We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just back from staying at the Apollo and I would like to thank all the staff especially Anita, Roman, Katriana, Fatima and Paul for all their kindness which made it a very special holiday. The staff could not do enough for us which made up for the hotel being a little bit tired looking but the gardens looked after by Roman were lovely with a clean swimming pool and lovely indoor swimming pool. The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and the waiters and waitresses were charming, especially Paul the Restaurant Manager.
Thank you all for giving us a wonderful holiday, will be back next year! :-)

Andrea, Rachel, Helen, Rita & of course Olivia!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank 487andream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just arrived back from this hotel. Spent 3 nights here with family.
I was well impressed by the hospitality of everyone, reception,bar,restaurant staff everyone who works there, they couldn't do enough for you. clean towels everyday, and beds. We went half board and was well worth it, food was lovely.Will definitely be returning at some point. Had free wifi at reception too.
Thank you Apollo

Room Tip: ask for a pool view. nice and quite, apart from the dam seagulls in the mornings, haha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillExeter_DevonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is rather tired in decor, however the staff, food and facilities and location made up for this. We had a few maintenance problems with our room, we spoke to the foreign gentleman on reception he offered for us to change rooms but on viewing the alternative we declined and went out for an evening meal and when we returned all had been repaired in our room....amazing you can't ask for much more thank you! The rooms were clean, lovely big bed I slept like a log which is unusual for me when I stay away! Tea and coffee facilities in room, just one suggestion, it was very hot during our stay so bottled water would have been appreciated. Maid service was excellent the rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard. Breakfast was hot and cold buffet style, continental, the food was very nice, staff were very attentive, showing guests to their table, tea and coffee offered with toast extremely attentive excellent service. The pool area is lovely inside and out, not a huge space but compact. We had a couple of drinks in the bar at night again service was second to none! The location is great for st Helier only a 2 min walk into centre. My only small issue was the amount of smokers staying here, even around the pool area I found at times unpleasant as a non smoker. Really enjoyed my stay but the owners need to spend a little money on the rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room, overlooking the pool this was very quiet in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After trying to book 4 rooms at short notice we managed to get into this hotel & to be honest we found a diamond.

some of our party was booked into the Pom A Dor but they came to our hotel every day.

The hotel is looking a little tired but the staff are very good & the rooms are very clean.

You have 2 pools /a pub on site so happy days.

The breakfast is a buffet style & is out standing the staff are always ready to re fill coffee & toast.

Overall a very good hotel if looking a little tired around the edges

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davidjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights myself, husband and 9 year old daughter.
I agree with the previous reviewer from yesterday the blonde lady on reception when we checked in did appear bored and although not rude she did not smile once during her initial greeting us! Something I have never experienced in a hotel before and having worked as front of house myself it is your first impression of the establishment that counts! However she was polite and the porter was extremely polite and helpful showing us to our room.
Yes the decor is old and tired, our shower didnt work and the bathroom especially was very old however the space was good and I must admit the bed was huge and very comfortable,I had suffered with tossing and turning in night for the nights leading up to stay but I managed to sleep like a lamb in this comfy bed!plus the duvet is just the right tog for this hot summer weather.
There was tea and coffee facilities in the room which was nice, too many hotels don't offer this service anymore but I like to have this available.
The curtains were lovely and blacked out light however our room was over the pool area and we were kept up til quite late with a group on the poolside area and a guy with a loud laugh which went on up until midnight, however people are on their holidays so we just got on with it but just as advice to anyone on business or who likes a good nights sleep maybe ask for a room away from the pool view.
There was a trouser press in the room and plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe.
We ate breakfast and evening meal in the hotel. The restaurant staff were lovely and attentive, breakfast was tea and coffee served at table and toast also then a wide buffet menu with something for everyone. The cooked breakfast as well prepared and tasty all hot, there was also pastrys/croissants jams etc, fruit and cheese and fruit juices. The evening meal was also a buffet, I chose the roast beef which was delicious and again i cannot fault the restaurant staff all very polite.
We used the pool which my 9 year old daughter loved as it had a small slide in the outside pool. The inside pool/spa area was great and very relaxing especially the jacuzzi. The lady who works in here was especially friendly and very attentive and chatty and a lovely welcoming smile,always nice to see! The loungers around the pool are very comfortable and there was plenty available for everyone to relax.
The location is close to town, we were able to walk in to town/to the beach so it was a good location.
A bad point is the strange system where you cannot order a drink such as squash or a water by the pool until after 11am when the bar opens, not even from the restaurant, once you vacate the restaurant for breakfast you cannot reenter to get a coffee (paid for or otherwise) there is no place to order other than go to the reception where you can order tea or coffee , no juices,soft drinks etc. we had to pop to the shop next door for this, which wasnt far away at all but seemed a bit silly from a business point of view!
The lady on reception on check out was very plesant her name was Rosanna I believe but I could not believe the way one french lady adressed her, as she was checking us out another guest came along and threw her keys at her and demanded for her to call a taxi for 5pm, the polite thing to have done would be to have waited until Rosanna had finished checking us out and queue like anyone else but this was very abrupt and rude. Rosanna dealt with this politely and courteously with a smile and rang the taxi despite the guests rude manner. i have to say she is a credit to the hotel having to put up with these rude manners and yet still being professional and courteous.
All in all the stay was fine for its purpose as a base to visit st hellier, if I was wishing to spend more time within the hotel relaxing I would probably opt for somewhere like the radisson blu or the merton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ljmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would not recommend this place,but to be fair it does have some redeeeming features. It's close to the town centre (a few minutes) so that was great to know our teenangers could safely wander into town , and great for restaurants knowing we could walk back easily without need of taxis . t has good parking (always got a space easily) .everything seems very clean . Breakfast is standard buffet but plenty of it with very welcoming smiling and attentive staff . Both indoor and outdoor pools and the jacuzzi are clean and lovely. towels are provided . So onto the less good points ...the porter really needs some serious advice on personal hygiene. the lift is teeny and shaky. the decor is incredibly tired.there is no room service. there is no a/c and no fans (this was a MAJOR problem as it was 30+ degrees.) Reception area and the receptionists bored and unwelcoming (a SMILE costs nothing!) WiFi only in lobby which meant being 'entertained' by people using facetime and kids lying on the sofas with their electronic gadgets (why do hotels do this ? ) Can not order a sandwich after 3pm (crazy, think of the revenue they're missing) and geting a drink meant complex negotiations (I just popped to the corner shop as it was easier ). So...not a terrible place, but definitely will not be returning .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank plasticpaddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff were helpful, if a little over attentive at breakfast. There was a sign that states you can’t take any food away to be eaten later - who would ever do that, that’s stealing!
Hotel was clean but looks not to have had any money spent on it since the 70s. Room complete with no air con (would have been nice as it was a very warm week), swirly curtains and a brown bathroom suite. Poor value at £110 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pevril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 31 in St Helier
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4GJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range: £39 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing