We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms but very poor restaurant service”
Review of The Inn Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn Boutique
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great rooms but very poor restaurant service”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here during the Easter period,On checking in we were given an upgrade to a suite which was great. The room had a seperate lounge area and the bedroom was very well designed and very much of a boutique hotel.
My companion was staying here for the first night as I was at a business conference, he rangt mer later ion the evening to tell me what great service the restaurant had given ,I looked forward to joining the next day.
At the dinner the next day we then felt we were being ignored, no bread was offered,my companions starter came with part missing, no apology offered and generally staff were more interested in other guests.
I highlighted my concerns on a comment form given with the bill, but throughout our three day stay we never received an apology.
The following day we decided to go and eat at a the Savoy Hotel instead to avoid the bad service here it was excellent.
The last breakfast the service got worst as the staff member ignore our request to have dirty crockery removed from the table and was very rude to us when requesting hot drinks as the once served were cold.
At check out we were not convinced the receptionist really cared about our complaints.

Room Tip: Have one of the suites as they are worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysteryvisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Mysteryvisitor 1

I am so sorry you were unhappy with the restaurant service during your stay.

It is such a shame you did not ask to speak to me as I was unaware of any problems you had . If you had of done I would have dealt with it immediately and of course offered my apologies.

The first I heard of any issues you had was when Jackie the receptionist you spoke to me told me, but you had already checked out.

Comments forms are reviewed on a regular basis, but are not there to replace a complaint that needs immediate attention.

We have had a very busy Easter, we had a problem a couple of mornings with our hot water supply to some rooms but despite this guest feedback has been excellent. I am however so sorry your experience was so different from theirs.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    252
    69
    16
    6
See reviews for
80
420
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Good first impressions.staff wonderful.food good but let down by being cold.heating switched off between 10 and 4....so no hot water either. This is a shame the staff were all lovely..great breakfast!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Louise11

I am so sorry you were "sadly disappointed" despite the positives in your review.

We have had issues with the hot water supply to some rooms over the last couple of days due to a fault caused by a leak. With the assistance of our plumber and boiler engineer this has now been rectified with a temporary fix over Easter and a permanent one is planned for tomorrow April 3.

The hotel water system is separate the heating system so is not affected by timing.

I of course apologise for this inconvenience but would like to assure you and readers of this review we normally have plenty of hot water!

Please let me explain our heating policy for the winter months:

To conserve oil for both financial and environmental reasons the central heating in bedrooms is off during periods when hotel guests are normally out. This is normal practise in our industry. However public areas are heated by hot/cold air conditioning and is constantly on.
We also put the heating on early if there is demand or we will offer an electric heater if a guest requires heating during the day.

At THE INN our customers well being is the most important thing to us and I am so sorry for this problem which was beyond our control, however I can assure you we did everything we could to rectify the issue as quickly as possible.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Not our usual Hotel when we go to Jersey, booked it as part of a deal via Easyjet, first impressions were good, check in was very smooth and our room was ready on arrival. Clean room and well equipped. A little bit of a trek from the town centre, but on the upside it does have parking which was a bonus. Never made it down to breakfast either day so cannot comment on the food etc, but as we walked out of the hotel in the morning it did look good. We would not hesitate to use it again and is certainly on our list of hotels we would use in Jersey now.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank govnher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hi Govnher

Thanks for your great review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is such a shame you didn't try our restaurant as this would have no doubt enhanced your stay at THE INN even further.

I do hope we can welcome you back next time you visit Jersey.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Inn is located about 15 mins walk from the centre of St Helier. It is very comfortable and all the staff provide great service. The food in the restaurant and bar is excellent and is reasonably priced. There are set menus and A La Carte to choose from.

When our return flight was delayed last Monday due to bad weather the staff extended our accommodation and helped us sort out alternative flights.

\\\we would be delighted to stay there again and would recommend the Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_Paul_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi Sue_Paul_Essex

Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time to tell others.

Also I appreciate your comments regarding the assistance my staff gave you last week. It was a very challenging time for everyone.

Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton - UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

As a base for a weekend in Jersey you couldn't ask more from The Inn. High quality rooms with great fixtures and fittings (bed to die for), the friendliest staff in any hotel I've stayed in in recent years, a great range of food options from tasty bar food to excellent quality restaurant food. Not too pricey and just oozes quality. Next time we come to Jersey The Inn is where we're heading.

Room Tip: The suites are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi MaggerZ

Thanks for your great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

All our staff read these reviews and I know they will be delighted by your comments.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Inn 1 - 3 March on a Living Social deal - and we loved it!

The deal we had delivered great value for money and comfort. We had a two course meal as part of the deal on our first night; friends joined us for dinner and it was clear that The Inn is not only popular with visitors but also with locals - the restaurant had a great buzz about it, and it was no trouble to make our booking for four people. I had oysters to start and a t-bone steak for my main - what a treat! On our second night we chose to dine at the hotel again as the food was so good, the living social deal we had also meant we had a bottle of wine with our meal - brilliant.

We stayed in a classic room, the bed was really comfortable with down pillows and quilts - we loved the fact that haribo and chocolate bars were left as (chargeable) room snacks. The en-suite was lovely with an excellent shower; when we had problems with the fixed shampoo holder they came and sorted it straight away. Body wash, shampoo, hand soap and body lotion supplied is by The White Company so it was good to have decent quality products to use.

The staff are very helpful and attentive - particularly Elena who we think was the head waitress, she always had a smile on her face, was super-efficient and remembered how we had our Irish coffees the previous night (mine decaff, my husband's "full-fat!"), so we'd like to say a thank you to her for being so lovely. There was a 40th birthday party on our second night and the staff managed to keep all the restaurant, bar and party customers happy - really impressive as it was super busy. My only criticism would be the musical "entertainment" on Saturday in the bar/over-flow dining area - it seemed to be typical "dated" hotel entertainment and we're not sure it matched the young vibe the hotel gives out? We didn't venture downstairs but there was a Wii room and 3D TV there - they seem to think of everything a guest may want and the bar was of course busy and well stocked.

All-in-all, my husband and I think The Inn 100% deserves it's gold award from Visit Britain and we wouldn't hesitate in staying there again. Lovely hotel, great staff, good value for money - what's not to like?!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo-Jojo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Hi Mojo-Jojo28

Thanks for your great review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have made a point of showing it to Elena and she is knocked out that you have mentioned her on Trip Advisor.

We are the only hotel in Jersey within our grading to hold the prestigious Gold Accreditation from Visit Britain which does keep us on our toes but when we read reviews such us yours makes it all worth while - Thank You

Our restaurant has also just been awarded Gold in the new Taste Jersey Scheme operated by Visit Britain which we are also very proud of.

Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed here for one night only but enjoyed my stay from start to finish. The first thing to impress were the staff. All were good, but one stood out.... a very helpful young lady on reception!! Could not do enough for me. Wonderful!
The room was a good size with everything you could need! Most importantly the basket with snacks! I'm sorry but I had to eat everything! A good amount of milk and suger to go with your morning tea also help people like me, who have a sweet tooth!
I have stayed in a few very nice hotels but none had bedding as luxurious as this!
Breakfast was excellent with a great choice and wonderful presentation!
How anyone could ever fault this modern well priced Boutique Hotel is beyond me, so give it a go!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachy022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
HI Beachy 022

Thank you for your wonderful review and taking the time to tell others.

I am so pleased you liked your room, bedding and the snacks :-).and I know my staff will be delighted by your review - Thanks.

Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St Helier
1,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Boutique

Property: The Inn Boutique
Address: 14 Queen's Road, St Helier JE2 3GR (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Helier
#9 Business Hotel in St Helier
#12 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE INN is an award winning friendly boutique Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, a 10 minute walk into St Helier centre. The hotel has 36 beautifully decorated comfortable rooms, including suites, all with excellent modern facilities. Classic Rooms have hospitality tray, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, snack basket and safe. Superior rooms and Suites also have ipod docking station, DVD player, bathrobes and complimentary mineral water. Facilities within the hotel include an open plan bar, free WiFi, outside smoking terrace and free car parking facilities. THE INN also has a contemporary air-conditioned restaurant, very popular with locals, with an extensive menu including Specials which take full advantage of local produce.Our friendly team will always be on hand with attentive service, and guests always comment on our superb staff. Our customers are always our number one priority and we strive to offer everyone something very special at THE INN. THE INN is very proud to have retained a GOLD award from Visit Britain for the seventh year running, which recognises outstanding levels of quality, comfort, customer care and food. THE INN Restaurant also holds a Taste Jersey award.THE INN aims to be different to any other Hotel on the Island in terms of the ambiance and diversity of what we are offering. Look forward to seeing you soon! Please note we are situated on the outskirts of St Helier which is a busy town and some rooms may suffer from a little road noise at peak times. Our main car park is situated opposite the hotel and when full we ask guests to block in other cars and leave their keys at reception to enable us to move cars around, which we are insured for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Boutique Hotel St. Helier
The Inn Boutique Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing