We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A little stale, hardly welcoming and not exactly the best value for money"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ommaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ommaroo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"A little stale, hardly welcoming and not exactly the best value for money"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

just been to the omaroo as staying in jersey for a friends wedding. Unfortunately assigned a non-refurbished room which at over £100 a night left a lot to be desired. Old tatty furniture and a bathroom out of the 70's and a rather stale greasy smell the pervades the hotel.

it has the makings of something nice - lovely gardens, breakfast food tasted good and they appear to be building a pool. But from the instant coffee in a pot for breakfast - really!, the vacant reception desk, papers you order but have to actually collect from reception in the morning (breakfast in bed and room service), the search for the door to the gardens (why are they hiding them), bar that ran out of any 'snacks' by 5pm on a saturday night and the 'assigned breakfast seating' and pool building that starts drilling at 8am on sunday, lets itself down time and again...

The location is also not the best. Much better to stay in the lovely St Aubin or in town at a more homely B&B - for this price I expect service versus functional accomodating. Spend you money elsewhere

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room - if none available go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    144
    60
    28
    9
See reviews for
83
164
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I came over here for Portuguese Week for just the weekend (25-26 August). The back of the hotel looks quite shabby and old; however you can't judge a book by its cover. I agree with everyone else's reviews, the staff were lovely. Showed us to our rooms etc. The decor in the room is a little bit outdated. We have a room that overlooks the pool at the back and one of the overhead lights doesn't work and something above the bed doesn't either. They give you complimentary tea, coffee etc but the cups weren't very clean although that's a very minor complaint. There is very small TV although I didn't really watch much TV as I was out most of the time. My biggest complaint though would be how loud and noisy it is in the room. You can constantly hear banging of other rooms very clearly and you can hear walking and banging. It's really loud at times. All in all though, I probably would come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the Ommaroo for seven nights in August, but must say we parked our car round the back in their car park and thought we had made a big mistake. The rear of the hotel and entrance up a flight of stairs really looked old and a bit worn out.
The room we had was lovely, All nice and clean and looked over the beach, with a balcony.
The evening meal was not for us; the veg wasn't cooked and a bit hard. BUT the breakfast was all anyone could hope for. All the staff were helpful and couldn't do any more.
Would stay again if went back to Jersey.

Room Tip: We had room 94 on the front so would not recommend a room at the rear. The small lift we used for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosliston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just been to the Omaroo and have to say it was a fantastic meal. The waiters were very polite, obliging and could not do enough for us.

I have been coming to Jersey (visiting family) for many years and this was one of the best meals I have had on the Island.

Food, wine and service all first class. I have no hesitation in recommending the Omaroo restaurant and intend to return soon, hopefully for Christmas!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but went on recommendation from a local and also others on tripadvisor to have the Friday night special. They serve rump steak and chips or fish and chips for £6.95 and I have to confess it was very good indeed. The quality is good, the fact it is so cheap is quite remarkable. I have paid much more than this for poorer quality. The kids menu is also Ok, standard fare to be honest, and costs £7.50 and comes with ice cream for dessert. However, I they are better off having one of the specials as one of ours did, if they like steak or fish!

Service was good, efficient and friendly. They made a bit, well a massive, mistake on the bill, but that was soon put right. For a good, honest, dinner at a knock down price, then you should go here on a Friday night. I would advise that you book, thou we did turn up without a reservation and we did get a table, but it was 6pm and already getting busy. The steak and fish deal runs from 6pm to around 7:30 or so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorktraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary because it offered a balcony /sea view room and it appeared from the photos that it was right on the beach. Was slightly disappointed to discover a busy road between the hotel and the beach, so the pictures are slightly misleading though. We were pleasantly greeted and a very nice porter took our bags to our room. The room itself was bright, airy and spacious, with crisp white bed linen. There was ample space for our clothes, and a good refreshment tray. The bathroom was large and clean and quaintly you could use the loo or take a bath and look out over the sea! (they did provide a blind at the window though ! :-) )
I did have cause to mention a couple of problems with the bathroom, quite simple really, the chain on the plug to the basin needed re attaching so that you could get the plug out, and the shower head needed replacing or descaling as it was like standing under a giant tap. Unfortunately though I requested this every morning of our stay it was not rectified.
However hotel itself was very nice. The staff were helpful and friendly. Sometimes the restaurant was quite slow, but food was very good and we always enjoyed it. Balcony rooms are a little noisy at certain times of the day notably work times, but we had our balcony door open every night and after roughly 11.30pm it was quiet. Just one noisy night after people had celebrated the moonlight festival.
All told we had a very nice time at a very nice hotel, I understand that up grading is on-going. These things take time but I can see that what has been done has been done to a very good standard. I could not say if the room we had, had already been up-graded or not but it was clean and totally adequate for our purpose...that we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you like the sea view and can stand a little traffic noise then go for the balcony rooms. If not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maz271717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Andelys
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very nice, spotlessly clean hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. We were facing the garden so it was quiet. Easy to walk into town. We hired bikes for the week and went all over the island on them, not using the car once (which sat in the hotel car park). The sea water pool opposite the hotel was a great bonus when the tide was out.
Only down points were for the mattress cover which made me too hot and the untidy backyard which we could see from our winodow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ommaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ommaroo Hotel

Property: Ommaroo Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UL
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#19 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ommaroo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ommaroo Hotel, which has been in the same family since 1920 is situated on the seafront at Havre des Pas and comprises a number of traditional Victorian villas. typical of the area. From the sunroom you can sit and enjoy the spectacular ever changing seascape of Demi des Pas a sprawling rocky reef made visible at low tide. The large sea swimming pool opposite is ideal for a cool dip on those hot sunny days or maybe you prefer to relax on the beach whilst enjoying a Jersey ice cream!The hotel comprises:82 ensuite bedrooms:Club rooms and Standard rooms (within these categories there are twins/doubles/ trebles/ family rooms and seaview & balcony rooms)The rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect a slightly more contemporary feel whilst remaining sympathetic to the Hotel's history.RestaurantBar and Function room.Attractive Gardens.Entertainment in Season.Conference and Private Dining Facilities.Large car park for guest use.Please note this hotel is not wheel chair friendly as access into the hotel from all entrances is via steps. For further information please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Ommaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ommaroo Hotel St Helier
Ommaroo Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing