We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel”
Review of The Inn Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn Boutique
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Recently stayed here for 10 days. Original room was very warm and noisy ( from the proximity of the busy main road) not the hotel's fault, so we asked for a move. This was organised very efficiently and our new room was a little quieter but still very warm. Could maybe benefit from air conditioning. Room itself was very nice with plenty of storage space for clothes and suitcases etc. The bathroom was clean and had an excellent shower with complementary shower gel and shampoo. Hotel staff were very helpful, friendly and polite and the food in the restaurant and bar was excellent ( and popular so worth booking a table). It was a 10 minute easy walk to the shopping area and to the beach so no need to pay for taxis. Also a frequent bus service to other parts of the island. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Try to book a room as far from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugaroo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Rugaroo2013

Thanks for your great review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I also appreciate you highlighting our staff and restaurant. As you say at times our restaurant does get extremely busy due to its reputation locally, so well worth booking.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    249
    69
    15
    6
See reviews for
78
416
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Was my first trip to Jersey and staying in this hotel, a little bit away from the city centre of St. Helier but the distance from the hotel to the centre is about a 10-20 minute walk.

The rooms have a lovely decor. Breakfast & Dinner served on a daily basis. The room that we stayed in was right above the kitchen, so it did become warm at times

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsStocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Mrs Stocking

Thanks for your great review and I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Accommodation was modern, no bath but shower was great.
Nice place to return to from a busy day.
Clean environments with very polite and helpful staff.
Forget the taxis, it's a ten minute walk from the shops.
Cooked breakfast great.
Jersey black butter is a treat on croissants in the breakfast room.
Recommend this one for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear HaveyD

Thanks for your great review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - I loved the headline - Thanks

Thanks for mentioning the Jersey Black Butter at breakfast. This is a special delicacy that we are very proud to serve and it's worth mentioning we do try to use local produce whenever possible.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed from 5th of September to the 10th of September for 50th birthday escape, rooms were nice but small and would recommend upgrading to the superior room if going to this hotel. The room was very warm could do with air con.The food was great and definately recommend the lobster had it two nights running, all staff were nice and couldnt fault any of them.

Room Tip: Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Tommy-Scotland

Thanks for your great review and I appreciate your comments about the team.

They read all these reviews and will be delighted by there mention.

Appreciate you mentioning our restaurant and am so pleased you enjoyed the lobster.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This 3-star hotel certainly punched above it's weight. The breakfast staff were great, helpful and very pleasant. The bar had a nice atmosphere in the evening and the restaurant food was good. Even though we were late ordering they ensured that we had a good choice. Reception staff welcomed you by name. The location was excellent for walking into St. Helier.

However, although advertised as having a car park, 10 spaces for 36 rooms plus restaurant and bar users isn't enough (especially if you arrive on a Saturday). Double-parking, squeezing into extremely tight spaces, and staff having to move your car all made for a very fretful parking experience. People walking past your car with their luggage and chipping the paintwork was the final straw when it came to parking. If you value your vehicle then I'd have to say that this isn't the one to park in. We'd rather have paid and had it parked safely. And, after all, it would have been cheaper than the paint repair bill we are now faced with.

We were in a room on the front of the hotel which suffered from traffic noise with the window open (nothing the hotel can do about that) and the people above us were early risers which made for quite a bit of noise in the morning.

Overall would I stay here again - yes providing that I had no car or a very small hire car that I didn't care about.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel are noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dearv Anne B

Thank you so much for your great review.

I am so pleased that overaal you enjoyed your stay with us but of course we are very sorry someone knocked their case into your car.

Parking is always an issue in St Helier and although our car par is smaller than we would like, we do have one plus some additional spaces that our porters use to park guests cars.

There are many hotels in town that do not have this facility and all guest have to park in paid public carr parks, so we feel we are rather fortunate.

I am pleased you said you would stay with us again and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

There are plenty of good things to say about the Inn Boutiique, the rooms are clean, the showers are powerful, they do a good breakfast and Lynn the manager did her utmost to put our mind's at rest and stay another night after a Friday night debacle that Basil Fawlty would have cringed at.

Regrettably our Friday night stay was a catalogue of errors, that were either courtesy of bad timing on our part or ongoing complacency from the management and staff. This is something I cannot confirm or dismiss as I have never visited before.

We came on this trip to celebrate our engagement, so as a "surprise" I ordered a £35 bottle of bubbly for our room. The only surprise was that it wasn't there, an admin error had it booked for the day after.....It may only be a basic error but it was a bit off really.

Then we discovered with a mixture of disappointment and hilarity, that the room was geared up for only one person, with one dressing gown, one coffee mug, one glass etc etc...Though I was grateful for the one bag of Haribos's...They were a nice touch.

As we were late arriving it was understandable that food was no longer being served but we were offered Paninis. Well, that was until the machine broke, so we went for a round of sandwiches each that came in at an unimpressive price of around £18.00...Wow!

These little things niggle but remember this is three star not five, so you try to accept it and carry on attempting to be stoically British...But then it got silly. If you go to this place, please ensure you are not in room 115.

As we laid in bed, I initially thought that the Vodka and Tonic had put my Fiancee into an instant coma, snoring louder than I had known in our time together (Was the truth coming out now we were engaged!?!?). Then she started talking and I realised that it was in fact the chap next door...Seriously, it was like he had slipped into bed with us, it was farcical.

Then the people upstairs arrived back to their room and it was as if though they were holding the annual Jersey pogo stick championship, I was expecting them to come crashing through the ceiling at any moment. Sadly, we really didn't sleep at all resulting in us both waking up in a foul mood.

When we complained to Lyn, she was really good a genuinely sorry, offering to move us to another room and sending us a bottle of champagne in with our breakfast; she really did try to look after us...You can't knock that.

However, we couldn't risk another sleepless night, so we moved to the Grand Jersey (at an additional £100) receiving treatment you would expect at a 5 star hotel, a plush room and a great sleep...Though with the extra cost we would have been furious with anything less.

The Inn Boutique is clean, the staff are helpful (if not a little abrupt/dismissive) and the facilities are well maintained...As mentioned before the breakfast and the waiter staff were really good fun and helpful.

However, when all said and done, the night we chose to stay was ridiculed with basic errors that really upset the both of us...Most people won't suffer the misfortune we had on a Friday, that for the hotel staff at The Inn, must have been one to forget. However, they have to soundproof room 115 to make it worth sleeping in.

Ultimately, unless you are the last people to bed and you are sufficiently drunk, I promise you that you will find it impossible to sleep in 115, let alone have a little "romance", especially when you have someone else snoring in your ear!!

Every trip has it's memorable moment and ours came courtesy of the night porter. Deprived of sleep we opted for a cigarette, though we didn't have a lighter. He (bless him) searched the hotel high and low without success before disappearing for several minutes.

He came back with a rolled up newspaper on fire as our lighter! It was something we found so endearing, he was not going to give up on us even if he risked burning the place down. He looked a bit like Manuel actually, so much so, we were awaiting for Basil Fawlty to follow behind kicking him up the bottom whilst screaming "Fire...Fire"

If anyone from the Inn is reading this, please do not admonish him, congratulate him for his ingenuity that at least provided us belly laughs in our moments of despair...Spend a few quid a get some lighters or a box of matches behind the bar!!

Room Tip: Just be wary about the noise, the walls in our room were paper thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Bob L

WE ARE SO SORRY!

Lynne told me first thing yesterday about the unfortunate errors that affected your recent stay with us.

I said to her at the time that there was a likelihood that you might put a review on and although we were half expecting it, to read it is most unpleasant and upsetting.

I think you can tell by the way we dealt with your complaint and from previous reviews and the positive things you have mentioned, your fear that there was anything else other than a number of unfortunate errors is totally unfounded.

I am not dismissing the errors as unimportant as this is not the case and we have spoken to those involved.

To put things into perspective we look after 1000’s of guests each year without incident, but regrettably as in all walks of life, now and again things do go wrong and when they do what is important is how we deal with those involved.

After reading your review and talking to Lynne, I believe that we did our best to sort things out for you, but there was little more we could do as you had already made your decision.

We are of course looking into your comments about the room and checking the efficiency of the soundproofing etc.

Having said everything I have the main issue here is we let you down for which we can only unreservedly apologise for.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a week first week of August. Upgraded from a Classic to a Superior room. Nice surprise on arrival. Room on 2nd floor at back away from main road. Yes the rooms do suffer from outside noise, from the road and smoking area and our room was small. Weather was hot and we could not sleep without the window open. Breakfast was excellent and we ate in the Hotel a couple of nights and the food was top quality. A nice stroll into Town with plenty of pubs and bars. I would recommend this Hotel with friendly and polite staff. Nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms suffer from external noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredplumber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Retiredplumber10

Thank you so much for your great review. I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to tell others.

Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Boutique

Property: The Inn Boutique
Address: 14 Queen's Road, St Helier JE2 3GR (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Helier
#9 Business Hotel in St Helier
#12 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE INN is an award winning friendly boutique Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, a 10 minute walk into St Helier centre. The hotel has 36 beautifully decorated comfortable rooms, including suites, all with excellent modern facilities. Classic Rooms have hospitality tray, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, snack basket and safe. Superior rooms and Suites also have ipod docking station, DVD player, bathrobes and complimentary mineral water. Facilities within the hotel include an open plan bar, free WiFi, outside smoking terrace and free car parking facilities. THE INN also has a contemporary air-conditioned restaurant, very popular with locals, with an extensive menu including Specials which take full advantage of local produce.Our friendly team will always be on hand with attentive service, and guests always comment on our superb staff. Our customers are always our number one priority and we strive to offer everyone something very special at THE INN. THE INN is very proud to have retained a GOLD award from Visit Britain for the seventh year running, which recognises outstanding levels of quality, comfort, customer care and food. THE INN Restaurant also holds a Taste Jersey award.THE INN aims to be different to any other Hotel on the Island in terms of the ambiance and diversity of what we are offering. Look forward to seeing you soon! Please note we are situated on the outskirts of St Helier which is a busy town and some rooms may suffer from a little road noise at peak times. Our main car park is situated opposite the hotel and when full we ask guests to block in other cars and leave their keys at reception to enable us to move cars around, which we are insured for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotelopia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Boutique Hotel St. Helier
The Inn Boutique Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing