We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok.......”
Review of The Inn Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn Boutique
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was ok.......”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We went here by chance and had an evening meal in the restaurant which was nice and busy. We ordered our drinks and then the food and the staff were friendly but we felt rushed once we had finished our meal and noticed that the staff were milling around waiting and watching and only too eager to bring us the bill!! We paid and left a tip, but I think we won't bother visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Hi TeddyBlazer

We don't seem to be doing too well this week do we? After months of great reviews we get these disappointing ones!

I would like to assure readers that nothing has changed, we are still the same friendly bunch doing what we have always done and everyday and every night we see loads of smiling faces and overall get amazing feedback.

Anyway I am so sorry you felt rushed at the end of your meal, which really shouldn’t happen.

Our staff do try to be very attentive without being intrusive. Sometimes this can be a fine balance, especially towards the end of the evening when the restaurant is quieter and there are less people to look after. However I would like to find out exactly what went on, so could I please ask you to email me stephen@theinnjersey.com with further details. I can then discuss your comments with my restaurant manager and team, find out what happened and try to make sure it does not occur again and hopefully find a way to try to get you to give us another chance. We hate having unhappy customers!

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    253
    69
    16
    6
See reviews for
81
421
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel is OK maybe in fact good,we had a superior room (madams birthday) great bathroom, hot towel rad, shampoo , shower gel, huge bed, TV,(dvdplayer) tea/ coffee making ect.

Unfortunately the staff are rather over officious, they want to clear plates before your really ready, and the hot part of breakfast arrived while still eating the cereal, even after saying we were not ready they arrived a second time.

But the worst part is the walk into and particularly back out of town, it's a slog, quite steep, once you have done it a couple of times a day,(in in the morning back to change then down in the evening then back up) for a day or two enough is enough.

I guess the hotel can't help being where it is, but where it is isn't great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Hi Alfie 2001

I am pleased you feel THE INN “maybe in fact good” and were so complementary about your room, however it’s extremely upsetting that you felt you had to give us such an overall poor headline, rating and review.

I am so sorry you had an issue with us miscalculating when to cook and serve your breakfast. I will of course pass your comments onto Miguel our restaurant manager. I can assure you your experience is not the norm.

Regarding our location, we are approximately 10-15 walk mostly on the flat from the town centre and are located at the bottom of a hill, in fact the only hilly bit is for about 100 meters and that is not at all steep, so to say we are a slog is I feel somewhat of an exaggeration and not the consensus of other guests – please see recent review by JPM634.

THE INN is a family owned award winning establishment run by a dedicated team whose main raison d'être is looking after our guests and giving them a great time in a modern, stylish establishment and serving great food.

On the rare occasion we get reviews such as yours it makes us believe we have somehow failed to do our job as well as we could have. We are so sorry!

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

First impressions were fantastic. Short walk to St Helier town centre. Friendly staff. Stylish. Nice rooms.

Problems started at night though. The walls in our room were so thin we could hear the tv and conversations of the next room very clearly.

Such a shame as everything else about the hotel was great.

We'll give it one more chance though as there are many positives . Hopefully it was just the room we were in

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapplesgsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Hi Snapplesgsy

Thanks for your review and I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay at THE INN.
I am however most sorry that your felt your stay was slightly marred by noise emanating from the room next door.

I can assure you that all our rooms are insulated to reduce noise and I am so sorry on this occasion it was inefficient.

I have no record of any complaints regarding the issue raised and I would be most grateful (as your username is anonymous and I have no way of knowing who you are), if you would email me stephen@theinnjersey.com with your room number, which will enable me to check if we have an issue with this particular room which I am unaware of.

From the enquiries I have made with my reception team it seems you did not mention the problem to them which is a real shame. I am sure you are aware from the rest of your review our guests welfare is the most important thing to us and we would have done our best to find a solution.

I am pleased to read that you would like to stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully everything will be to you satisfaction.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stayed here 2 years ago and we went back this year. I was impressed at how the standards have changed but only for the better which I didn't think was possible being so high in the first place Wow. It's a 15 minute walk from the harbour and you get to experience the lovely scenery jersey has to offer on route to the hotel. Will be booking our next trip for this year August and we won't even look at other hotels. The food is great especially the breakfast and Miguel was fantastic by far the most efficient staff member I have ever seen he couldn't do enough for not only me and my fiancé but other guests too I don't know how he does it but he was everywhere. The whole hotel is superbly run and very well kept. A definate must if you are after a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Hi Sebburgess

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us and I am delighted that you think we are even better now.

We are continually investing on infrastructure and staff training and comments such as yours means it is paying off.

I will of course pass your comments on to our Miguel, who I know will be over the moon -Thanks so much.

I hope we can welcome you back soon for your 3rd visit.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

arrived Friday for wedding anniversary booked one of the suites on the top floor was huge and immaculately clean with really nice "white Company " products, luxurious robes and even hair straighteners for the wife who was delighted. was shown straight to room a card from the staff was waiting the champagne i ordered followed had dinner in the restaurant scallops and fillet steak with excellent wine service was great could not do enough for us felt very special especially Miguel whom managed to remember our name after 5 minutes. spent the rest of the evening in the very friendly bar met some really great people. went off on a drive round the island in our hire car provided by the hotel through our deal had several excellent recommendations of places to have lunch we settled for the Crabshack on the beach. Have to mention the breakfast at the hotel enough for any grown man all local produce so thank you Lynne Dunham the manager and all of her excellent staff who made our weekend very memorable - we will be going back after the summer.

Room Tip: the 2 suites on the top (3rd) floor are huge and have everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Hi Tony M

Thank you so much for you great review and for taking the time to tell others. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked your suite and our restaurant.

I know Lynne and her team will be delighted by your comments as they all read these reviews. This is the second mention Miguel has had this week and I'm not sure I want him to see this as he might be after a pay rise (-: Seriously though thanks for highlighting his service, he will also be thrilled.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife & I's favourite Jersey Hotel. Very convenient for the waterfront & the town. Rooms very clean, staff very friendly and the food is excellent. Bar can get crowded but generally a good atmosphere.All in ALL excellent value for money,

Room Tip: If you can try not to be in a room near the outdoor smoking area this can sometimes be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPM634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Hi JPM634

Thanks for your great review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it's great to know we are your "favourite Jersey Hotel" and I can assure you we will always do our best to continue to receive this accolade.

I appreciate you pointing out that we are conveniently located to the waterfront and town centre.

Hope we can welcome you back soon!

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Only stayed here for one night but we are booked in again in July - really convenient location about a 10min walk to waterfront or £4 in a taxi. A mix of locals and guests in the bar which was a refreshing change - breakfast was fab too. We stayed in a stunning rooom with steps down into the bathroom with a double power shower and sunken lights - for the price £70 for a double inc breakfast thought this place was perfect!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madonjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hi Madonjazz

Thanks for your great review. I loved the title! Yes we try to give a big welcome to everyone who walks through our doors - even our well behaved K9 friends!

I appreciate you mentioning our convenient location and I am so pleased you like the fact we are popular with both locals and visitors, which I do believe give us a very different feel to other establishments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in July.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,862 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,631 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 32 in St Helier
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Boutique

Property: The Inn Boutique
Address: 14 Queen's Road, St Helier JE2 3GR (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Helier
#9 Business Hotel in St Helier
#12 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE INN is an award winning friendly boutique Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, a 10 minute walk into St Helier centre. The hotel has 36 beautifully decorated comfortable rooms, including suites, all with excellent modern facilities. Classic Rooms have hospitality tray, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, snack basket and safe. Superior rooms and Suites also have ipod docking station, DVD player, bathrobes and complimentary mineral water. Facilities within the hotel include an open plan bar, free WiFi, outside smoking terrace and free car parking facilities. THE INN also has a contemporary air-conditioned restaurant, very popular with locals, with an extensive menu including Specials which take full advantage of local produce.Our friendly team will always be on hand with attentive service, and guests always comment on our superb staff. Our customers are always our number one priority and we strive to offer everyone something very special at THE INN. THE INN is very proud to have retained a GOLD award from Visit Britain for the seventh year running, which recognises outstanding levels of quality, comfort, customer care and food. THE INN Restaurant also holds a Taste Jersey award.THE INN aims to be different to any other Hotel on the Island in terms of the ambiance and diversity of what we are offering. Look forward to seeing you soon! Please note we are situated on the outskirts of St Helier which is a busy town and some rooms may suffer from a little road noise at peak times. Our main car park is situated opposite the hotel and when full we ask guests to block in other cars and leave their keys at reception to enable us to move cars around, which we are insured for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Boutique Hotel St. Helier
The Inn Boutique Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing