We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Got brilliant deal, would go again"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
HOWWOOD
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Got brilliant deal, would go again"”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned there are areas of the hotel which on first impression looks lovely but, with closer look needs a tidy up. We got a great deal for bed/breakfast so no complaints, have paid a lot more in some awful venues.Found the staff attentive and always polite (like much of Jersey, many European workers). Rooms had all the extras, and a "turn-down" service. If management read this do something about the noisy floorboards, realise the hotel is an old and established building but, nail some of the boards down please. This hotel is great for walking into town, 10-15mins away with great restaurants next to the hotel. Staying before xmas, everything getting into the festive swing, it did look lovely. The weather was brilliant for our stay. Would certainly be looking at a revisit.. Thank-you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    477
    195
    62
    32
See reviews for
212
896
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Grand Jersey was once probably a great hotel, but now it is disappointing in many important areas. Firstly, do not be tempted by the sea-view rooms if you want a good night's sleep as Jersey's only dual carriageway is directly in front of the hotel. The breakfast dining room is very dark and the quality of the breakfast itself was not what I expected from a 5 star hotel. Long-life orange juice, hard fried eggs and poor quality bacon. Service isn't bad but the staff are not really interested in making your stay special. Overall very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnum599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I booked the Grand Jersey for my Mother's 60th Birthday treat and also to retrace family history while we were there. Upon arrival all staff were very attentive and helpful and our room was ready even at 9.30am...bonus! The room was very nice, probably not 5* but very pleasant all the same. It had a hairdryer, iron and board in the wardrobe, trouser press, and nice toiletries inc. a nail file set and travel sewing kit. The views from the sea view rooms were beautiful over looking Elizabeth Castle. We had Champagne afternoon tea booked later that day which was nice, although I have had better for similar price.
The swimming pool was lovely with soft lighting and the jacuzzi was great. As the pool isn't that big, it sometimes became slightly overcrowded in the morning rush. I didn't use the steam room and sauna or the Gym.
Although we didn't use the spa facilities, a local lady who used the pool daily showed us the chillax room which is stunning I have to say. I would love to go back just to use that room!
Breakfast was great, buffet style continental and English cooked buffet so you could have as much or little as you wanted. The fresh fruit was beautiful also.
We ate at local restaurants which were lovely and literally around the corner. Casa Mia and Aromas who also still had the Tennefest dining menus (will review these also).
On the Saturday evening, we returned before going out to dinner to find our room unlocked. I know that the door was locked as I always shook the door to ensure it was locked.
We weren't happy to be honest as anyone could have gone into our room, luckily nothing had been taken. We decided to highlight this to the reception staff and hoped to get some reassurance and spoke to the Front of House Manager Michelle who didn't seem bothered as "it has never happened before" and asked "What do you want me to do about it!" Well, to say that I was shocked to hear that from a 5* hotel is an understatement. We spoke to the Duty Manager Nathan who handled the situation much more compassionately and reassured us that an investigation would be undertaken and that the turndown staff would be informed. We were offered a drink due to the issues experienced.
If I'm honest, the experience was great but a couple of issues put a slight dampener on it. I would hope that no-one else encounters these problems. Don't let it put you off to some degree as all the other staff, Including Rayno in the Champagne Lounge was fantastic!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms over look Elizabeth Castle - Beautiful at night all lit up, although the road can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veedubgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we decided to go to Jersey for the weekend for our Anniversary and were not disappointed. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite overlooking both the park and the sea and wished we had been staying for longer. The hairdryer, additional mirror, ironing board and iron were all secreted away in the wardrobe, but there was still plenty of space to hang and store our belongings. The fridge with still and sparkling water, plus the kettle, tea and coffee tray were hidden away in what looked liked drawers in a cupboard. The service throughout our stay was excellent and we had access to everything we could have wanted. Although there is a spa, we didn't have time to use the facilities on this trip, as we wanted to do some shopping in St. Helier, about 15 minutes walk away. The hotel is perfectly situated for this and the weather was good, so we also walked around the marinas. The concierges were very helpful and the champagne and cocktail bar offers everything you could wish for, including afternoon tea. We ate at the hotel's Michelin starred restaurant Tassili but have written a separate review on this. From the time we walked through the door of the Grand Jersey until we were back at the airport, we had an amazing time and were treated like royalty. We will definitely be going back next time we plan a trip to Jersey.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

another amazing sunday lunch at the grand today friendly attentitive staff lots of choice of fresh cooked food was amazing the only down side was vegetables cooked al denti witch i dont like but its something that didnt bother me and most hotels cook them that way i wont stop me visiting again had many good times in the grand 5 star quality and price

Room Tip: we live in jersey so visit often to the grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Staff were very attentive and thoughtful - definitely a 5 star experience, although my room was quite small and some things didn't work they did try and fix them as best they could. The sea room views looked lovely and the higher up you go, as you would expect - the better the view.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janieg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The staff in this hotel are excellent and once you are checked in you are usually referred to by name especially by the helpful concierge, Hugo. Our room had a view of both the park and the sea and was a good size but I cannot understand why a five star hotel doesn't have a dressing table or mirror and/or hairdryer in the bathroom.
The bathroom was small with no working extractor so mould was starting on the large window which could not be opened.
We would stay here again if only for the service and the excellent in house Michelin restaurant which I will review separately.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom before accepting the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuryRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
725 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing