We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best location, most friendly service, excellent platinum rooms, great restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Speyer, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best location, most friendly service, excellent platinum rooms, great restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 5y old daugther for one week. As my previous speakers pointed out, its located at the harbour and city centre is just 5 min walk away. ATM (NatWest) is around the corner. We have booked our trip via DER Tour, German travel agency. Reception is open 24h so there is no need to pre-advise late check-ins. Everybody I have experienced the reception being very polite and very helpful. Even special reservations at their restaurants with regards to my daugther have been made possible. Concierge opposite to the reception was very helpful with regards to day trips (Sark) and bus lines. Main bus terminal is just 2 min walk away. We booked the Platinum rooms (got allocated to the 4th floor) with balcony and harbour view. These rooms do really look like the pictures featured here so no need for further description. Room and bath have always been very clean. The only minor negative points are the usage of cheap / thin plastic toothbrush tumblers and the very poor extractor hood fan. This does not fit into the overall high standart of the room. Even though an additional bed for my daugther has been provided, the built-in closet was still accessible. Both regular beds and the additional ones had mattress covers we appreciated very much because of being mite -allergic. The main bed was provided with virtually a pile of pillows but just one large blanket. Free wireless access has moderate speed. Unfortunatly, the TV does not feature any german channels but english and french only. Rooms are cleaned and kept tidy two times a day. The balcony´s space is large enough to really enjoy sitting outside watching the harbour and the sky - for two people. As previous people remarked, one should keep the window - door shut because of the noise from the outside area of Café Zephyr which is very successful subsequently very noisy. Once shut, its very quite inside. Breakfast is served until 11 on the 1st floor at Sirocco. Again service is very polite and helpful. I have missed a larger selections of cheese and cold cuts / sausage but only a bit -> very English breakfast was a very tasty experience, though! The menu at Café Zephyr and Sirocco does not contain any so to speak "child compliant" food but the service made any efford in making my daugther´s wishes possible! Thats particularily great because this hotel appears not to having families as it´s core business. My wife and myself got badly sick because of spoiled food at isle of Sark and being back at Royal Yacht, the management made every efford in supporting us for fast recovery. Many thanks - very much appreciated!!!
To sum up, this hotel with it´s restaurants and especially it´s people made our stay a fantastic- and will - never- forget one! We do highly recommend it both for couples and families and we will definetly come back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAENSEWEIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    452
    104
    51
    23
See reviews for
162
1,025
41
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed for a week for my sons wedding and everything was first class the attention to detail was superb The staff were very attentive to our requests and the organisation of the wedding was brilliant

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASHLEAGUNDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was our first trip to Jersey and we were overwhelmed by this Hotel. The staff were so friendly & helpful from the moment we arrived it was such a warm, warm welcome. We had a gorgeous spacious room with all the facilities & amenities we could ask for. The design of the room, including the atmospheric lighting has been well thought out to ensure you have a relaxing stay.

The location is great, just a five minute walk from the ferry port, a couple minutes to the main bus depot where you can explore the rest of the beautiful island & right in St Helier where all the shops, bars and restaurants are right on the doorstep! (a lot of reviews have commented on noise from the nightclub but this was not an issue for us. We never heard or saw anything and not sure you would, especially not enough to ever disrupt your stay here?)

The Serene Spa - what can I say, this was amazing. This was an added bonus as was not the reason we had booked the hotel but we were so glad of it and made full use of the facilities. It was so relaxing, we spent an hour or so here each day and let our worries just slip away! The heated loungers were my favourite - if only I could install one at home! The toiletries in the changing rooms were also very luxurious and this & the steam / salt rooms have left our skin silky soft!!

The Food / Restaraunt - The Sirocco restaurant where the buffet breakfast was served was lovely. It was expectionally designed again & has views over Liberation square & the harbour. The service staff were again extememly helpful, polite & friendly. The buffet breakfast was perfect. Everything you could want & the hot food was perfectly fresh & warm & was so much better that you could help yourself to the bits you wanted & your eggs were all cooked to order too. Also try one of the breakfast muffins, they are delishious!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in this little spot of luxury, if you're thinking of staying here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cooperage25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
510 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I lived in Jersey 15 years ago and know the place quite well. I wanted to stay in St Helier and chose this hotel. I was extremely happy with my choice. The view was great over the Weighbridge, my room had a nice little terrace and breakfast was extremely good. I will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Have been a very regular visitor to Jersey for many years, tried the revamped Royal Yacht for a change of scenery. Will be staying here in future.
-modern, attractive well designed place very close to town centre (and the sea) making good use of the old buildings it emerged from
-excellent service throughout, including very informative check in (Sue ?)
-good choice of restaurants (think there are 4) and bars/lounges within the hotel from casual to smart
-I ate in 'the Grill', a casual steak bar (limited menu). Quick, friendly service, excellent food at a decent price and good selection of wines by the glass
-Breakfast was also excellent. Good range of fruit, pastries freshly cooked buffet fare, eggs cooked to order etc
-Modern well equipped gym that wasn't too busy. Did not use the cool-looking pool or full spa facilities but it looked great
-Room was small, but fine for a one night business trip. Modern, aircon, comfy bed, small desk, good linen, power shower, good toiletries and range of TV channels
-Free wifi provided throughout the hotel

This place has been very well thought through in design, and appears to be very well managed with unfailingly polite and efficient staff throughout. Some rooms could suffer from noise from the surrounding area (or bars ?) I suspect but I wasn't troubled. Absolutely superb value at £80/night including breakfast. Would be very happy to stay longer, although would try to secure a bigger room, otherwise difficult to fault for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed two nights at the Royal Yacht Hotel in St Helier in August and found it very comfortable with a sea-facing room and good food. There is a bar area outside the hotel where you can eat bar snacks or full meals and the hotel restaurant is good. The location can make it noisy as there is plenty of passing traffic and when we stayed the weather was not particularly good and very windy but that wasn't the fault of the hotel! It is conveniently situated for the bus station, boat trips and the airport. Really good beaches nearby too. Spa pool was lovely.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views - try to get a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzie490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked a 3 night break in a deluxe double room and thought we had come up trumps with a front aspect room on the second floor with a small terrace in the older part of the building. Everything was exceptional as regards service, cleanliness, etc. There was however a down side as noise levels at night were "unbarable". It was not just the hotel disco which took place 2 out of our 3 nights. The general position of the hotel even though spectacular has a very busy taxi rank outside and many close bars as restaurants that also stay open very late. That coupled with a fire evaculation alarm going off in the early hours of Sunday morning telling us to exit the building, meant we had very little quality sleep throughout the whole of our stay.
I would go back but would not stay in the front or roadside again.

Room Tip: Room 221 not a good choice. Very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjwicw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Property: Royal Yacht Hotel
Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing