We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, overlooking the sea front. It has lovely outdoor dining with a glass windbreak all the way across so perfect for eating lunch or sipping early evening cocktails. Our room was clean and the beds are extremely large and comfortable. The only thing that let the room down was the outdated bathroom , decor quite tired and it's been a long time since I encountered a shower curtain! But was immaculately clean. We were very lucky to have a luxury massage and facial which was just lovely, the spa is very relaxing although disappointed that the pool was out of use. Hotel very quiet and breakfast was very nice and all the staff in this hotel were polite and discreet.

Room Tip: Sea front or the side facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolly0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    456
    188
    60
    32
See reviews for
203
856
53
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a three day stay at this lovely hotel from 5th July. It was a special anniversary celebration for us and hotel staff kindly helped arrange for flowers and wine in our room on arrival. We paid extra for an outstanding sea and castle view which was worth every penny. Our room on the first floor was in perfect working order. The easy to operate safe for passports etc., the air conditioning, the fridge and heated towel rail meant that we could relax in our room and enjoy cool refreshments and dry damp clothing notwithstanding some unseasonal wet weather. As ever the staff were always very friendly, helpful and efficient.
This was our first stay since the hotel's refurbishment and we were pleasantly impressed. We would suggest improved signage to and within the pool and spa area however and for the WCs situated on the mezzanine behind the lobby.
We prefer to enjoy a variety of dining experiences. The hotel is handily situated close to a wide range of restaurants. At weekends in particular we would advise an early choice of intended dining location as failure to book can lead to disappointment. A Costcutter store/petrol station just behind the hotel is very handy for day to day groceries/sweets etc., as well as fuel if needed for a hire car. We have always found the hotel's car park to be large enough but if full there is a multi-story off an adjacent street to the rear of the hotel. In the late afternoon after a day exploring the island it is delightful to enjoy a drink and a sandwich on the sun terrace at the front of the hotel and enjoy the beauty of Elizabeth Castle and the ebb and flow of the bay's tide.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are situated over the car park and sun terrace with its bar. The hotel faces a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Grand Jersey - I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and will pass your thanks on to everyone.

The staff at Grand Jersey really do try and make your stay as comfortable as possible, and it sounds like you had a lovely relaxing break.

I do hope that you will decide to return in the near future as we would love to see you again.

Kind regards,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, in a room at the back of the hotel.
The room was good. Beds were comfy, bathroom clean and modern. Lighting was great.
The pool was out of order and we were really disappointed, so we were given a three-course meal each in the Brasserie restaurant to compensate. The food here was very good.
The breakfast was excellent, all you could possibly need, all fresh and very tasty.
The staff, on the whole were great; a special mention to Ernst on concierge and also Andreea in the restaurant - both were very efficient, very welcoming, very lovely.
The down side is that the hotel is on the main road, and therefore drinks on the terrace were a bit noisey; add to that the fact that there were private functions going on here, restricting guest access and adding to the noise.
It's a lovely hotel, and we may well stay again, or return to The CLub Hotel which we feel just has the edge!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - your feedback really is appreciated.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will decide to come back soon.

Best wishes,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

As previous reviews mention there were a couple of things that let the Hotel down but also positives as well. Location was great a brilliant trip via the duck/bus to the amazing castle just opposite and a 5 minute walk to the town centre. We paid a bit more for a park view but was a great side view of sea and park, room could have been a bit bigger but great bathroom and modern furnishings and lovely toiletries, mini fridge with daily topped up water was nice touch. The reception staff were okay but the restaurant staff were brilliant so helpful and came around with never ending coffee and juice, breakfast was really good and if you ask also have vegetarian sausages (would be useful if this was on the breakfast menu as asked per chance) can't say enough about the staff and breakfast experience fantastic. We ate in the fine dinning restaurant one night amazing experience food and service thank you. Now the not so good pool was out of order for 2 days and the morning we left, this was very disappointing and I know hard for Hotel to fix but the offer of Aqua splash tickets I felt was not enough as a ten minute walk away and not the luxury of having a swim in the morning or pop down in your robe before dinner this was a big part of choosing the hotel and felt when mentioned this to reception wasn't dealt with much interest, We were still able to use hot tub and steam room but a bit gutting just to see pool blocked off. The point about the terrace being used by functions is fair but it didn't affect our stay we had a lovely afternoon sat out the Terrace on the Sunday afternoon. Other small niggles room seemed dusty on arrival and for what we paid (over 180 a night bb) surely you could splash out to 2 little packs of biscuits on the tea tray in room! Overall a lovely furnished hotel in a great location just needs a bit more customer care in some areas but overall had a lovely time just wish we could have swam more!

Room Tip: Ask for park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to thank you for highlighting the positives from your stay - especially the staff in Victorias Restaurant (I will pass this on to them).

I know that the situation regarding our pool is extremely disappointing - this is incredibly frustrating for us too as the failure of a main filter was the cause of this breakdown and unfortunately, we had no alternative but to close the pool to our guests until this has been replaced.

When situations like this happen within the hotel which are out of our control, as a team we try our utmost to find an alternative solution and whilst we initially we had Aquasplash as an option we have since increased this to include other pools on the island. This will hopefully help to suit all of our guests requirements.

I hope that aside from these unavoidable events you still managed to enjoy your break and we would love to see you again if you decide to return to Jersey.

Kind regards,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Shabby hotel, swimming pool was shut, we were offered free swimming at the local pool! Not quite 5 star, queuing with a lot of school children.
The room ... Blind broken, toilet seat would not stay up (not idea for a man) suspect bathroom plumbing,complimentary toiletries not replaced, room hallway so dark you could not adjust air conditioning or see into the wardrobes plus many other minor problems.
Outside seating area ... Twice we were told that we would have to vacate our seats, owing to corporate bookings, we were definitely made to feel like second class citizens.
Having complained to a manager we were offered a small reduction, unfortunately this does not make up for a ruined (so called) 5 star break!!

Room Tip: View from our sea view room was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley20141847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Already been thrown off of the Terrace 2 days in a row due to corporate events. As I write we are being thrown out of the Champagne bar.
Never again will we stay at this hotel, the service is horrific & to say paying customers are 2nd class citizens is an under statement.
I would highly recommend the Hotel France.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara-Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I originally vowed never to set foot back in the hotel again, but as our summer L'Ordre des Coteaux des Champagne dinner was there we felt obliged to go. We had a table of 12 people and I have to say the food was appalling with the main course not being served until 10.00pm from a 20.00 sit down. There were a few on our table who could not eat the shell fish starter so they were served with a miniscule piece of melon matched by a miniscule piece of parma ham. Given that this is supposed to be a four star hotel the chef didnt need much imagination to be able to produce something better. Again the champagne pouring skills were non exisitent and the restaurant manager/supervisor was nowhere to be seen and effectivley hung his staff out to dry! Never again will I go there, this time I will stick to it.!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing