We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, over heated in desperate need of an upgrade”
Review of Ommaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ommaroo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, over heated in desperate need of an upgrade”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We booked the hotel by telephone as we wanted somewhere that was suitable for a small baby and were assured that the hotel would be fine. On arrival we had to carry our bags and all our baby related paraphenalia up the steps from the car park where we were checked in by a friendly and polite member of staff. A porter had to help us carry our stuff up the stairs and through about four doors to our poorly decorated bedroom, which was unbearably hot (27 degrees+), we complained and so were given a small electric fan. The beds were comfy but the room looks very dated and in need of a revamp. It took a towel and two hands to turn the hot tap on (it had been done up REALLY tight as it dripped!) and the bath was covered in green marks. The shower was all but useles, with water just dribbling out.
I like to give credit where it is due, and the breakfast was very good, with polite, friendly and attentive staff who took the time to sort out a high chair for our baby and spent some time talking to us.
Unfortunatley things got worse on our second night as the "entertainment" went on until 11pm and we were unable to pull our windows as the room was still like a sauna.
The hotel is in a great location with brilliant staff, however the lack of amenities and the standard of the rooms lets it down in a big way.

On a seperate note - the Atlantique restaurant in St Helier (by the cow statues) was brilliant and really good value!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    151
    66
    29
    10
See reviews for
89
174
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
traveling cat
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Really did like this hotel. It has a nice quality about it and is in such a nice setting. The room I had was quite good. I had not paid extra to get a balcony or an ocean view so the only marring factor was my room was close to the parking lot so people leaving the entertainment at night stood outside my room to chat. Not the hotels fault. Otherwise, I was quite happy with this choice and the staff were all great, except one guy who reminded me very much of Manuel of Fawlty Towers. good for a laugh.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpefeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Overall an excellent hotel where we could not find fault during our stay. Fantastic location across the road from the beach & lido. Large free car park. Friendly & helpful staff throughout the hotel. Excellent 4 course meal every evening, the food was lovely & the choice was fantastic. The buffet breakfast was also tasty. Our large family room was more than adequate for our needs.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ommaroo & would recommend it to other travellers. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0nnylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Yes this hotel is dated but doesn't everyone want to go back to their halceon days! Staff very helpful and friendly, very good choice of food more than enough in fact, particularly buffet fried breakfasts. The hotel is heavily carpeted, floors do creak (so would I being that old) and spotlessly clean, maids everywhere cleaning bannister rails, steps, doors, windows, table the list is endless. We had sea view and balcony (room 94) fantastic views across Havre de Pas bay and sea water swimming pool which disappears when high tide approaches, quite facinating and the kids love it. Option of numerous trips and the commentary is very good, the war tunnels must be seen and you cannot go to Jersey without visiting Durrell Zoo. We would definately come again (very young over 60's)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norfolklivewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Well...originally coming from Jersey and going back to visit family I knew when I booked the Ommaroo, at the last minute (it was all that was available during Battle of Flowers week), that it was a very dated hotel, however I felt optimistim as I knew the location was good and it has plenty of parking (which is very tricky to find close to the town centre).

Despite preparing myself for a run down hotel I was still very disappointed. The reception area and conservatory are of a satisfactory condition and have been recently done up however when you leave the reception area and venture upstairs to the room you realise just how long it has been since the hotel has been decorated. The carpet was threadbare; the running water was a joke; the bed was not a double; the windows were filthy; the brown blankets on the bed were grubby; the television reception was fuzzy and the cherry on the cake for me was that some (not all) the staff were rude, I think I particularly wound up one receptionist who was interrupted from watching a clip on UTube when I asked for my room key.

The hotel is desperatly in need or a revamp, not just the rooms, the bar and dining room aswell. I felt sorry for some of the staff as I lost count of the amount of guests I heard complaining about little things, such as bathrooms fans not working and taps being too hot etc. However despite my rant there are people who seem to go there year after year after year however I have noticed that all these people seem to be 60+, maybe I am part of the youth today who just expect too much.

I'm not really one to complain, especially as I kind of knew what I was going to get, however I would rather camp in my gran's garden next time I visit Jersey than stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallybeth_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed at the Ommaroo for 5 nights in June. We paid a bit extra for a sea view and balcony and were not disappointed.We stayed in room 59 which had recently been changed from a family room to a double, It is one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The hotel itself is a bit dated but is very clean and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast was a pleasure with everything you could hope for, we took the half board option and if I am honest it was good food without being special .If the weather is in your favour the garden is a great spot to relax after a day's sightseeing.We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to couples and groups, looked a little limited for children but then the beach is across the road and they don't spend much time indoors anyway. All in all a really great 5 days and we would return no problem.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggary42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Our rooms where newly decorated and very clean, the staff, friendly and helpful. word of advice. Dont do the evening meal.4courses. Starter was OK one night Salad with Mozerrella drizzled with olive oil was not mozerrella and no oil. same night Fish, mine was not cooked, my friend had hers cooked to a mush,complained to manager and we were offered 2 rounds of drinks. Final night ate at the Roseville bistro nearby.. Fabulous food, worth every penny.
As a B&B its fine and would recommend it but not for half board.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,901 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
583 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ommaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ommaroo Hotel

Property: Ommaroo Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UL
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#19 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ommaroo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ommaroo Hotel, which has been in the same family since 1920 is situated on the seafront at Havre des Pas and comprises a number of traditional Victorian villas. typical of the area. From the sunroom you can sit and enjoy the spectacular ever changing seascape of Demi des Pas a sprawling rocky reef made visible at low tide. The large sea swimming pool opposite is ideal for a cool dip on those hot sunny days or maybe you prefer to relax on the beach whilst enjoying a Jersey ice cream!The hotel comprises:82 ensuite bedrooms:Club rooms and Standard rooms (within these categories there are twins/doubles/ trebles/ family rooms and seaview & balcony rooms)The rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect a slightly more contemporary feel whilst remaining sympathetic to the Hotel's history.RestaurantBar and Function room.Attractive Gardens.Entertainment in Season.Conference and Private Dining Facilities.Large car park for guest use.Please note this hotel is not wheel chair friendly as access into the hotel from all entrances is via steps. For further information please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ommaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ommaroo Hotel St Helier
Ommaroo Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing