We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why don't the staff smile?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why don't the staff smile?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

On Jersey for a weekend hockey tour. Started well at reception with the receptionist smiling broadly and getting involved with the banter. My room was tired and old, found out later that the plumbing was interesting too. To be fair, we were on tour what your room is like isn't a high priority - as long as the bed is comfortable, the shower works and the breakfast is good that's my main concerns. The food at breakfast was pretty good - help yourself cooked breakfast - the staff though seemed to be under some sort of control from the manager who seemed to rule with a steel rod. Shame. The bar was interesting too, late night drinks finished without warning every night at 1PM.
For the hotel itself, bits of it seem very nice, we didn't see much of the more modern rooms at the back overlooking the pool, but for the bits we saw, it's tired and in need of major refurbishment. Somehting which presumably isn't going to happen any time soon. My advice to potentail customers would be to bargain hard on the price of you room; demand a room with a view of the pool if the charges seem to be high.
Overall you have to wonder about the hotel is run when - in public areas at least - the staff don't seem to be alowed to talk with the guests. Apart from the receptionist on the Friday, and the pool attendant every day, the staff seem not to be allowed to talk to guests. Very strange. In conclusion, if you like your stay in a hotel to involve spending time in your room, make sure you get a view of the pool!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamberoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    335
    191
    76
    49
See reviews for
161
380
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Just back from a week in Jersey and a stay at the Apollo. Location was very good with town/nightlife being only a short walk away. The rooms however were fairly grim. Although clean enough the room and bathroom were in dire need of a makeover. The tiling in the bathroom looked like it had been done by a four year old and the old shower was very poor going hot and cold whenever used. We stayed on the 2nd floor at the back and anytime anyone walked down the corridor the floorboards creaked very loudly. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and this one was certainly not worth the eighty pounds a night we paid. It was probably worth £40/£50 although it would also be nice to get a smile from the breakfast staff who all seemed miserable . But then again they too probably eat the thrown together cheapest of the cheap sausages etc etc . On the plus side they do have a small but adequate pool in and out . However it is surrounded by rooms so when late night revellers decide to jump in it does get noisy (as happened on our first night) . The wine from the bar should be avoided as should the hotel. Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckydug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helier hotels

Standish, Wigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights at the Apollo Hotel on our first visit to Jersey. The location is excellent, near enough to walk to shops and harbour front, but also has a car park at the back so that guests arriving by car can easisly park without having to pay on the car parks. The hotel itself has a very good restaurant and also a pub, The Boot & Ball, which also serves lunch snacks and early evening meals (6-8pm) . Breakfast in the restaurant is excellent - full cooked "English" and the cleanliness of the hotel in all areas was quite marked. The Management and rest of the staff are all very friendly and accommodating, providing excellent service to all their guests. This is a small hotel, with facilities larger hotels would be proud of (indoor and outdoor pools) where the rooms, although very comfortable and clean, could take a little update. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pobsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed here for 8 nights, first night had a room above the bar so very noise. Moved to another room for rest of stay. Rooms average, with loose fitting carpet, cracked tiles in bathroom, very creeky floorboards,tired funiture, basic shower. Tiny tv with basic 4 chanels and sky news only, no tv in public areas with additional choice. Appears to be no sound proofing between rooms so easily disturbed and telephone conversations easily overheard. Some public areas have newer carpets. Hockey teams stayed for two nights and ran riot in the hotel, staff seemed unable or incapable of controlling them, this lasted until approx 1.30am one night and 3.30am another night.. Overall the hotel is tired and dated with attitude to suit. All hotels in Jersey seem to be silly money for what they offer compared with mainland ,however in future I would pay an extra £30/40pn to stay in a modern bult hotel if I have to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerphilly
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

stayed at this hotel Sept 15 for four days. room allocated directly above Boot Bar, nothing but road noise, football hooligans watching sky sports every night, they even held a funeral reception in there all afternoon, they made enough noise to wake the dead. Had to use earplugs to get to sleep. Of course could have moved to other rooms at a priemum of 30 pounds per night extra. Lot of cash for a bit of quiet at night. Hotel bar not open until 6 pm.Stains on mattress, grubby rooms, hot from being diectly above indoor pool, never again, travellers be warned. toilet flush not working properly etc




Staind mattress

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysCaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

stayed at this hotel from wed 9th september to saturday 12th september 09. Hotel is clean, comfy, food good although not a lot of variety.the breakfast was fry up etc, not the extras provided in other hotels like different types of breads etc but what was provided was nice. The buffet in the evening had a limited variety but again was nice. The restaurant manager is spot on, checks you are ok and is very pleasant and attentive. The hotel staff generally are pleasant and helpful, however, the restaurant waiting on staff are efficient and attentive but do not crack a smile. The rooms are comfy. Our hotel was on the main road and was noisy at night, but once we were asleep we weren't disturbed by the noise. The reception area, bar, pool, restaurant areas are all nice, but the actual reception desk, staircases, lift and rooms are a little bit in a 70's/80's time warp, but are clean, tidy and pleasant enough. The only criticisms we had were the car park is dreadful, it takes a great deal of careful driving and manoevering to get in a space and not prang your car. Another thing it is not disabled friendly, with steps everywhere, we had my mum who is 80 with us and is a bit frail she found the steps a struggle. Other than that couldn't fault the hotel, and its a few minutes walk into the centre of St Helier

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

The hotel is well-located in St Helier town-centre, only a couple of minutes' walk from the top end of the main shopping street.

I arrived slightly early for my 3-night stay, but was still checked in. My single room was small and on the road side of the hotel - St Saviour's Road is fairly busy, so there was a fair amount of traffic noise, even with the double-glazed windows shut. The room was basic, but served its purpose. The furniture was pretty bland and dated (probably 1980s), but the soft furnishings (carpet, curtains, bedspread) looked like they had been more recently updated. I felt that the room could be brightened up by simply adding some pictures to the blank walls. The bed was quite comfortable, but one of the two pillows was wafer thin and I couldn't find the extra pillow that is usually stored in the wardrobe in most hotel rooms. Basic tea/coffee making facilities were provided (although the kettle looked rather old/worn) and there was an old 14-inch TV which sported only the four main channels (so no digital channels and not even Channel Five).

The bathroom was of a good size for a single room, featuring a full-sized bath (with a primitive shower over). While the wall and floor tiling was in good condition, the coloured bathroom suite stood out as very dated and in need of replacement. Adequate towels were provided, although I'm not sure why hotels of this kind always specialise in white towels with the texture of medium-grade sandpaper. Cleanliness in both the bathroom and bedroom was good.

The hotel provides an impressive range of amenities for a family holiday. There are two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor, although they are on the small side - a very positive point is that the hotel employs pool attendants. There is also a restaurant, as well as a coffee shop (overlooking the indoor pool). And there is a bar, and plenty of seating in the bar lounge and reception lounge.

Breakfast was served in a large and attractive dining room, which overlooked the outdoor pool. There was a good range of hot and cold options for breakfast. Most of the breakfast staff perhaps need some lessons in communication (and smiling), but I couldn't fault their efficiency. The same can be said of the reception staff - while generally helpful and efficient, they were a little lacking in sparkle and warmth.

The Apollo is an AA 3-star hotel. I feel this is justified on the basis of the facilities provided, but the room that I stayed in was more on par with a 2-star hotel - I feel that the rooms are in much need of brightening up and updating. On the whole, a decent hotel in which I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRobDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4GJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing