We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jersey visit”
Review of Ommaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ommaroo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary because it offered a balcony /sea view room and it appeared from the photos that it was right on the beach. Was slightly disappointed to discover a busy road between the hotel and the beach, so the pictures are slightly misleading though. We were pleasantly greeted and a very nice porter took our bags to our room. The room itself was bright, airy and spacious, with crisp white bed linen. There was ample space for our clothes, and a good refreshment tray. The bathroom was large and clean and quaintly you could use the loo or take a bath and look out over the sea! (they did provide a blind at the window though ! :-) )
I did have cause to mention a couple of problems with the bathroom, quite simple really, the chain on the plug to the basin needed re attaching so that you could get the plug out, and the shower head needed replacing or descaling as it was like standing under a giant tap. Unfortunately though I requested this every morning of our stay it was not rectified.
However hotel itself was very nice. The staff were helpful and friendly. Sometimes the restaurant was quite slow, but food was very good and we always enjoyed it. Balcony rooms are a little noisy at certain times of the day notably work times, but we had our balcony door open every night and after roughly 11.30pm it was quiet. Just one noisy night after people had celebrated the moonlight festival.
All told we had a very nice time at a very nice hotel, I understand that up grading is on-going. These things take time but I can see that what has been done has been done to a very good standard. I could not say if the room we had, had already been up-graded or not but it was clean and totally adequate for our purpose...that we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you like the sea view and can stand a little traffic noise then go for the balcony rooms. If not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz271717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very nice, spotlessly clean hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. We were facing the garden so it was quiet. Easy to walk into town. We hired bikes for the week and went all over the island on them, not using the car once (which sat in the hotel car park). The sea water pool opposite the hotel was a great bonus when the tide was out.
Only down points were for the mattress cover which made me too hot and the untidy backyard which we could see from our winodow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Have not used the hotel however as we live nearby we recently tried the restaurant for the Friday Special: fish and chips with mushy peas or 8oz rump steak with chips both priced at £6.95. The quality and quantity of food, especially at the price, was excellent and we'd go again. There was somewhat fragmented service and a long delay in receiving the bill.

The Ommaroo has an imposing facade and from what we saw is spacious and comfy inside, well located with sea views to Harve des Pas and a shortish walk into St Helier.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jerseybean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I recently stayed at Ommaroo, and had a nice stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the tall young man from the restaurant, Michael. I cannot say the same thing about management though! The big man who is at the front of the restaurant is unnecessarily there in my and other guests' opinions. The blonde middle aged lady who is in the back office is okay, but sometimes she talks a too much and too loud, trying to be pleasant, but she can come off as a bit much.
In the front desk, all of the young staff were great, and very helpful!
The food in the restaurant was quite good, but it could be better. The kitchen should also move a bit faster, as there was some wait on some of the nights.
Overall, my stay was okay, and I am looking forward to coming back in the future!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ommaroo, Owner at Ommaroo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are however disappointed to learn that you were not impressed with our management team. We only ever receive very good feedback and usually excellent on both the staff and management of the hotel. We are a family run hotel and pride ourselves on being a friendly hotel with a warm welcome.
We do prepare all of our food from scratch to ensure the highest quality and so when the restaurant is busy it is possible to have to wait a short time for food.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope we can meet all of your expectations.

Fiona Kerley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we have just returned from a weeks holiday with our grandson at the Ommaroo. We chose this hotel as it was close to the beach and added a balcony at extra cost. Reading some of the reviews just before we went I worried in case we had one of the rooms that had not been renovated, when we arrived the young man at reception was not the most welcoming but the polite young porter took our cases and us up to the room, it was was a big family room lovely big bathroom and shower ,large beds and white crisp bedding . The weather was beautiful unfortunately no air conditioning .The service in the restaurant for breakfast could be a lot better the chef was busy filling up hot food all the time but they were very slow bringing tea coffee toast and filling up juice water etc .We were surprised by the amount of people drinking on the beach front and in the morning around the promenade shelters it made you feel uncomfortable when having your morning walk.The extra charges for family room balcony and sea view soon mount up.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room that as been renovated. if you chose a balcony it will be noisy as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nansue1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ommaroo, Owner at Ommaroo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ommaroo Hotel. We pride ourselves on being a friendly hotel giving a warm welcome and good service to all guests and so I shall certainly be looking into what happened when you arrived and why you did not feel you had a good welcome.
We have considered the option of air conditioning but it is a very expensive operation for an old building and we do find that provision of a fan to guests upon request is usually sufficient. The heat is not usually a problem for long periods of time.
We have not noted a problem with people drinking on the beach front in the early morning and the area is well policed, certainly if we were aware of this we would contact them and have the situation dealt with. I am not sure that this was over the seaside festival when the area was very busy?!
We do hope that you will visit us again in the future

Fiona Kerley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My dad and I were staying at a hotel close by to this hotel. We saw an advert for steak/fish and chips on a Friday. Although we knew the price was cheap, the service was dreadful.
We waited 15 minutes to be asked if we wanted a drink and had to ask for a menu. We then got one menu between us to look at. There was a dead fly on the side plate on the table and it took another 10 minutes to be asked for our order. We had to remind the waiter for our wine (there was lots of staff but they didn't seem to be very well organised).
The wine came out and waitier started to pour it, noticed something in my glass and walked off with it. He then came back with an empty glass, so I lost a glass of wine without any apology!
When our food finally came out, it was full of bones and tasteless.
Would not recommended this place for food at all!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ommaroo, Owner at Ommaroo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry that you had a disappointing meal and feel that the service was not good.
Friday nights are very popular with inhouse guests, locals and visitors, we believe that despite the cheap price we are still able to offer a good service.
I myself have sampled both the fish & chip and the steak & chips and was very impressed. The fish is freshly battered and we have received to date only praise for the fantastic value of this offer.
We do hope that if you return to the island you will come and try it again!

Fiona Kerley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We chose this hotel again as we like the "previously" quite location, with a small beach and outdoor pool very close, and a short stroll to town. We discovered that the hotel has been partially renovated, and indeed found many rooms and public areas had improved significantly, with the others to be completed ( as I understand ) with on going renovations. We managed to get the last balcony sea view room this time, (well partial sea view, but we were advised on booking), which was fine. Great room ( 66 ), has been refurbished to a high standard, but the noise from traffic was horrific at peak times, and the building blocking the full sea view seemed to be amplifying the road noise. Nothing the hotel can do about this, but just a point to note. Our side of the hotel clean and fresh, as was the reception and dining room, but the one thing I recall from our previous visit, a rather stale musty smell, which was still evident in some of the areas between the reception and our room, which was disappointing. Travelling daily to and from the room I notice dirt/debris on the stairs, which was not cleared/removed during our stay, and as this was one of the areas with the musty smell, did not leave a good impression. Staff were great though, and breakfast good. This is a great old building that deserves a little more TLC to make it brilliant.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at front as traffic noise is dreadful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tspark156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,063 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ommaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ommaroo Hotel

Address: Le Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UL
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#19 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £59 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ommaroo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ommaroo Hotel, which has been in the same family since 1920 is situated on the seafront at Havre des Pas and comprises a number of traditional Victorian villas. typical of the area. From the sunroom you can sit and enjoy the spectacular ever changing seascape of Demi des Pas a sprawling rocky reef made visible at low tide. The large sea swimming pool opposite is ideal for a cool dip on those hot sunny days or maybe you prefer to relax on the beach whilst enjoying a Jersey ice cream!The hotel comprises:82 ensuite bedrooms:Club rooms and Standard rooms (within these categories there are twins/doubles/ trebles/ family rooms and seaview & balcony rooms)The rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect a slightly more contemporary feel whilst remaining sympathetic to the Hotel's history.RestaurantBar and Function room.Attractive Gardens.Entertainment in Season.Conference and Private Dining Facilities.Large car park for guest use.Please note this hotel is not wheel chair friendly as access into the hotel from all entrances is via steps. For further information please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ommaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ommaroo Hotel St Helier
Ommaroo Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing