We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Service”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Having just got back from a 7 night stay at the Grand, I felt I simply had to write a great review for the place. I was a little worried after a few negative reviews but there was no need to be. Location is great as it is within walking distance of St Helier, the main town and Liberation Station for Buses around the Island. We paid extra for a sea view room and it was definitely worth waking up to every day. Our room was spacious with a comfy big bed. Yes, maybe the decor could do with a little spruce up but the room was always clean and tidy, with bed made and tea and coffee facilities restocked every day. Breakfast was buffet and service on drinks was excellent, always being offered more orange juice and hot beverages. Special mention goes to a female waitress, Armeena (unsure of spelling) who looked after us on a daily basis and was quick to remember our orders. The Terrace is a lovely place out the front of the hotel to have a drink. Service again, was excellent. We spent afew evenings in the Champagne Lounge and, as another reviewer mentioned, Jorge made the overall experience. He was always on hand to top up our drinks and take orders. Finally the spa facilities were great. The pool was barely occupied so there was always room. With a steam room and sauna, what more could you need. The only negative was booking a meal on the last night. As there was another function occuring at the same time, guests seemed to be pushed to second, therefore we had to wait a while for our food and didn't get the service or quality I expected from the hotel. Other than that, an excellent 5* hotel with some individuals who made the stay well worth it. We will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    487
    203
    63
    32
See reviews for
220
922
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from six nights in this super hotel. Yes, is is a little worn around the edges but it is of little significance when considered against its positive aspects. Positioned on the esplanade overlooking the sea, the location is ideal. The splendid terrace was available for drinks and light food throughout the day and evening. The concierge team headed by the indomitable Hugo ( 30 years service at least) , is unparalleled. Hugo had a car waiting for us at the airport, albeit our flight was delayed by two hours. Nothing was too much trouble from car hire, valet service, and a guru knowledge of jersey, to old fashioned courtesy. Breakfast was excellent and the staff exemplorary. The champagne bar was very welcoming and service good. Gorge, was an asset to the hotel and knew our tipple after only two evenings. Thursday is however his day off and the service deteriorates when he is not there.
The Grand ( as the locals call it) , generally needs sprucing up, but it is only frayed edges around an otherwise, outstanding team.
Definitely pay the extra for a sea view.
This was my first trip to jersey and I will return

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I telephoned to ask about restaurant reservations and when the lady I spoke to had ascertained there was no availability in tassili (the Michelin star restaurant they have) she cut me off mid sentence (I was trying to ask about the champagne bar to work out whether to visit for lunch or dinner) and said "thank you, goodbye"!!! I have never been so insulted in my life especially when I was trying to work out a way to give this hotel some of my money! In the end it's been a blessing in disguise because I've bee to the frigate cafe just opposite and found it lovely and the royal Yatch club and gone back twice (See my reviews for zephyr at the royal yatch) it was that good! I will never consider such an ill mannered, arrogant establishment such as the Grand Jersey for my custom.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank G_O_C479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Just come back from an 8 night stay at The Grand Jersey.
Fantastic service, nothing too much trouble.
Good Food , good staff.
Spa treatments were lovely.
Would recommend to anyone . Central location, lovely views.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This is a hotel which is relying on its historical status and it's great location. Unfortunately the rooms are not up to standard. I have never had such appalling lumpy pillows in a 'luxury' hotel before. Air conditioning was poor and our 3rd room was smelling of damp. The first room we were shown was tiny and the air conditioning wasn't working. The second room was ok but the bathroom needed attention and there was nowhere to put toiletries. This was a sea view room and more expensive. We had to move for our last night and again the air conditioning stopped working and there was a horrible damp smell. We had the impression that guests were not as important as events as during our stay the bar area was taken over with various parties. As the terrace bar was closed for two of the nights, this meant it was difficult to find a seat because of reserved areas.Staff tried to be helpful but I'm afraid we won't be making a repeat visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a lovely three night stay at The Grand Jersey. We got a very good deal on lastminute.com so we didn't mind not having a sea facing room.

We have nothing but praise for this hotel with lovely helpful staff and great sized rooms. Bathrooms are big with a massive bath tub and breakfast was delicious.

On the last day we had a treatment in the spa, which was a little pricey but excellent and definitely worth the money. The pool, steam rooms etc were also excellent and very clean.

Set in St Helier this hotel is perfect for exploring being on the doorstep for all bus routes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgen103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I took my sister to the Grand for a few days holiday as she lives in Germany. From the minute we arrived we were treated with 5 star service. We had single rooms (we booked very late and the hotel was very, very busy) but they were fine and suited us.

She loved the Terrace and Champagne Lounge. We enjoyed lovely lunches out on the Terrace and cocktails in the evening n the Lounge.

As ever - perfect!

Thank you to all the wonderful staff who just make the Grand such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,518 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
830 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing