We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defeated by the gut buster!”
Review of Harlem Cafe Bar Restaurant - CLOSED

Harlem Cafe Bar Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Hornchurch, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Defeated by the gut buster!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Went here midweek whilst on holiday with our twin boys (9) & had a great time. The kids meals were good size with quality ice cream for desert. Apparently this place has recently changed hands & new owner very hands on & overseeing everything. He was excellent with the boys setting them challenges. My wife had monkfish, which she really enjoyed & I had a good spicy burger. We attempted (but failed) the gut buster desert which included cheesecake, brownies, sticky toffee pud, ice cream & cream delivered to the table with sparklers. Good value & good fun for a family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    11
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

So we thought Harlem was an up market american burger joint, but couldnt help but think they are trying to be something they're not with the menu, by serving italian pasta and pizza?I was going to have a veggie burger, until I was informed that it 'looks like meat, tastes like meat' - certainly the opposite of what a decent veggie burger should be. We waited ages to be served after our meal for drinks and desserts that we had to ask in the end. Its not cheap here either. Its a shame because afterwards we had a nice chat with one of the waiters who seemed really on the ball. Maybe they were just short staffed at the time. We wont come here again, only because we can go elsewhere for better and for the same price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerseyswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Its like a up market mc Donalds”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Food was ok but was more quantity then quality I would come here again but its more of a Saturday lunch place before going to watch footy in a pub ! The menu did have a good choice but the wine was lacking in class and the variety was not as good as many other restaurants ! I would say they do have a niche as the staff do make a effort to bring over an American feel bit like tgi ! Get in get out Saturday lunch with a pint

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackandreimatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had really good night. Theme was 70s disco and it was great. Food was very good although did take a while to get to the table. I thought staff were excellent. Really looked great in their 70s outfit, very friendly and always had time to have a bit of fun with the younger members of our party. Would definitely go again. Really fun night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, null, Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a party !!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Excellent restaurant for parties and a brilliant start to a night out with their lovely cocktails and food... Recommended all the way!! as for the staff they are amaizing!! organizing, making the menu a perfection for everyone to be happy !!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harlem Cafe Bar Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing