We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round hotel with excellent friendly and efficient staff.”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We read the latest tripadvisor reviews before booking a special offer spring break in a Gold Double Room. The reviews were glowing so our expectations were high. I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed. We had a second floor room without a view but this was compensated for by having patio doors opening out onto a terrace. The room was large and comfortable with very varied and subtle lighting features. In the bathroom you had the choice of a normal or monsoon walk in shower as well as a bath. There was also underfloor heating so the usually cold tiles were always nicely warm. The breakfasts were good and the food well cooked. On two nights we ate in the Cafe Zephyr where we found the food and service was first class. We enjoyed the lively atmosphere but would not recommend going at peak times if you want a quiet meal and drink - there are plenty of other food outlets in the hotel with a less hectic environment. The Spa has comprehensive free facilities -one of the best we have come across wih no extra charges. All the staff we came across from reception, Restaurant Scirroco for breakfast, Cafe Zephyr, Spa and cleaning services were polite, friendly and efficient. It's easy to get around St Helier from the hotel and the bus station is only a couple of minutes walk away, from where there are cheap and frequent buses to all parts of the island. For a complete change of environment there is a great little Real Ale pub called 'The Lamplighter' in Mulcaster Street right next to the hotel. There is also a nice restaurant in the grounds of the Jersey Museum adjacent to the hotel in the square.

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms have a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Villan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,054 - 2,060 of 2,337 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

First time at this hotel. Turned up at around 1:00pm so disappointed my room was not ready. However the room was excellent, very comfortable and very clean. Minor niggle was there was no trouser press. I will be travelling regularly to Jersey and will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speeds64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Had a room on the 4th floor overlooking Liberation Sq and the Weighbridge and were fortunate enough to be there for the Liberation Day celebrations which were absolutely brilliant. Had a superb view of everything from our balcony. The choirs, bands, parades, liberation vehicles and vintage cars were all first class.

Our room was superb, large bedroom, bath and separate shower, two TVs (lounge and bathroom), large balcony with table and chairs, minibar, tea and coffee facilities (replenished twice per day), turn down service - everything you needed was there! We did not see/use the spa and pool as we were too busy exploring the island but other guest remarked on how good these were.

The hotel was exceptionally clean and the food in all three restaurants (Cabin, Sirocco and Zephyr) was first class. Lazy Jack was another bar with superb lounge area. Breakfast was served in the Sirocco and you could choose to eat in the restaurant or on the terrace - excellent and with a wide range of food available. Chef always on hand to cook omlettes and fresh eggs.

The staff were extremely courteous and nothing was too much trouble.. The receptionist even smiled when we told her that we had spilt a full glass of red wine over the carpet!!!! "Accidents happen" was her response.

We cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. My husband has travelled the world, staying in many different hotels and he said this is certainly the best he has stayed in with respect to cleanliness and service.

Like many other city hotels, the Royal Yacht does not have a car park, however, it is only a few minutes walk away (uphill).

ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therustlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Unusually enjoyable hotel for a business trip. Efficient staff. Excellent location and complimentary upgrade to 'platinum room'. Good food and excellent breakfast in room - particularly impressive was room service's ringing when breakfast was 2 minutes away. This was a nice touch and everything was hot and fresh - even even the poached eggs and toast. Unusally for a hotel, managed to get a good night's sleep. Lively but civilised terrace bars/restaurants.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
Thank QualitymanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The Royal yacht was fantastic from start to finish of our holiday. The stylish decor was great, very modern with great lighting. The beds were very comfy and the monsoon shower was great! We ate in cafe zephar and the grill restaurants and the food was really good. The terriyaki belly pork with chilli, orange scallops I had in cafe zephar was mouthwatering. As were the wickedly good mai tais! The royal yacht's staff were very polite and friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The location was perfectly situtated we were right in the hub of everything in St Helier and close to all the transport links to the rest of Jersey. The spa was also perfect - in the relaxation room was heated marble loungers that sent u to sleep in seconds. All in all I'd recommend the Royal Yacht to anyone looking for the perfect break in Jersey.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbrown6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We arrived and were immediately greeted with the impressive double frontage of the hotel. The left side had all the original featuress and the right side looked like a new extension and is ultra modern. The whole hotel had the obvious nautical theme throughout. Our room was on the 3rd floor at the side overlooking the Jersey Museum and bistro. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Lots of added extras like fluffy bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and chocolates. The hotel bars were very stylish and the staff were all attentive to our needs.Don't think that Lazy Jacks was used enough though as it was very quiet. The ground floor bars were very busy in the evenings. The spa was amazing. It had everything including a relaxation room and double foot spa. There was a monsoon shower too. Total bliss! We would highly recommend this hotel without hesitation. .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracynPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Stunning, modern hotel in a fantastic location. Everything about the hotel was perfect. Rooms, facilities, staff and food were all top quality. Room facilities included a safe, bathrobes and slippers and a DVD player. Stayed in a gold deluxe room with balcony and would highly recommend paying the extra (not a great deal more) to upgrade to this room. We ate in Cafe Zephyr and The Grill and the food was first class. Booked through the hotel website as this seemed to be the best deal

Room Tip: Put it on your list of places to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St Helier
1,762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
818 reviews
0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 30 in St Helier
1,610 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 30 in St Helier
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £98 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing