We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sri lankan restaurant”
Review of Unawatuna

Unawatuna
Ranked #28 of 240 Restaurants in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$27
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is the cooking that chef Sudu learned as a child. Armed with his mother's homemade spices (she sends them over every two to three weeks) Sudu set to work, introducing a slice of Sri Lanka, and the cuisine he loves, to foodies around the island. The authentic decor - a team effort, which both Sudu and his partner worked hard to create, sets the backdrop for his first big adventure - Unawatuna - an original name to represent the unique cuisine.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

a nice restaurant serving authentic sinhalese food. (not to be confused with the more common tamil food found in keralan, south indian and some sri lankan restaurants). the fish curry was excellent and we had some vege dishes. well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank russelld49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Thank you for you review. Hope you will visit us again and we will be able to impress you even more and move from 4 to 5 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 236 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

This restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating best of both worlds. Booking is advised as this is a very busy place. Good menu with a choice of large or small portions. Our waitress was so helpful and very pleasant had time to explain the dishes to us, wish more restaurant staff were like this !!!! Good offer for two people ,3 curries, with roti bread , rice and yoghurt dip for £15.00 . Huge list of beers and wine. We will go back, keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and giving us so great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went to Unawatuna just purely by chance and were warmly greeted by a friendly waitress who suggested some dishes for us to try and we were not dissapointed. For the two of us it came to £13.00 which was very reasonable. Try the dark Lion beer, but be warned it has a bit of a kick to it. Will hopefully visit again when we have more time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jonbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

I am please to see that you have enjoyed our food suggestions and tried our Lion Stout! :) Hope to welcome you here again and have an even better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Never tried Sri-Lankan food before but I will certainly be coming back here! Myself and some friends had the party menu for around £20 per head , we all chose a meat/fish curry and there were all the vege curries in the middle for us to share, my favourites were the pumpkin , dhal and beef , but they were all very tasty. There is also a kind of coconut salad which was very good mixed with the curries. Staff were very friendly and helpful . Yummy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had an enjoyable evening at unawntuna. Most of the dishes we tried were very good. From the starter the fish cakes and ribs were excellent. The fish curry and pumpkin were the best of the main courses both very tasty

I did find some of the meat in the curries a bit dry and whilst flavoursome weren't outstanding. As I have a Thai wife and spend a lot of time there I can be a tough critic of this type of food. I found the flavours closer to Thai than Indian.


It was very busy and the staff were great. The service was slow but this didn't bother us. It certainly wasn't the staff fault they did well it's just there wasn't enough of them.

May well get a takeaway in future now know what is nice but probably wouldn't rush back. At £25 a head , good vfm

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Macattack76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We take all comments on board and will be working to ensure any small issues are rectified. We hope to welcome you here again for you try more of our menu and have an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unawatuna also viewed

 
St Aubin, St Brelade
 
St Helier, Jersey
St Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing