. We loved our coffee and cheese in the conservatory overlooking the beach at Havre Des Pas.
Congratulations Simon and your team.
We will definitely be back in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiesheila54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ommaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ommaroo Hotel

Property: Ommaroo Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UL
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#19 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ommaroo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ommaroo Hotel, which has been in the same family since 1920 is situated on the seafront at Havre des Pas and comprises a number of traditional Victorian villas. typical of the area. From the sunroom you can sit and enjoy the spectacular ever changing seascape of Demi des Pas a sprawling rocky reef made visible at low tide. The large sea swimming pool opposite is ideal for a cool dip on those hot sunny days or maybe you prefer to relax on the beach whilst enjoying a Jersey ice cream!The hotel comprises:82 ensuite bedrooms:Club rooms and Standard rooms (within these categories there are twins/doubles/ trebles/ family rooms and seaview & balcony rooms)The rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect a slightly more contemporary feel whilst remaining sympathetic to the Hotel's history.RestaurantBar and Function room.Attractive Gardens.Entertainment in Season.Conference and Private Dining Facilities.Large car park for guest use.Please note this hotel is not wheel chair friendly as access into the hotel from all entrances is via steps. For further information please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ommaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ommaroo Hotel St Helier
Ommaroo Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing