We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not exceptional”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“OK but not exceptional”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I have now stayed here twice on business and am booked in again later this week. the hotel is OK but only just. The rooms are very small and quite basic although everything seems to work OK. The bar area and pool are nice especially when the sun is shining. The wifi is a bit hit and miss and from my experience mainly miss. On the plus side it is convenient for the walk into town where there is a great choice of restaurants and bars.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    349
    202
    82
    49
See reviews for
170
398
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Spent 3 nights in St Helier at the end of October for a mini break with friends. Overjoyed with our choice of hotel as the Apollo is in an excellent position for the town. Near to all of St Helier's best pubs and restaurants with its own restaurant, cocktail bar and pub (lounge bar). The staff are all amazing and so helpful and friendly. The service is excellent in the restaurant and the hotel.
It may be true that the bathrooms and rooms could do with a little updating but this didn't detract from the experience as everywhere was so clean and well kept.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Apollo.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back which was very quiet although I think anywhere would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pg_bShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

From the moment we checked in everything was 1st rate. The reception staff and porter were so helpful and friendly we felt relaxed as soon as we arrived. The rooms were very clean and well laid out, and had extremely spacious bathroom. Breakfast selection was excellent and catered for all tastes and dining in the restaurant was a real treat with a good menu selection and served by staff who were excellent and worked extremely hard to ensure everyone was looked after. It was also great to relax in the cocktail bar on an evening. The Apollo has everything from a gym and 2 swimming pools to its own pub where you can watch the football and enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: Overlooking the outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nice hotel with friendly staff. clean throughout hotel. breakfasts apps beautiful, everything cooked lovely, and hot. everything on brek buffet, bacon, sauseage , fried eggs, black pudding beans and, tomatoes and mushrooms., every day . Fruit , cereals and yogurts.waiters worked very hard.small swimming pool with towels provided and changing rooms. Good location,short walk into town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley187065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of October and found it a very comfortable and convenient hotel. Its a very short walk into the main shopping area of St Helier. We were pleased with the lighting and number of chairs. The bed was enormous though a little hard for my comfort. The room was very warm even though there was no apparent source of heat. Towels and swimming costumes dried overnight with no problem. Our room was nice and quiet overlooking the outdoor pool - a nice view. Beware the hot water - it was very hot. Breakfast was extensive and well cooked. The fried eggs were lovely. We stayed for a couple of evening meals. I wasn't especially impressed with the buffet meal but the a la carte meal was good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area rather than the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my partner due to a cancelled flight with Easyjet (who hold an account with the hotel) due to adverse weather conditions. We did not have to pay for the room so cannot comment on value for money, however I would not pay to stay here or reccomend the hotel.

Upon arrival we were met with a frosty reception, regardless of whether we were paying customers or not I feel this is a poor first impression. However, the gentleman who took us to our room (I assume he was the concierge) was pleasant and friendly.

We got into our room (no 301) to find every single window wide open and the room was baltic with a small radiatior which was turned off, and when on was useless. Room was very clean, however lighting was very poor, particulary for mirror use. Bathroom was clean yet very outdated and also extremely cold, cold to the point were in the morning, towels were not dry from the evening shower (12 hours). The shower didn't sit properly in the holder and the power of the water was weak. The bed was comfortable and sleep quality was good.

A la carte menus were provided in the rooms but we were given a buffet dinner (not sure whether this was due to the unexpected arrival of the Easyjet cancellations), however we didn't stay to eat so cannot comment on food quality. Breakfast was continental as expected but choice was limited, teapots and coffee were available on each table but were not hot enough. Toast was brought to each table by a waiter, however everyone has their own preference with toast and it did come as warm bread.

At reception, I gave the key to a gentleman in order to check out and he was shockingly rude, he acknowledged me returning the key with a nod of the head and walked away. There was no "Have a safe journey" or "I hope you enjoyed your stay". Not really the best goodbye to give to someone leaving Jersey after their first visit to the island.

Personally, I would be wary of booking this hotel, the photos on the website seem quite old and there are no photos of the older part of the hotel. I would shop around before booking.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor (appears to be warmer) and also in the newer part of the hotel (do not accept a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaJ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helier hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

On the plus side, the staff are great, the pools and garden area are great and the location is perfect for shopping. Even the car park was very handy. On the down side, the rooms are very dated and need renovating. We were at the front and the noise from the road was awful between revellers and motor bikes. Double glazing would be a must, but then so would aircon because the room was stiffling.

Food was only okay. Most opted for the dinner buffet but we ordered off the menu (they weren't too impressed with that). Breakfast was just about ok, again buffet style.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
751 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4GJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing