We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Apollo Hotel is superb value for money”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights at the Apollo Hotel on our first visit to Jersey. The location is excellent, near enough to walk to shops and harbour front, but also has a car park at the back so that guests arriving by car can easisly park without having to pay on the car parks. The hotel itself has a very good restaurant and also a pub, The Boot & Ball, which also serves lunch snacks and early evening meals (6-8pm) . Breakfast in the restaurant is excellent - full cooked "English" and the cleanliness of the hotel in all areas was quite marked. The Management and rest of the staff are all very friendly and accommodating, providing excellent service to all their guests. This is a small hotel, with facilities larger hotels would be proud of (indoor and outdoor pools) where the rooms, although very comfortable and clean, could take a little update. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pobsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed here for 8 nights, first night had a room above the bar so very noise. Moved to another room for rest of stay. Rooms average, with loose fitting carpet, cracked tiles in bathroom, very creeky floorboards,tired funiture, basic shower. Tiny tv with basic 4 chanels and sky news only, no tv in public areas with additional choice. Appears to be no sound proofing between rooms so easily disturbed and telephone conversations easily overheard. Some public areas have newer carpets. Hockey teams stayed for two nights and ran riot in the hotel, staff seemed unable or incapable of controlling them, this lasted until approx 1.30am one night and 3.30am another night.. Overall the hotel is tired and dated with attitude to suit. All hotels in Jersey seem to be silly money for what they offer compared with mainland ,however in future I would pay an extra £30/40pn to stay in a modern bult hotel if I have to return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

stayed at this hotel Sept 15 for four days. room allocated directly above Boot Bar, nothing but road noise, football hooligans watching sky sports every night, they even held a funeral reception in there all afternoon, they made enough noise to wake the dead. Had to use earplugs to get to sleep. Of course could have moved to other rooms at a priemum of 30 pounds per night extra. Lot of cash for a bit of quiet at night. Hotel bar not open until 6 pm.Stains on mattress, grubby rooms, hot from being diectly above indoor pool, never again, travellers be warned. toilet flush not working properly etc




Staind mattress

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysCaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

stayed at this hotel from wed 9th september to saturday 12th september 09. Hotel is clean, comfy, food good although not a lot of variety.the breakfast was fry up etc, not the extras provided in other hotels like different types of breads etc but what was provided was nice. The buffet in the evening had a limited variety but again was nice. The restaurant manager is spot on, checks you are ok and is very pleasant and attentive. The hotel staff generally are pleasant and helpful, however, the restaurant waiting on staff are efficient and attentive but do not crack a smile. The rooms are comfy. Our hotel was on the main road and was noisy at night, but once we were asleep we weren't disturbed by the noise. The reception area, bar, pool, restaurant areas are all nice, but the actual reception desk, staircases, lift and rooms are a little bit in a 70's/80's time warp, but are clean, tidy and pleasant enough. The only criticisms we had were the car park is dreadful, it takes a great deal of careful driving and manoevering to get in a space and not prang your car. Another thing it is not disabled friendly, with steps everywhere, we had my mum who is 80 with us and is a bit frail she found the steps a struggle. Other than that couldn't fault the hotel, and its a few minutes walk into the centre of St Helier

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The hotel is well-located in St Helier town-centre, only a couple of minutes' walk from the top end of the main shopping street.

I arrived slightly early for my 3-night stay, but was still checked in. My single room was small and on the road side of the hotel - St Saviour's Road is fairly busy, so there was a fair amount of traffic noise, even with the double-glazed windows shut. The room was basic, but served its purpose. The furniture was pretty bland and dated (probably 1980s), but the soft furnishings (carpet, curtains, bedspread) looked like they had been more recently updated. I felt that the room could be brightened up by simply adding some pictures to the blank walls. The bed was quite comfortable, but one of the two pillows was wafer thin and I couldn't find the extra pillow that is usually stored in the wardrobe in most hotel rooms. Basic tea/coffee making facilities were provided (although the kettle looked rather old/worn) and there was an old 14-inch TV which sported only the four main channels (so no digital channels and not even Channel Five).

The bathroom was of a good size for a single room, featuring a full-sized bath (with a primitive shower over). While the wall and floor tiling was in good condition, the coloured bathroom suite stood out as very dated and in need of replacement. Adequate towels were provided, although I'm not sure why hotels of this kind always specialise in white towels with the texture of medium-grade sandpaper. Cleanliness in both the bathroom and bedroom was good.

The hotel provides an impressive range of amenities for a family holiday. There are two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor, although they are on the small side - a very positive point is that the hotel employs pool attendants. There is also a restaurant, as well as a coffee shop (overlooking the indoor pool). And there is a bar, and plenty of seating in the bar lounge and reception lounge.

Breakfast was served in a large and attractive dining room, which overlooked the outdoor pool. There was a good range of hot and cold options for breakfast. Most of the breakfast staff perhaps need some lessons in communication (and smiling), but I couldn't fault their efficiency. The same can be said of the reception staff - while generally helpful and efficient, they were a little lacking in sparkle and warmth.

The Apollo is an AA 3-star hotel. I feel this is justified on the basis of the facilities provided, but the room that I stayed in was more on par with a 2-star hotel - I feel that the rooms are in much need of brightening up and updating. On the whole, a decent hotel in which I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRobDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Travelled with wife and 5 year old daughter and booked a family room. the room had a huge super king size bed and then a bunk bed. the room was very clean and nicely decorated.

First the room - we were at the front of the hotel which is on a "main" road - ok its a small road through the town but as its very close to the town centre there is some traffic going passed from quite early which is definately noticeable. We stayed for 5 nights, if it was for any longer we would've asked to move. the room was very very comfortable with coffee/tea making facilities in the room and a trouser press. I would suggest to the hotel owners to add another layer of glazing in as this could put people off. The room was very spacious though. if it wasnt for the road noise it would've been an excellent room. the rating on the rooms is simply down to the road noise and the curtains that didnt quite close properly which allowed early light in.

the food in the restaraunt was superb and the restaraunt manager was very friendly and went out of his way to get lobster at short notice.

the indoor pool was tropical - if you had been in the outside (unheated) pool or chute first but was cool at first if you hadnt. Personally didnt use the sauna or jacquzzi but they looked nice and plenty of people were using them.

the location of the hotel is simply superb, a 5 minute walk into the shopping area and 10 minute walk to the bus station which for £1.50 each takes you anywhere on the island. the buses are very frequent and get this - actually on time as well - England should take note. the drivers are very friendly as well and helpful for tourists.

I would definately recommnd this hotel - especially if you get a quiet room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misc_images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Central location. Very good facilities. Indoor pool was excellent and the kids really enjoyed the outdoor pool and water chute. Would definitely stay again. The staff were very good with the kids and the Restaurant Manager went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. All reception staff were very helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 31 in St Helier
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#11 of 31 in St Helier
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4GJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range: £38 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing