We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool old world charm and sophistication”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a real old school hotel but in a good way! Excellent levels of service, amazing breakfast and the staff are incredibly friendly. Location couldn't be better, a short walk into St Helier and other attractions. Bus stop is right outside so great for airport transfers (#15 bus).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel and value for money, central location within walking distance of main shopping area
Beautiful views out to sea
Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Jersey and looking for a luxurious experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The site and the views from the front of the hotel is great - although the photo on the front of the hotel website hides the fact that there is a dual carriageway bewteen the hotel and the beach.

We also suffered from a non-functioning pool and were offered no compensation, though we could have gone to another hotel to swim - but that was not realistic.

Also the evening we arrived there was a function taking up the restaurant which was therefore not available for normal residents. We were told food would be available in the large room up the main stairs at the back of the hotel so we booked a table. But when we arrived and took one look we quickly decided against it. A high ceiling with no windows and dark curtains, It had about as much ambience as dining in a gymnasium.

We asked if we could eat out on the terrace, although there was a function with music taking up part of that. We were told we could and that the music should stop at 8pm to make conversation easier. But by 8:45 the music was still going so we abandoned the hotel and went to eat elsewhere at on of the restaurants in the road on the east side of the hotels. It was a pity the hotel did not have a decent option available for us.

The rooms were fine with lovely beds, good airconditioning. And the rest of the service was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bomatega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, overlooking the sea front. It has lovely outdoor dining with a glass windbreak all the way across so perfect for eating lunch or sipping early evening cocktails. Our room was clean and the beds are extremely large and comfortable. The only thing that let the room down was the outdated bathroom , decor quite tired and it's been a long time since I encountered a shower curtain! But was immaculately clean. We were very lucky to have a luxury massage and facial which was just lovely, the spa is very relaxing although disappointed that the pool was out of use. Hotel very quiet and breakfast was very nice and all the staff in this hotel were polite and discreet.

Room Tip: Sea front or the side facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolly0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a three day stay at this lovely hotel from 5th July. It was a special anniversary celebration for us and hotel staff kindly helped arrange for flowers and wine in our room on arrival. We paid extra for an outstanding sea and castle view which was worth every penny. Our room on the first floor was in perfect working order. The easy to operate safe for passports etc., the air conditioning, the fridge and heated towel rail meant that we could relax in our room and enjoy cool refreshments and dry damp clothing notwithstanding some unseasonal wet weather. As ever the staff were always very friendly, helpful and efficient.
This was our first stay since the hotel's refurbishment and we were pleasantly impressed. We would suggest improved signage to and within the pool and spa area however and for the WCs situated on the mezzanine behind the lobby.
We prefer to enjoy a variety of dining experiences. The hotel is handily situated close to a wide range of restaurants. At weekends in particular we would advise an early choice of intended dining location as failure to book can lead to disappointment. A Costcutter store/petrol station just behind the hotel is very handy for day to day groceries/sweets etc., as well as fuel if needed for a hire car. We have always found the hotel's car park to be large enough but if full there is a multi-story off an adjacent street to the rear of the hotel. In the late afternoon after a day exploring the island it is delightful to enjoy a drink and a sandwich on the sun terrace at the front of the hotel and enjoy the beauty of Elizabeth Castle and the ebb and flow of the bay's tide.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are situated over the car park and sun terrace with its bar. The hotel faces a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Grand Jersey - I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and will pass your thanks on to everyone.

The staff at Grand Jersey really do try and make your stay as comfortable as possible, and it sounds like you had a lovely relaxing break.

I do hope that you will decide to return in the near future as we would love to see you again.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, in a room at the back of the hotel.
The room was good. Beds were comfy, bathroom clean and modern. Lighting was great.
The pool was out of order and we were really disappointed, so we were given a three-course meal each in the Brasserie restaurant to compensate. The food here was very good.
The breakfast was excellent, all you could possibly need, all fresh and very tasty.
The staff, on the whole were great; a special mention to Ernst on concierge and also Andreea in the restaurant - both were very efficient, very welcoming, very lovely.
The down side is that the hotel is on the main road, and therefore drinks on the terrace were a bit noisey; add to that the fact that there were private functions going on here, restricting guest access and adding to the noise.
It's a lovely hotel, and we may well stay again, or return to The CLub Hotel which we feel just has the edge!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom-Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - your feedback really is appreciated.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will decide to come back soon.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As previous reviews mention there were a couple of things that let the Hotel down but also positives as well. Location was great a brilliant trip via the duck/bus to the amazing castle just opposite and a 5 minute walk to the town centre. We paid a bit more for a park view but was a great side view of sea and park, room could have been a bit bigger but great bathroom and modern furnishings and lovely toiletries, mini fridge with daily topped up water was nice touch. The reception staff were okay but the restaurant staff were brilliant so helpful and came around with never ending coffee and juice, breakfast was really good and if you ask also have vegetarian sausages (would be useful if this was on the breakfast menu as asked per chance) can't say enough about the staff and breakfast experience fantastic. We ate in the fine dinning restaurant one night amazing experience food and service thank you. Now the not so good pool was out of order for 2 days and the morning we left, this was very disappointing and I know hard for Hotel to fix but the offer of Aqua splash tickets I felt was not enough as a ten minute walk away and not the luxury of having a swim in the morning or pop down in your robe before dinner this was a big part of choosing the hotel and felt when mentioned this to reception wasn't dealt with much interest, We were still able to use hot tub and steam room but a bit gutting just to see pool blocked off. The point about the terrace being used by functions is fair but it didn't affect our stay we had a lovely afternoon sat out the Terrace on the Sunday afternoon. Other small niggles room seemed dusty on arrival and for what we paid (over 180 a night bb) surely you could splash out to 2 little packs of biscuits on the tea tray in room! Overall a lovely furnished hotel in a great location just needs a bit more customer care in some areas but overall had a lovely time just wish we could have swam more!

Room Tip: Ask for park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to thank you for highlighting the positives from your stay - especially the staff in Victorias Restaurant (I will pass this on to them).

I know that the situation regarding our pool is extremely disappointing - this is incredibly frustrating for us too as the failure of a main filter was the cause of this breakdown and unfortunately, we had no alternative but to close the pool to our guests until this has been replaced.

When situations like this happen within the hotel which are out of our control, as a team we try our utmost to find an alternative solution and whilst we initially we had Aquasplash as an option we have since increased this to include other pools on the island. This will hopefully help to suit all of our guests requirements.

I hope that aside from these unavoidable events you still managed to enjoy your break and we would love to see you again if you decide to return to Jersey.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#10 of 16 in St Brelade
1,412 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 30 in St Helier
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £103 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing