We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Excellent location, like 3 mins away from the beach and a walking distance to the Elizabeth's castle. Spa facilities were awesome. It was actually my birthday getaway weekend so i was given a complimentary welcome pack on arrival and two birthday cards. :-). Staff were friendly and always eager to help. The only turn off was house keeping which was very poor and a part of the wall needed repainting. Had a birthday dinner with a titanic theme and the food was equally impressive. I had an exciting stay and would most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kedem_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Couldn't fault the hotel or the accomodation. The staff on the Friday and Saturday were brilliant and couldn't do enough for you, sadly the Concierge on the Sunday let the side down, unhelpful and miserable. The facilities at the hotel were excellent with the spa facilities being a big bonus. The room was very comfortable and the TV entertainment was excellent with their catalogue of films free of charge which are current. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellavilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Grand and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The room was excellent and we made full use of the spa facilities which were very good too. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and we felt nothing was too much trouble. The Grand is ideally located to explore St Helier and the surrouning area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a 3 night stay in mid May and expecting the weather not to be great we specifically wanted a hotel with a pool. On the Monday morning of our stay we went to use the pool but were told it was closed due to a fault and would probably not be open for the rest of that day or the next. When checking out we mentioned our disappointment and asked for a partial refund of the £444 we had paid for B & B. Of course the receptionist said she could not authorise a refund and we could not deduct anything as we had paid in advance. She said she would let the manager know and he would contact us but he has not bothered. Added to this that the food was ordinary, the bathroom so small that if was tricky getting out of the over-bath shower and the toiletries were half empty when we arrived. The staff were pleasant but this did not make up for the shortcomings of this hotel and the fact that it was nowhere near value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Generally, A very good hotel though not a great hotel. The staff are attentive and helpful, there are a couple of exceptions as might expect but generally very good. Perfect for a short break or business.
Our room was on the 3rd floor with a view of the bay which was brilliant, real matching wooden hangers in the wardrobe, trouser press and a king size bed. The bathroom was ..ok... shower pressure was not brilliant (actually it was quite poor) especially at peak time 8.00 - 9.00am but good layout with quality soaps,creams and towels.
The breakfast buffet is an important component when reviewing a stay in a 'quality' hotel.
The Grand doesn't disappoint, there's a good choice of cooked food with the usual pastries fruit and cereals. Haddock and kippers are available on request, apparently. Getting brown toast from the revolving toaster was a challenge depending on which guest had been fiddling with the controls but that's part of the fun. Coffee and juice are constantly refilled by the incredibly polite restaurant staff.
The biggest plus for us in The Grand's repertoire was without doubt the spotlessly clean spa facilities. Good sized lockers and changing rooms with an endless supply of bath size towels Good sized pool with a steam room, sauna and hot tub which are free to use for guests. Treatments are available and apparently very good, they aren't cheap in price or quality. Location is good but not perfect as there is a walk to get to the town centre. During the warmer weather the raised screened terrace at the front of the hotel gives a good view of the bay whilst enjoying a drink and something to eat. Price is not fixed as it depends on capacity and time of year. We paid £528.00 for 5 nights including breakfast which isn't cheap but with that many staff and facilities it does offer good value for money.
So, would we book The Grand again next time? Maybe but The Pomme d'Or or the Royal Yacht looked good from the outside might give one of them a try if they have a spa!
Extra info: Taxi from the airport cost us £12.50
Best dinner out? Aroma, just around the corner about £60 - £70 with wine. You must book.

Room Tip: If you are on a holiday/break then sea view is a must. If you can't get a room with a view find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Delightful hotel, very helpful staff and fabulous Terrace bar with view across St Aubins Bay. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. We stayed three nights last week at an on-line reduced price of £73.00 per room per night including full English Breakfast (£14.99 to non-residents). The normal price for an inland classic room (which our was) would have been £219 per room per night.
Parking space is limited but the concierge were brilliant at shifting our car around so that we always had a parking space. My only complaint (if you can call it that) was that I'm 6' and although the bath robes were 'large' the sleeves only came down to my elbows!

Room Tip: Buy on-line for an excellent discount price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brightonboy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Grand. As always the staff are just superb - they should be sent around the country giving demonstrations on how to treat guests!

Had a fantastic facial in the Spa and then a spray tan - if you have not had one I highly recommend it - I felt so healthy - thank you Chloe!

I had the best Mojito I have ever had on Friday night in the Champagne Lounge - the new Terrace is open and is looking stunning - the weather is out of everyone's hands but on Friday and Saturday it was beautiful and the Terrace was buzzing and looked great.

We had dinner in Tassili on the Saturday night - absolutely spectacular. The food is delicious, the service is so slick and professional - a truly enjoyable evening. If you want to eat there (and you really should) I would suggest you book at the time of your hotel booking as it does get full very quickly and you do not want to be disappointed.

Could mention every member of staff by name as they all make the stay at the Grand the enjoyable experience it is - but I would be here all night - but suffice to say if you ave not been to Jersey or the Grand I suggest you do - it is as the say "the warmest place in Britain" so go and enjoy everything the Grand has to offer!

Room Tip: It is hard to offer a tip because like all hotels if the rooms are booked they can't do anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,584 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £94 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing