We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location will go again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location will go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

I stayed for a week at this hotel with my parents. It has a great location. I had read reviews before I went and yes my room was by a noisy road but did not bother me. The weather was very hot when we went and my parents found they had a choice of keeping window open but hearing traffic. However we are planning to go back and pay a bit extra to upgrade to a room at back of hotel (no traffic at all) and they have balconies overlooking the pool.
The pools (indoor and out) were very clean and I spent everyday after a trip out, relaxing at the pool. Always got a sunlounger and it was very quiet and private.
This is not a five star hotel and is reflected in the price but would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyaapril2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    331
    189
    76
    48
See reviews for
160
377
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

This is an ok hotel in as much as it is in a good location, central to St Helier and its shops and harbour. Only a short walk to the harbour and restaurants. It is a clean hotel and the service is more efficient than friendly. It has two pools, one in and one out with the indoor one including a sauna, shower room and jacuzzi all of which make a pleasant excursion. The outdoor pool is freezing but has a slide and plenty of loung space around it.

The hotel is very noisy, in many ways. Behind it is a Design shop which starts drilling and sawing very early in the day and goes on all day long if you get a room at the back of the hotel as we did. The shop has a security alarm that clicks all night long and although faint, quickly become a serious irritant and kept me awake on all three nights of my stay. The worst though is the noise from other rooms as the floor and walls are very thin. Anyone walking in the room above will sound like a herd of elephants and you can hear the speech of the people in the room next to yours.

The decor is seriously outdated and has not seen an update since about 1977 I would guess.

I was very disappointed with Jersey itslef and I was staggered by the amount of mid 50, overweight Northerners standing outside pubs, smoking cigarettes. Sadly, the pubs were not nice. Plenty around but ALL of them are poor. A great restaurant though called Nelsons Eye was superb and the food in Jersey is of a high standard, but it just seems to attract a more undesirable client I'm afraid.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazpacho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

I had been to the Apollo before with some mate some 4 years earlier but on a bed and breakfast basis. Last year with my parents we stayed half board, the bedroom smelt of smoke and was very dated. The buffet breakfast is very good, just ashame that the evening meal I thought was very poor. The more expensive pay extra menu looked to be of a better quality altogther.

I would stay again but only on a bed and breakfast basis.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenPusherNoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Well after reading some of the reviews here I panicked a bit about my booking to the Apollo. We stayed for 4 nights and can honestly say that it was very good. After the coach dropped us off at the front door with cases and small child we were very greatful to be met at the steps by a porter who insisted on carrying all the baggage straight to our room. Checkin was welcoming and friendly and very easy. Room and whole hotel was spotless. Room was well maintained and freshly painted. Downsides would be that the room was extremely hot all day and night, I think this was because it was above the kitchen. We had a fan but it was difficult to sleep in that heat. Staff were superb. They were friendly and very efficient. The restaurant manager was a lovely man and really loved the children. Probably best to just go bed and breakfast. Breakfasts were lovely with lots of choice but dinner was not so good. Overall I would definatley go back to the hotel but would ask for a poolside room as I believe from other guests that these didn't have the same heat issues. Good car park, a hire car is a definate bonus as the most beautiful parts of Jersey are outside St Helier. Good location to the shops.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigger15128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

OK,
I read reviews for this hotel. very few adverse comments, something about a lady not getting a cup of tea on demand?? and the bathrooms being tired.
For those who complained I think a lesson in what you get for2, 3, 4 and 5 star wouldn't go amiss.
The hotel is well located, being just at the northern edge of St Helier main area. 10 Mins walk from most attractions in St Helier and for us the bus station was important. £22 each for a 5 day pass all over the island all day any day.
The staff were always smiling and helpful, worthy of special mention is the restaurant manager, make him your friend, which isn't hard., he loves his job!
The whole hotel is clean and tidy and very quiet at night.
Yes the bathroom was furnished with the sort of mixer tap and snake shower fitting you get in most houses, and getting a good temperature was a black art ( DO NOT LET THE WIFE FLUSH THE TOILET WHILE YOU ARE IN THE SHOWER!!) but I only spent 5 minutes in a shower max so what was the problem??
SKy or even Freeeview TV would be a welcome addition for falling asleep to but HEH HO.

In all thank you Apollo

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telboy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windermere U.K
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Stayed at the Apollo for a week with my husband and two elderly dads. The service and cleanliness was excellent. My dad liked a coffee each night before bed and this was always obtained for him. The sandwiches from the coffee shop were freshly made to order. The seating in the well kept garden was great on a sunny afternoon.
The only down side was the small size of the single rooms. No drawer availability for shirts, underwear etc. The staff were pleasant and helpfull.
I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

Hi I booked this hotel for 5 nights. I found the staff very un-helpful. I seen an elderly lady ask for a coffee at the reception and they said that they had none, they all seem very depressed, they didn't seem to talk to each other, the rooms are very dated the be careful if you book a double room you will get a room with 2 single beds. The noise above our room was un-real I spoke to the staff about it but nothing was done.

I paid a lot of money for my stay at the Apollo what a waste.
The only good thing good about this hotel is the location.
The Mayfair hotel is just beside it a much better hotel with up bet staff
and a bit of life about it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniecurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helier hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#15 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4GJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing