We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel!”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had the penthouse, myself my husband and a 12 month old. Was little too cold to use the hot tub! But a lovely room! Food was fantastic and it's right in the centre!

We always stay here when we go to jersey to visit family.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    525
    124
    60
    26
See reviews for
205
1,166
51
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The location: excellent, near the shops, restaurants and bus station!
Our room: we had a platinum room, very comfortable and large bed, lovely bathroom (shower cubicle and bath) with everything you need: large and soft towels, dressing gowns, slippers, toiletries, hair dryer... There were also a sitting area and a large balcony.
The facilities: excellent spa with large swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, gym and treatment room. Bars and restaurants, the food at the Sirocco was excellent.
The bonus: the staff, absolutely fantastic, every member of staff we met was pleasant and very helpful but I would like to mention particularly two of them : Arthur and Razvan. They were brilliant!
The only problem: the noise from the street and the bar just below us, we are light sleepers so we had to close the window.
We had a very enjoyable three night stay at the Royal Yacht.

Room Tip: If you go for a room with a view on the port, ask for a room on top floors to avoid noise from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thera1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Great hotel for a weekend in Jersey. The central location was great for shopping and sightseeing in St Helier and also the central bus station - which was really handy for travelling around Jersey as the buses are soo cheap. We paid £135 for 1 night including breakfast, but good value for money with great service from all the staff. The room was compact, but had everything we would need for a night and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SianDaviesCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in this great hotel. Busy on ground floor in bars, but made up for by friendly staff & above average decor. The refurb of this famous old hotel must have cost an absolute fortune and the lighting in the bedrooms is almost amazing

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waddy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

fantastic hotel, staff couldnt do enough. spa facilities are first class and very enjoyable,was never busy down by the pool which made it even more relaxing. room we stayed in was a gold twin which again was fantastic. definatly recommend this hotel to anyone of all ages.....

Room Tip: gold room was perfect for us otherwise it gets expensive,silver room which is the basic room is loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisafromGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Ok. I have thought a lot about what to write for this one. You would be advised to look carefully before you consider boooking this hotel. It is primarily aimed at the business/corporate market, with facilities and atmosphere to match.A kind of last post for the yuppies and their friends! Zephyr bar looks to be the main showcase for the people who need to be seen.
Now that is not to say we didnt have good rooms, we specifically asked for rooms on the upper floors, and got them. However we were still able to enjoy the sound of the traffic and the pavement cafe of the Zephyr if we had the windows open, something we enjoy when we are near the sea usually. Anything below floor 4 and I think you would be affected more, fine fo it doesnt bother you but what if it does? We were based in the old part of the hotel, too, so I suspect this is even quieter as none of the large corporate event rooms are in this part.The roms were comfortable, good lighting and great bathrooms. King sized beds do need king sized duvets though, as my husband and i had many a merry fight over our double quilt.
I would not feel that this is family focussed hotel, in fact we only saw two children, and then only at breakfast!
staff are great,very helpful and professional.
parking IS a problem, as you have the 'choice' of parking in Pier Road, which is the car park for Fort Regent, anyone who knows Jersey can recognise that the Fort is on tiop of a really steep hill, as most forts are...with a 'short cut' down a flight of slippery stone steps, not lit at night, which look just like the ones on The Exorcist, then through a courtyard behind the Museum... great. The other option is the Esplanande, which is also a good 10 mins and very popular, hence hard to find a place. I mentioned this on check out and was told, 'well jersey is only a small island!' ????? so???

breakfast is quite good, decent choice but some of the dishes were quite cool, and it is nice to have hot bacon I find!

spa is lovely, really very good and I used it a lot.

To sum up then, good hotel with some significant drawbacks, good staff,just make sure your proifle fits the hotel and you will be fine, we also went monday to friday so cant comment on weekends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank busybeeNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We were particularly pleased to receive your positive comments in relation to the hotel itself but disappointed to learn that you found the area too noisy. Because we are situated in a vibrant part of St Helier the hotel itself was acoustically designed, built and fully double glazed to minimize noise from both inside and outside the building. There is ample parking close to the hotel and we do offer a valet parking service for guests. It is a five minute walk from the car park in Pier road where I believe you parked and, as mentioned in your review, it is possible to return to the hotel via the route through the old museum area but staying on the main road is exactly the same distance. We take on board your comments and will continue to strive to ensure that our guests enjoyment and comfort is not compromised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hotel is great location and very clean. Staff and food good. The only fault is the rooms that we paid extra for are nice but you will not sleep as the bars and clubs do not close until the early hours of the morning and you will hear all the noise of the street. They seem to have a lot of Hen and Stag weekends.

The spa is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,517 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Club Hotel & Spa
The Club Hotel & Spa
#14 of 32 in St Helier
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Property: Royal Yacht Hotel
Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing