We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Booked this hotel for Afternoon Tea as an Anniversary Gift. Arrived in what they call the Champagne Suite? A bar basically with a few tables. Revellers from the night before were in the bar shouting swearing feet on chairs. Place was shabby and dirty. Decided after the look of the place and poor service declined too stay. It certainly is nothing like a champagne Bar more like a public bar in a pub!! Don't bother there are much nicer places in Jersey that serve Afternoon Tea.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 5037775susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
There are newer reviews for Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned home from a two night business stay at the Grand, good location with the benefit of on site parking. Stayed in a deluxe park view room which also gives you a sea view, well it would if the double glazed windows were not all steamed up, couldn't see a thing out of the large centre pane also the sheet on the bed was torn.
Breakfast was good with enough choice and good service.
More a four star than five in my opinion.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Arrival at the hotel was very efficient and set a great first impression with bags taken away to room and swift check in.
We were in a deluxe park view room, where we had a side view of the sea. Room was small but adequate, bathroom was crazy small not at all acceptable for a 5* hotel.
Leisure facilities were very disappointing, pool was cold, nowhere to sit at all and hot tub would only really fit in 2 people unless you are very friendly with your fellow guests.
Service was not great in lounge or at breakfast.

Would not recommend this hotel, try somewhere else if you take my advice

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adchesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We visited St Helier in October 2013, treated ourself and whilst had no real complaints, felt the hotel needed to look at some detail to help improve. Were in an Executive Double Room with sea views ( partially blocked by the annexe roof ) and a balcony. Unfortuanately, cigarette stubs littered the balcony - not sure from previous gusts or from up above but either way these were never cleaned away.

The room was fine, clean with everything we wanted but poor layout - again nothing specific but..

Breakfast was buffet served, but with no choice of juicem just orange served at your table.

Champagne Bar was fantastic with great staff and resonable prices - opt to eat here too if you want something lighter or faster than a meal out.

We aqrrived on a Saturday and was dissapointed to fing both restaurants fully booked out - not the hotel falt just an observation - maybe we should have been prompted at time of booking.

Brilliant Spa and Pool facilties which justify the 5 star rating.

Great Concierge Desk too.

All in all a great Classic Hotel - and with some small attention to detail this would be a fantastic choice - just trying to be constructive to you guys at the Grand.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view and pay the extra.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back0fnapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey following your recent stay.

We appreciate your honest, constructive feedback and hope to see you at the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

First time visitor to Jersey and decided to treat ourselves with a five star hotel. It is a traditionally designed type of hotel and contrasted sharply with the square block types of buildings nearby (e.g. Radisson Blu). We had no complaints about our stay although not sure 5 stars fully justified. It does though have a marvellous spa with probably the largest indoor swimming pool I've seen at a hotel.
We visited during the Tennerfest period when many restaurants etc were offering special menus and we were pleased that our agent persuaded us to book the hotel on a B & B basis. We ate in on the first night and whilst the meal was nice the atmosphere was a bit dire. Breakfast on the other hand was excellent with plenty of choice and good service.
We had a sea view room which was long and narrow probably as a result of fitting in an ensuite sometime in the past. Room was very comfortable with lovely view. As well as looking out to sea the hotel does face on to the A1 Esplanade Road which is extremely busy and some people could find sea view rooms are noisy. During the week traffic was heavy from 7.00am. We hadn't expected so much traffic on a small island!
The hotel has its own car park which probably can accommodate about 20 cars. We managed to get a space every night but it is liable to be more of a problem in season.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms will also see the sun most of the day. They won't necessarily have a balcony thou...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey following your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I am sure that you sampled some lovely food at nearby restaurants during Tennerfest.

I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel and it won't be my last!! What a beautiful hotel. I had booked a single room and requested a room with a view but was told it could not be guaranteed. I checked in and was given Room 333. Wow, what a view! I had a view of the park and the bay plus a huge balcony. I could not find fault with anything. The jug of fresh Jersey milk was a nice touch. Bed very comfy. The breakfasts were amazing, the waiters very helpful, making sure you had coffee or tea. Even though I was a woman travelling on her own, I never felt ignored. I was always given a table overlooking the great view. Every member of staff was helpful and kind, nothing was too much trouble. Make sure you ask for a room with a view. If you stay here you won't regret it. I will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have an amazing view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Brigitte,

Thank you so much for reviewing Grand Jersey following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and will pass your complimentary feedback on to all the team.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

View from the room was breath taking. The bed feels old, sank in after lying down for awhile. this hotel has definitely seen its glorious days. Carpet might be abit old, musty smell along the corridor. Most disappointing part was the hotel didn't have an umbrellas for loan on a raining day. Hotel might consider stocking up on some umbrellas especially towards raining season. overall it's an ok experience :>

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplecloud89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey following your recent stay.

Your honest, constructive comments has been taken on board and circulated amongst the team.

I do hope we will see you again in the future.

Best wishes,


Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,093 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,547 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £95 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing