We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little short of outstanding”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex,UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just a little short of outstanding”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I'd really like to give this hotel four and and half stars as it was very good.

We stayed for five nights and booked a platinum double room which has a balcony overlooking the harbour. We asked for , and got, a room on a higher floor as previous reviews referred to the noise from outside. Even on the 4th floor (the hotel has 5 floors) with the balcony doors closed, there is still a fair bit of noise. During the day, this comes from building construction going on across the road. In the evening it comes from the bar and restaurant downstairs which seems to be the hub of life in St Helier. Most nights were not too bad, but Friday night was rather rowdy and kept us awake for a while.

None of this is the hotel's fault , but it did detract a little bit from an otherwise excellent stay. The room was very comfortable and a good size, the bathroom had a bath and a separate shower and the furnishings are all modern and attractive. One bugbear I have with hotels is duvets. Of course they are easy for the housekeeping staff, but am I the only person who goes to bed comfortable and wakes up too hot at 3 in the morning? Anyway, after the first night, I asked for the duvet to be replaced by sheet and blankets and this was done very efficiently with no problem.

The buffet breakfast was good and my wife's request for gluten free bread was handled with no problems. I have written a separate review of the Sirocco restaurant which is the main dining area for the hotel. The food and cooking here was outstanding.

I didn't look at the rooms away from the front of the hotel. If they are a reasonable size and noise is an issue for you, they may be preferable to the rooms at the front with a balcony. The balcony was nice but the view out to the harbour is nothing special.

The location is terrific. Driving and parking in Jersey is a nightmare...I'd suggest using the excellent , frequent and inexpensive buses to get around the island. The bus terminus is 100 yards from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are worried by noise, don't stay at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussextravellers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    526
    124
    60
    26
See reviews for
206
1,168
51
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Just arrived booked a weekend through British airways holidays.. Booked a gold room .. Warning we are in the older part of the hotel in a converted corridor with the smell of steak from the restaurant next below smell was so bad finally got moved to the new part which is much better.Can't comment on anything else as so disappointed with my booking. One spare plug socket next to the kettle.. Breakfast was ok not great.. The bars are good and busy

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddsmithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We joined the constant stream of diners at the indoor/outdoor restaurant at the Royal Yacht. The hotel is very much at the centre of just about everything in St Helier. The square, the bus station, the shopping arcade, the main shopping streets - they are all within strolling distance.
We sat inside and the place has an elegance to it that is reflected in the table settings and the waitresses.
The menu reads well and the food matches your expectations.
I had a seabass dish that was richly complemented by other accompanying fish treats. The sauce made this meal special.
Of course you pay a bit more for the comfort of this hotel, but you are also paying for decent food that leaves you feeling good about yourself.
Busy place, so check it out in advance.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent couple of nites in Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel room was a bit dated, but clean .Bed very comfortable. You could hear the noise from the street at nite , takeaways close by... We asked the room away from the nightclub, which we got. Breakfast was excellent, "the egg chef" is very good. All the staff in the hotel friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask a room away from the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liisalema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

just had a 5 night break at the Royal Yacht and had a great time. The breakfast was excellent every day, no queuing for hot food, coffee & toast was served really quickly and the egg chef was really friendly. all the hotel staff we came across were really helpful. The hotel is very central in St. Helier and well located for bus station, shops, bars etc. Having read other reviews before arriving, I was a little worried about the noise problem and yes, it was rather noisy on Friday and Saturday night as our room was directly above the Zephyr bar but its a lively and happening place so you have to accept that. The spa facility was brilliant, very calming & relaxing. All in all - a top hotel. (St. Helier itself needs to raise its game though - was expecting more up-market shops!!)

Room Tip: the higher you go - the less noise you'll hear - or choose a back / side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOZZIEHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excellent in every aspect - food, accom, service, facilities and location. Why choose anywhere else in Jersey. We throughly enjoyed their special wine tasting evening with a selection of dishes from the restaurant. Never realised Port tasted that good, a wonderfull evening that we will always remember. Thanks to Marco for educating us on Wines and especially Port.

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to get a balcony. The extra space is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23MargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 night break at the Royal Yacht. Would highly recommend this hotel. We paid extra to upgrade to a gold double deluxe room - well worth the extra. We had a large room with all the facilities including plush robes. The balcony was large with rattan table and chairs and a sun lounger which we used regularly. The spa is lovely with a pool, steam room, sauna, relaxation room and even a foot spa. The hotel bars are all excellent although very busy. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants so can't comment on them. We would recommend Wildfire restaurant opposite hotel both for the steaks and Fajitas and Little Italy for Italian. Food in both was excellent.

Room Tip: Don't stay in basic silver room in old part of hotel, pay to upgrade to the gold double deluxe w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,518 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Club Hotel & Spa
The Club Hotel & Spa
#14 of 32 in St Helier
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Property: Royal Yacht Hotel
Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing