We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Large Beds”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Have just spent Easter weekend here. We where a party of 9 using 3 rooms which where next to each other . which was excellent. Clean rooms very large beds. rooms dated and bathrooms. RoomsVery hot had to have all the windows open all day and night. Had a lovely view over the pool. The water was also very hot even burning. The breakfast was vey nice a large choice for everyone. The restraunt very expensive for what you got. Also the bar too expensive. Finding the hotel on the first day took us a good hour . Not any easier the next day. The staff where very helpful. this is an ideal hotel for being so close to St Heiler and ideal for the children.

Room Tip: Very noisey over the road. Much better to have a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

Not a bad hotel, but not one I would readily return to - It looks like it would have been excellent - 20 years ago, but hasn't really moved forward.

The positives! Clean, big comfortable bed, light airy room, good TV & good location.

The negatives - Indifferent staff - I felt that I was an inconvenience, not a customer. Rushed restuarant service - As one course finished, they were bringing out the next. The towels smelt like they had been washed in aviation fuel. The shower was very weak (more a dribble) and its temperature varied more than a menoposal woman.The DB&B evening meal was limited to very few choices none of which were particulary inspiring and the WiFi was very slow.

There is nothing bad about this hotel, but probably better suited to a more tradional traveller - My pensioner parents would love it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a large family room that was kept very clean and tidy.the hotel has a small gym but I had no time for it.I had time for the swimming pool and jakuzi.very clean and indulging.I only had breakfast .that was mainly because their menu left me thinking they could be expensive but then maybe I just didn't make sense of it.breakfast was self service hot full English and more.a very well spent three or so nights,indeed

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkamchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Apollo Hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the central shopping and eating streets of St. Helier. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which can take you to Durell and the airport.

The breakfast was very good. We found the drinks at the Hotel bar a bit on the pricey side.

The bathroom needed some tlc, mainly regroutting but there was always plenty of hot water.
The rooms aren't very well soundproofed and we got a great deal of noise from the kitchen early in the morning and late evening. The beds are very comfortable and clean.

The pool is small but was adequate for us because not many other guests used it. The jacuzzi is very warm and the gym small but well equiped.

My only gripe was that the radiator in our room was scolding hot and lots of the public areas where also very warm, perhaps this suited some clients but we found the contrast between the hot hotel made the cold February weather seem even colder!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This Hotel is very central, and good location. Good Breakfast, and free WIFI in the Lobby Area and Restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvinoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Overall, I was satisfied with my experience at the Apollo Hotel. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was good, room was sufficiently spacious, and bed was comfortable to sleep in.

Couple things worth noting though, that I think could use some improvement.
1) It was a little difficult to properly regulate the temperature of the shower
2) The hotel as I know directly owns 2 restaurants, one more formal which requires a reservation (the same place where you eat breakfast) - no problems with that. But they have a second restaurant, part of which occupies the same space as the indoor pool. And it's not a very pleasant experience eating with the constant smell of chlorine in the air and warm humidity from the indoor heated pool.
3) Free wifi in the rooms would have been nice. They offered it in the lobby, and sometimes I could catch a connection in my room as it was basically right above the lobby, but it would often disconnect (maybe at times when the bandwidth would get too busy, although that is speculation).

On a sidenote (and this has nothing to do with the hotel itself), you might find all the one-way streets confusing if you're renting a car and parking at the hotel. Took me a good 2-3 days just to get a good grasp on the layout of the land. If at all possible, bring a GPS (I didn't have one), or ask at reception for a map with a trace of the simplest & most effective route to get back to the hotel. The person at the desk may not be able to help you immediately as many people in Jersey do not commute by car, but they should be able to consult with the hotel manager who knows his way around. So the best thing to do really if you're moving around by car is to ask at reception the night you check in for the best directions on how to get drive back to the hotel, so that you can at least have your answer the next day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boldfrontiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed here between Christmas and the New Year. The breakfast is a help yourself and you can have as much as you like. Staff pleasant. Room at the back overlooking car park and we didn't find it at all noisy. Cleanliness in room good. Would we stay again - yes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polkadance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 30 in St Helier
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 30 in St Helier
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#10 of 30 in St Helier
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4GJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range: £43 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing