We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stylish and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

We had a 3 night weekend stay at the Royal Yacht Hotel, booking through the website and taking advantage of their weekend special rates (£159 for a platinum double).

The hotel is in a great location, overlooking the harbour area and the front-facing rooms and balconies make the most of it. We stayed over the weekend so the area was pretty lively till late, but the room was reasonably soundproofed.

The room was very stylish and comfortable, and the bathroom attractive and well equipped - with the TV above the bath a nice touch. The only problems we had were a warm fridge ( we managed to get an ice bucket eventually after a bit of a palaver) and the very slow TV controls mentioned in other reviews. Oh, and the wifi only worked when sitting out in the corridor.

We used the spa area each day. The although small, the choice of inclusive "activities" available were impressive - I counted at least 9. The gown and slippers in each locker were a nice touch too.

Breakfasts were good, with as much choice as we could have expected . We also ate at the Zephyr cafe - the comfort food (burgers etc) was pricy but portions so large you could happily share, and the Sirocco restaurant - overpriced in our opinion, with meals appearing to be cooked in a central kitchen and sent upstairs. At £25 for 2 slices of veal and some mushrooms, no vegetables you couldn't help thinking about the cost rather than enjoying the quality.

We found the staff all very helpful, particularly the concierge who spent some time going through some trip ideas with us.

  • Liked — The spa
  • Disliked — Drunks queuing for taxis outside at 2am
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    448
    104
    51
    23
See reviews for
160
1,015
41
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Myself, my wife and a couple of friends stayed in the Royal Yacht recently while visiting friends in Jersey.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and its obvious that no expense has been spared. The rooms were very well appointed and turned out and immaculately clean.

The hotel has its own Spa and swimming pool but the treatments are on the pricey side. However the pool and steam rooms etc are excellent.

The hotel has a number of restaurants, cafes and bars and a nightclub (be warned this is very busy at the weekend so be prepared for some noise if you are on the lower floors!)

My only complaint is that my wife and I were put into what was obviously only a single room despite having paid for a double (the other couples room was fine). However as we only stayed two nights I didn't complain but this is the reason I won't be giving the hotel a "5" rating.

Overall i would have no hesitation in recommending the Royal Yacht.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Paid for double room but was clearly assigned a single
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ndwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Following my overnight stay in the Stargazer suite I felt compelled to write about the exceptionally high standard of service I encountered. The room was beautiful: spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated. The additional fittings such as the hot tub with it's sweeping views of the Jersey marina made this a truely five star experience.

The hotel also has a very luxurious spa which boasted a lovely pool, sauna and steam room as well as a wide range of reasonably priced beauty treatments.

The staff in spa sirene and through out the hotel were always polite and helpful making this an overall fabulous hotel stay. I would recommend the RY to anyone looking to sample a high end hotel offering great service, beautiful rooms and access to a range of lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasMagnumPI08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Spent a long weekend here for my Husbands 60th Birthday, it was fabulous! We used the Grill and Cafe Zephyr (were we ate a lovely tennerfest 3 course meal for £15) and the food was delicious in both places. The Spa complex was really special and we used it four times during our stay. All the staff we spoke to were very helpful, pleasant and courteous and any requests were dealt with immediately - we asked housekeeping for dry bathrobes after we had used ours in the spa and they arrived within 3 minutes! Breakfast was plentiful with lovely fresh fruit on offer as well as the usual fayre. All in all a perfect stay and a real treat for both of us!

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Lack of Car Park
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelma14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

Without exception, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room, a platinum double, was comfortable and finished to a high standard. The LCD TV and heated floor in the bathroom were particularly impressive. On a negative note, the TV menu was frustratingly slow and didn't have any form of program guide. Also, we experienced a problem with a movie we purchased (this was refunded without any hastle). That said, we didn't go there for the tele. The food was excellent and so was the wine. I was a bit dissappointed there were no ales but the quality of the wine more than made up for that. We thoroughly enjoyed the spa. The facilities (indoor pool, sauna, gym, etc) are available to all hotel guests at no extra cost. In addition, we purchased a double massage which was simply heaven (these are popular so book well in advance). I thoroughly recommend the Royal Yacht Hotel and advise that you take full advantage of the spa during your stay (but take some DVDs with you if you fancy watching a film in your room).

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — TV
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesInHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

There are two truths about this hotel. First: the building itself is lovely, nice and comfortable. Second: staff absolutely disgraceful. Restaurant 1st floor – unable to communicate in English with waiters; food was cold, cooked probably on one year old oil and foul, they couldn’t cope with number of guests coming down for breakfast at the same time. Room service – cold and same problems with communication. Housekeeping – don’t even try to ask for anything. They don’t speak English. I thought Channel Islands are English speaking, not Portuguese. Their staff will even speak foreign language straight into your face even or maybe especially if they know you don’t understand them. How rude!!! Reception – will promise you everything but at the end they will say: sorry, we couldn’t do it. For over £150 a night we could expect something more. 4 stars… no way!!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BibiLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndonFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2008
Thank you for your review. I feel compelled to respond on behalf of the Management and Staff of the Royal Yacht Hotel whom I feel have been unfairly treated by the generalisation of your comments. To suggest that the staff are disgraceful is simply inaccurate. As previous reviews will testify our staff are well trained, committed and professional. As is not uncommon in the hospitality industry we employ many different nationalities of people and the vast majority of our staff are fluent and competent in English. We do however, take every review seriously and would be pleased to investigate any incidents which may have affected your stay with us. I have asked the hotel management to contact you, under separate cover, so that they may discuss in more detail aspects of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

My mum and I stayed here for a long weekend, and were thoroughly impressed and enjoyed our stay.
We'd book a platinum room and so had a view across to Liberation Square and the harbour. As the weather was so warm and sunny, we were able to sit out on the balcony. Fabulous!

I really don't understand previous reveiwer's comments about the staff. All the staff we came across were always professional, helpful and friendly. There was certainly no language problem.

I can only second all the positive comments from previous reviews. We ate at the Cafe Zephyr and thought the food was excellent - particularly the Sea Bass!! Can certainly recommend Afternoon Tea there too!

The only sad part of our stay was leaving - but we'll definetly be returning!

  • Liked — The room, the staff, the location, the food....
  • Disliked — Having to leave at the end!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Property: Royal Yacht Hotel
Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing