We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely staff...shame about the road noise.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ommaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ommaroo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“lovely staff...shame about the road noise.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a balcony sea view room. If you are sensitive to traffic noise, this may not be the place for you. It is on a main thoroughfare into St Helier, whilst the windows are double glazed, if you want to sit out and enjoy the view you need to contend with this. Or choose a room at the back of the hotel.

The staff were really helpful. Mehai in particular was exceptional, fetching me a bucket of ice to soothe an injured knee and helping with luggage, always with a smile.

Food was good , we dined there every night and had room service breakfasts a few mornings. Good quality ingredients and a decent wine list, starting from £14.

Rooms are ok, very clean, bed comfy and large, but shower was basically a tap on the wall and the bathroom the size of a large cupboard.

All in all a good experience, though would probably stay somewhere away from a main road, but still with a view the next time.

Room Tip: request a room at the back of the hotel if you want to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debandmikewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    144
    61
    28
    9
See reviews for
83
164
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

What an AWESOME place to stay!!!!!! Couldnt fault the service here from the staff as they were always happy to help and very polite. The rooms was very tastefully decorated and were spotless, we even had a massive plasma TV in there. Theres a short walk of about 10-15 mins into town but that makes up for the fab views when you walk outside as the hotel as your right on the beach front. The breakfast here is the biggest I have ever seen, theres everything from fruit, cereal, continental to a full English and you can go up as many times as you want.

We had a taxi from Jersey airport to the hotel and its about a 15-20 min ride and costs around £15.

This is my third time to Jersey in 8 months and shall be going back over soon to visit friends, this is the place I shall be staying from now on!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GafynO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and stayed from 21 August to 26 August. Had a brilliant time. Hotel was very clean and food was excellent. We paid extra to have a room with balcony and sea view and if you can afford this I would definitely recommend doing so as sitting outside on the balcony gazing out to sea with a glass of wine was absolute bliss. The view was totally uninterrupted. Yes in some ways the hotel is a bit dated, but it has been a hotel since 1916 and has an interesting history and in some ways this is part of its charm. All the staff we came into contact with were extremely helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to improve our stay. Another plus is that the hotel car park is a good size and we never had any problems getting a space when we returned from days out. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Jersey. Many thanks to all the staff for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 5nights injoyed our stay there. Room was clean decor needs updating but I think they have started work in some rooms . Food very good our ferry was delayed on return journey until midnight but hotel let us have use of our room will stay here if we visit jersey again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carly23DevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

just been to the omaroo as staying in jersey for a friends wedding. Unfortunately assigned a non-refurbished room which at over £100 a night left a lot to be desired. Old tatty furniture and a bathroom out of the 70's and a rather stale greasy smell the pervades the hotel.

it has the makings of something nice - lovely gardens, breakfast food tasted good and they appear to be building a pool. But from the instant coffee in a pot for breakfast - really!, the vacant reception desk, papers you order but have to actually collect from reception in the morning (breakfast in bed and room service), the search for the door to the gardens (why are they hiding them), bar that ran out of any 'snacks' by 5pm on a saturday night and the 'assigned breakfast seating' and pool building that starts drilling at 8am on sunday, lets itself down time and again...

The location is also not the best. Much better to stay in the lovely St Aubin or in town at a more homely B&B - for this price I expect service versus functional accomodating. Spend you money elsewhere

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room - if none available go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I came over here for Portuguese Week for just the weekend (25-26 August). The back of the hotel looks quite shabby and old; however you can't judge a book by its cover. I agree with everyone else's reviews, the staff were lovely. Showed us to our rooms etc. The decor in the room is a little bit outdated. We have a room that overlooks the pool at the back and one of the overhead lights doesn't work and something above the bed doesn't either. They give you complimentary tea, coffee etc but the cups weren't very clean although that's a very minor complaint. There is very small TV although I didn't really watch much TV as I was out most of the time. My biggest complaint though would be how loud and noisy it is in the room. You can constantly hear banging of other rooms very clearly and you can hear walking and banging. It's really loud at times. All in all though, I probably would come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the Ommaroo for seven nights in August, but must say we parked our car round the back in their car park and thought we had made a big mistake. The rear of the hotel and entrance up a flight of stairs really looked old and a bit worn out.
The room we had was lovely, All nice and clean and looked over the beach, with a balcony.
The evening meal was not for us; the veg wasn't cooked and a bit hard. BUT the breakfast was all anyone could hope for. All the staff were helpful and couldn't do any more.
Would stay again if went back to Jersey.

Room Tip: We had room 94 on the front so would not recommend a room at the rear. The small lift we used for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ommaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ommaroo Hotel

Property: Ommaroo Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UL
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#19 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ommaroo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ommaroo Hotel, which has been in the same family since 1920 is situated on the seafront at Havre des Pas and comprises a number of traditional Victorian villas. typical of the area. From the sunroom you can sit and enjoy the spectacular ever changing seascape of Demi des Pas a sprawling rocky reef made visible at low tide. The large sea swimming pool opposite is ideal for a cool dip on those hot sunny days or maybe you prefer to relax on the beach whilst enjoying a Jersey ice cream!The hotel comprises:82 ensuite bedrooms:Club rooms and Standard rooms (within these categories there are twins/doubles/ trebles/ family rooms and seaview & balcony rooms)The rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect a slightly more contemporary feel whilst remaining sympathetic to the Hotel's history.RestaurantBar and Function room.Attractive Gardens.Entertainment in Season.Conference and Private Dining Facilities.Large car park for guest use.Please note this hotel is not wheel chair friendly as access into the hotel from all entrances is via steps. For further information please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ommaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ommaroo Hotel St Helier
Ommaroo Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing