We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We said we would be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“We said we would be back...”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We never stay in the same hotel twice. We consider the hotel as part of the adventure of visiting a place, especially if we are revisiting a city or country. I do stay in the same hotels for business but this was purely for pleasure.

We stayed at the Grand in Summer 2010. Although generally wowed by the location, facilities, staff, etc. all the ingredients did not mix well together. It seemed everything was there but not in the right order. I wrote a review thereafter and pointed out how I thought it could create the right mix.

We returned for the May Bank Holiday weekend. We were greeted like long lost family when we arrived! Everyone we had met before welcoming us - in all my years I had never experienced such warmth. Blushing, we were quite chuffed - made us feel valued, like VIPs!

We had booked a suite as they offered us an excellent rate (I just couldn't refuse!!!) and it was perfect - overlooking Elizabeth Castle which remains one of my favourite views in Jersey. It really is worthwhile having a chat with the Reservations Manager to see what offers there are - the speed of his succinct replies is exceptional.

Had the last review had any effect on the hotel? Absolutely. It seemed all but one area had noted our suggestions. There was still vast room for improvement in the Bar - service was sluggish, table mats got wet - it let the rest of the hotel down. We had to even go looking to get service. This is such a pity as it is a lovely space with an exceptional view of the sea. But the rest of the hotel was brilliant. It was not only the sharpening up of the service and standards, the aim to reach the hotel's full potential, it was the sense of confidence and pride which was such a new feature and atmosphere. And well they may be proud. This is an excellent hotel and we will be back again (and I reckon again too!)

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMcShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear guest

Firstly let me say how appreciative we are that you decided to return to Grand Jersey, it is always a pleasure to welcome back familiar faces!

Myself and the team are also delighted to hear that you had a much better experience of Grand Jersey this time around. Your comments are a testament to the hard work and dedication of our staff, of whom we are very proud.

I will of course pass on your comments regarding the Champagne Lounge to our Bar Manager and we will aim to address these issues immediately.

Thank you again for taking the time to revisit Grand Jersey and for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Eamonn Elliott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    480
    196
    62
    32
See reviews for
214
903
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I wouldn't disagree with much written about The Grand. Our room overlooked the park and had quite a fine view of the bay which was good. The room itself was better than average and of a "better than Holiday Inn" standard, but not 5*. The place seems to be staffed by East Europeans - nothing wrong with that - but there seemed to be a real lack of supervision/ management. Breakfast was hit and miss in terms of quality of food and service. The in-hotel restaurant, Victoria's, was fine even if the wine was expensive for what it was (cheapest bottle £26). We spent one evening in Tissili's, their fine dining experience. The food was really good but the maitre d' (English) was rather supercillious and rather than putting diners at ease had quite the opposite effect! Shame really as the food was good.
We stayed a week and negotiated a modest discount on their "special deal". The pool is in the basement and a bit dark and dingy. It wasn't helped when the staff slipped out via a side door for a smoke resulting in the cigarette fumes entering the pool area.
The deal we were on included a "free car hire" with Hertz. The confirmation letter states clearly you do have to pay for "extras". Beware! The "free" offer excludes CDW, super CDW (which we declined having our own insurance cover) , half tank of petrol, insurance for the tyres!!!! In 4 days I would suggest it's impossible to use half a tank on an island so small. It's a Hertz rip off and leaves you with a bad taste.
So would I go again? No, I think there are probably better deals to be had elsewhere. The place appears to lack firm management - maybe the attention given to defending the hotel on TA by the management (presumebly?) would be better spent on attention to detail within the hotel.
2 small points - the hotel adds £1 to your bill to support a local wildlife centre! If they want to give £1 to charity that's fine, but when I'm paying £200 a day they can donate to whoever they want from their own profits. It's optional so we struck it off the bill. Finally there are some really good restaurants in Kensington Place adjacent to the hotel - Little Italy has a good atmosphere and good Italian food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldo_Bonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaCrowther, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Jersey. We feel it is important to read and respond to all feedback as it helps us to see where we are getting it right and where we can improve.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and have passed your comments on to the rest of the team. We intend to address the constructive points you have raised regarding Victorias and the Spa within each of the departments, and would like to thank you for sharing your opinions with us.

I hope you will return to Grand Jersey for an altogether improved experience in the future and a true reflection of our five star service.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,470 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
729 reviews
3.5 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing