We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and upon arrival was told the swimming pool was out of action...but that's ok we have arranged for guests to use the local public facilities a mere 5 minute walk away. Imagine that!!!
Then when we went to the outdoor bar we were told that this was closing for a private function for one of the local banks...but that's ok you can sit inside out of the sun!!!
On the second night...same again...private function.

I guess what I am saying is if you want to cater for the locals and if you have amenities that are out of action...here's a clue...TELL US IN ADVANCE...we may decide (I know I would have) to move to another hotel.

Very unhappy with the entire stay. And not one visit from management.

Ryanor (Sorry if I spelt it wrong) from South Africa in the bar was very helpful and friendly...You still owe us a drink after the penalty shootout!!!

Room Tip: Front of hotel on main road into St Helier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    477
    195
    61
    32
See reviews for
212
895
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent hotel.
The rooms are very clean & to a modern standard.
Excellent views from the front of the hotel.
We never really had a view from our room but that was ok with us.
I would highly reccomend staying at this hotel.
Local shoppping

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a real old school hotel but in a good way! Excellent levels of service, amazing breakfast and the staff are incredibly friendly. Location couldn't be better, a short walk into St Helier and other attractions. Bus stop is right outside so great for airport transfers (#15 bus).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel and value for money, central location within walking distance of main shopping area
Beautiful views out to sea
Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Jersey and looking for a luxurious experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The site and the views from the front of the hotel is great - although the photo on the front of the hotel website hides the fact that there is a dual carriageway bewteen the hotel and the beach.

We also suffered from a non-functioning pool and were offered no compensation, though we could have gone to another hotel to swim - but that was not realistic.

Also the evening we arrived there was a function taking up the restaurant which was therefore not available for normal residents. We were told food would be available in the large room up the main stairs at the back of the hotel so we booked a table. But when we arrived and took one look we quickly decided against it. A high ceiling with no windows and dark curtains, It had about as much ambience as dining in a gymnasium.

We asked if we could eat out on the terrace, although there was a function with music taking up part of that. We were told we could and that the music should stop at 8pm to make conversation easier. But by 8:45 the music was still going so we abandoned the hotel and went to eat elsewhere at on of the restaurants in the road on the east side of the hotels. It was a pity the hotel did not have a decent option available for us.

The rooms were fine with lovely beds, good airconditioning. And the rest of the service was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bomatega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, overlooking the sea front. It has lovely outdoor dining with a glass windbreak all the way across so perfect for eating lunch or sipping early evening cocktails. Our room was clean and the beds are extremely large and comfortable. The only thing that let the room down was the outdated bathroom , decor quite tired and it's been a long time since I encountered a shower curtain! But was immaculately clean. We were very lucky to have a luxury massage and facial which was just lovely, the spa is very relaxing although disappointed that the pool was out of use. Hotel very quiet and breakfast was very nice and all the staff in this hotel were polite and discreet.

Room Tip: Sea front or the side facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolly0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a three day stay at this lovely hotel from 5th July. It was a special anniversary celebration for us and hotel staff kindly helped arrange for flowers and wine in our room on arrival. We paid extra for an outstanding sea and castle view which was worth every penny. Our room on the first floor was in perfect working order. The easy to operate safe for passports etc., the air conditioning, the fridge and heated towel rail meant that we could relax in our room and enjoy cool refreshments and dry damp clothing notwithstanding some unseasonal wet weather. As ever the staff were always very friendly, helpful and efficient.
This was our first stay since the hotel's refurbishment and we were pleasantly impressed. We would suggest improved signage to and within the pool and spa area however and for the WCs situated on the mezzanine behind the lobby.
We prefer to enjoy a variety of dining experiences. The hotel is handily situated close to a wide range of restaurants. At weekends in particular we would advise an early choice of intended dining location as failure to book can lead to disappointment. A Costcutter store/petrol station just behind the hotel is very handy for day to day groceries/sweets etc., as well as fuel if needed for a hire car. We have always found the hotel's car park to be large enough but if full there is a multi-story off an adjacent street to the rear of the hotel. In the late afternoon after a day exploring the island it is delightful to enjoy a drink and a sandwich on the sun terrace at the front of the hotel and enjoy the beauty of Elizabeth Castle and the ebb and flow of the bay's tide.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are situated over the car park and sun terrace with its bar. The hotel faces a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Grand Jersey - I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and will pass your thanks on to everyone.

The staff at Grand Jersey really do try and make your stay as comfortable as possible, and it sounds like you had a lovely relaxing break.

I do hope that you will decide to return in the near future as we would love to see you again.

Kind regards,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
725 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing