We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous tasting menu in restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time. Short walk to town and nice view across to castle and marina. Great to sit in bar on terrace in front of hotel and beautiful spa. Staff very friendly and helpful. Found Jersey very clean and everyone in shopping centre also very friendly. Wish I had booked a RIB trip to see island from the sea - perhaps next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Jersey following your recent short break - it is very much appreciated.

It sounds like you had some sunshine whilst you were here, which meant you could relax on our newly re-designed terrace - there really is no better place to be than Jersey when the weather is good!

We can't wait to welcome you back and could definitely help you organise a RIB ride for your next trip.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pro's

Good location
Efficient check in
Nice breakfast with friendly staff
Bed was comfortable and room was decent size.
Michelin starred resturant in the hotel

Con's

Our room (101) on the executive sea front, was very noisy, both from the room upstairs (constant creaking floorboards) to the noise from drunk people coming in and out the hotel (hotel hosts lots of weddings, hen do's etc). We had our young child with us so it was not ideal.

Wi-fi is painfully slow and only 50mb is free.

They locked me in the SPA!! I went for a quick evening dip, suddenly they turned the main lights off and by the time I struggled in the dark up the main staircase found the door locked. I waited for 5 mins until a waitress walked by and I told her to please get a key. She went off to get someone and about 5 mins later they arrived with a key and a half hearted apology. Someone then rushed after me and asked me if I would like a beer brought to my room, which I declined.

While my wife was getting a massage in the Spa a guy kept looking in the treatment room which made her uncomfortable.

Our room smelt musty and the general amenities/bathroom where a little below par than what you would expect from 5 star hotel.

They also charged £20 for our baby crib (never experienced this before) and £20 for a late check out (I find 5* hotels normally don't usually mind if its for a couple of hours).

Overall I would not stay here again but I believe the hotel is up for sale so this may change how it is run.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smace2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us - all of these points have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant heads of department for their review.

Obviously we would very much welcome the opportunity to change your overall opinion of the hotel and would therefore ask you to contact us directly if you do decide to return to Jersey so that we can personally manage your booking.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I returned to the hotel in May 2014 on honeymoon, we had a Park Deluxe room which had an excellent view of the Peoples Park and the west side of St Aubins bay. The room was an excellent size with fantastic facilities. The service was second to none, all staff very friendly and helpful. The food at the hotel is excellent, we had a breakfast every morning and the Sunday Brunch. One change we noticed since our last visit 4 yrs ago was the improvement to parking, if there was no room in the small underground car park, then you passed the keys to a concierge who parks it for you in coned off bays for you. The location is superb, convenient to town (although far enough away to avoid late night noise), right on the sea front. Many an evening was spent in the excellent outside terrace area. Service in the Terrace, Restaurants and Champagne Lounge was also superb. All in all it was the perfect place for us. We will return.

Room Tip: Deluxe Park View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

I am delighted that you chose to return to Grand Jersey as your honeymoon destination - congratulations to you both!

It sounds like you had an amazing stay, with last memories to take back home with you.

I hope that you will decide to return to Grand Jersey to celebrate your 1st wedding anniversry - please contact us if you do plan to, we would love to look after you again.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, food in Tassili was amazing, bar is serving good cocktails, clean, little bit dated but otherwise very good and to be recommended! Very central location, bus stop outside hotel, beautiful view to Elizabeth Castle. Staff is helpful in arranging things for day & night!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katharina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

What a lovely review of your recent stay - I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful time at Grand Jersey and had the opportunity to dine in Tassili, our Michelin star restaurant.

I hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,


Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a suite overlooking the castle and that was a good start. Having nowhere to dry your hair and no separate shower didn't enhance that experience. The bar was a disappointment with poorly made drinks and below average service. To cap it all, we went to the Michelin restaurant Tassili and spent a small fortune on fine dining with very average wines. Unlikely we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Grand Jersey. It was disappointing to see that we fell short of your expectations and I would very much welcome the opportunity to turn this situation around. Please contact my assistant Charlotte at cdixon@grandjersey.com if you are planning on returning to Jersey so that she can personally manage your booking.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a superb hotel. Our view from the balcony was very good. Unfortunately we were unaware that they were carrying out some building work on the property beside the hotel. The food was very good although it would have been nicer to have more change in the choices during our weeks stay. The bus service in St Helier is superb.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Grand Jersey. It sounds like you had a lovely stay, with the friendly staff and service being making it even better - I will pass your compliments on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Jersey in the future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here last week with a girlfriend for 4 nights, with the intention of shopping, relaxing and enjoying the hotel spa. Having stayed here once before a few years ago, I was disappointed to note that standards have fallen. The hotel was looking shabby, especially our room, which had marks on the walls and still did not have a mirror for hair styling, which even Travelodge & Premier Inn provide! We were eventually told that there was a small mirror at the bottom of the wardrobe (!) which kept falling down as there wasn't enough room on the already crowded cabinet beneath the huge TV (in a very small room). One evening we went to have a cocktail on the terrace but waited 10 minutes and were completely ignored by the staff, hence we left and walked across to the Radisson Blu hotel which was much more friendly and welcoming. When I go with my husband we will stay there rather than the Grand as I don't think it lives up to it's 4 star rating. The pool is very nice and we both had lovely facials (expensive) but apart from that I could not see any redeeming features of the Grand and will not be returning. Also, the rooms there are very small and the twin beds we requested were pushed together with no room to separate them (we were 2 ladies travelling together, not sleeping together!). Hey ho.

Room Tip: Don't choose the basic room as it's very small and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynneyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Grand Jersey - your comments are extremely important to us and I shall be looking into every point you make with the relevant departments.

Obviously we would love to turn your opinion of Grand Jersey around and therefore if you are planning another trip to Jersey in the near future then please contact my assistant Charlotte at cdixon@grandjersey.com.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,584 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £94 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing