We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Blackpool
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel is in a good position the staff are friendly and the hotel was clean but the room was outdated, the room was stuffy so we had to have the window open evey night, Friday we never slept because we were on the front of the hotel and it was noisey. Breakfast well after three days of rubbish we ended going out for breakfast. We had problems with noisey people above us when we complained twice no one did anything until we physically went to reception and told them to do something or we would. This hotel is better suited to stags and hens parties. We stay in a lot of hotels and we were not impressed.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaz1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    343
    195
    80
    48
See reviews for
165
391
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

21 of us booked this hotel for a stag party of guys ages between 23 and 50,the hotel knew this was a stag do and didn't mind taking the £120 for 2 nights each [which i thought was high] but when we arrived to a chaotic reception only to be dressed down the the "owner" who gave a speech about how there were children and couples staying and we should keep it down in there and if we "peed" our beds would have to pay for it ...
he was quiet right in what he said but ,
1, we are not all idiots.
2. dont tar us with anyone else you may have had stayed .
3. he said it in front of other guests ..
if i could have ,i would have taken my money back and gone elsewhere for even saying that to a guest .
anyway im not going to slate the hotel because they have a jumped up full of himself owner who obviously has no customer skills.
it is a decent hotel ,its very dated but clean.
a few of the foreign staff seemed very unhappy but the english ones all seemed nice.
dont even think about accepting a room facing the front of the building as the traffic outside is really noisey.
oh and in the pub next door i waited an HOUR for a pizza which when asked ,the staff told me it would be a few minutes and after asking to get my money and cancelling the order,they said no!! CHEEK!
would only go back if the manager said sorry for the way he conducted himself and it was cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smilespiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Arrived at hotel and immediately disappointed by appearance, very different to website. tired looking, faded furniture, a leak running down wall.
Approached reception and awkwardly waited while manager continued to tell off a receptionist, our arrival did not see the end to this.
We then asked to see our room before settling our remaining bill, we were huddled into a lift smaller than a phone box and taken to our 'family room' it looked like the spare box room where all the extra furniture got stored.
We told them we were going to step out for lunch and cone back later to check in.
After a little chat we decided it definitely wasn't for us.
We tried about 4 times to call the unanswered line to claim our deposit back but were unsuccessful and have written to them on our return.
The rest of the hotels we enquired about appeared very busy, Apollo was virtually empty... Always a clue!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucyroberts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helier hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We arrived at 10am to the hotel, and though we couldn't book in till 2.30pm, we were able to leave our luggage there (which they moved to our room when it was ready).

The hotel is about 5 mins walk to St Heliers shopping area and 10mins to the bus station and Liberation Square.

We had booked bed and breakfast (you could include evening meal - or book to eat in the resturant in the evening). The breakfast was buffet style : cereal, juices, croissants, rolls, fruit + sausage, eggs, bacon, beans etc... It was extremely good.

The hotel has two small swimming pools (indoor and outdoor), also a small gym. There is a piano bar which opened at 6pm, also a pub and a pizza place.

Our room was very nice, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was large and clean. the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Spent 3 nights at the appollo the hotel is very clean, staff all really friendly and helpfull
we ate in the restaurant one night and had a really enjoyable dinner with excellent food and service
the location and facilities in the hotel are very good and we would definitely stay there again on a return visit

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisymay46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I would not normally use my time to write a review but on trihs oocassion it is well deserved. Unfortunately on my arrival the room Iwas allcated was not made up and ready. However both the recpetion staff and manager proved to be extrmely courteous and upgraded me to a superior room with compliments. I would normally use a chain hotel like the HIlton or Raidssion brand where service is exemplorary. there was no need as at the APollo the service is without question the best I have recvied anywhere. fronm recpetion to porter to eveing waiters and breakfast staff I have bever before met a team of people who seem to gneuinely care about their customers in this fashion. Yes the rooms are alitlle dated BUT the staff are superb. I would highly recommend the Apollo and will defeinately be using for my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This hotel was extremely dated with interesting decor! The rooms were fairly spacious but the beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom wasn't clean with a shower that barely worked with the temperature going from boiling hot to freezing cold. The rooms were also boiling so we had to leave the windows open for most of the weekend. Luckily we were visiting friends on the Island so spent very little time at the hotel. Our friends were staying at the Sommerville Hotel which although is not in town, it's only a 10-15 minute bus ride away or approx £15 in a taxi in the evening with beautiful beach views and seemed to be much better value for money. Next time I would stay there, although location wise the Apollo is ideal if you do want to be in town and your not spending too much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigers4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,470 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4GJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing