We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No parking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansell Collection

The Mansell Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.71*
and up
Nigel Mansell Museum Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No parking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

On a recent visit to the island of Jersey, this museum was on our list of "things to do". However, sat nav didn't register the building, it's not well sign posted from the main road and whoever has heard of a motor museum with no parking on site? Needless to say we gave up and went to the steam museum instead and had a marvellous time reminiscing over an old Longbridge built Mini.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank CatherineBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    102
    14
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!!! Well worth the visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Absolutely amazing couple of hours. Nigel himself gave the commentary and it was if he was walking around with you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andy1972uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A worthwhile visit hosted by the great man himself and his son, Leo ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great attraction, made even better by being greeted by the great man himself, along with his son Leo. The exhibition was interesting with a very helpful audio commentary. He even posed for a photo afterwards. A lovely chap.

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant Mansell magic, but wanted a bit more...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Speaking as a huge fan of Nigel and his thrilling exploits, I was eager to see this recently completed display. I must say up front though that the entry fee is too high at £10 per adult as £5 to £7.50 would have been more reasonable for a single room display, and this almost put my wife off it completely. There is do issue about the quality of the exhibits though and I was most impressed by the lighting and standard of presentation of the many hundreds of items.
The reworking of the building is something that Nigel can take great credit for as it is most impressive. The one criticism of the display was the lack of photos of Nigel being presented with his many trophies (or better still, a video or two dotted around to remind us of his stellar driving performances) as I thought that a younger visitor might find it a bit dull, (with just row after row of trophy cabinets) which wouldn't be the case if they were able to watch the British hero's exciting driving performances on a rolling video presentation of his career! It needs to be brought to life.
A massive TV screen in the centre of the room was showing the last 2014 F1 race which only served to remind me of how dull it has become now! Come on Nigel, - show us more of YOUR F1 days, which were much more exciting to watch! Still well worth a visit though and a fitting tribute to a legend of F1. Not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must see collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

An excellent collection. Of course, Nigel Mansells career is somewhat extraordinary, given his success in both F1 & Indycar racing but even then the collection is superb. As a self confessed fan who remembers well "Red Five" and "Il Leone" this was a must do trip on our vist to Jersey but to my surprise, my wife really enjoyed it too. The other side of the man in terms of his activity with the police service and fire service and other non Motorsport aspects are also brought out.

Good value for money and capped by meeting the man himself who was friendly and charming.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mansell Collection also viewed

 

Been to The Mansell Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing