We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jersey experience”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend. Food was excellent, staff very helpful. Zephyr bar was terrific, and great vibrant atmosphere on Saturday evening.
A terrific location to see all the attractions, taxis at the door, overlooking the Marinas.

Bedrooms clean and modern, and I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Pay for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammi2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,519 - 1,525 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful first time in Jersey. The Royal Yacht was an excellent choice, great location central for everything. We had a quiet room with no views but this did not bother us very much. A previous reviewer mentioned lots of steps to some of the rooms this could prove a problem for some, we struggled! The room was nice with king size bed, the pillows were very poor and offered no support. The breakfasts were excellent and suited all tastes, lots of French and Germans staying. The Sirrocco Table d'hôte menu at £30 is a must and Monday's you only pay half price for amazing food. Don't know how they do it ? The Spa facilities are great and we used the pool every day.
I recommend a hire a car as some of the bays and coastal towns not always easy by bus. St Brelade is beautiful. A visit to the zoo is also a must.

Room Tip: Same level as lift. Not at front of building due to Zepher bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireLass61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have been to Jersey many times and stayed in many different hotels but for some reason never at the Royal Yacht. It was an enjoyable experience. The staff were great. Helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was spacious, clean and modern. We asked for a quiet room and we got it. Important as there is a nightclub until 2am on the premises.
Breakfast was very good and we loved having our eggs fried the way we like them by the jolly chef.
Very convenient location, lovely outlook on the harbour. All mod cons. Great!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if your not a disco person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEITHandDARREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in May in the Penthouse Suite and it was fabulous. The vast majority of people who have written reviews comment very positively about the staff and rightly so!! They were as usual friendly, cheerful and very efficient and I was welcomed back warmly. I look forward to returning to one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inquirygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from staying in the Royal a Yacht Hotel Jersey a lovely hotel the only problem with our room was it only had 2 small windows which made the room dark but the room and bathroom were large the only problem was to get to our room we had to carry suitcases down 8steps then up 4 steps the staff were very friendly ideal place to stay for being very central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same floor as the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from 2weeks in Jersey staying at the Royal Yacht Hotel. Having been "warned" that the Silver Double Room we were booked into "maybe a little snug" we were pleasantly surprised by the overall size of the room. It was quite spacious with all the amenities you would expect...I especially liked the underfloor heating in the bathroom! The use of the Spa Pool and Gym was another added bonus we didn't expect but thoroughly enjoyed. The food in The Grill was excellent and all the staff at the hotel were polite and helpful. Our room was 425 and was in the older part of the hotel overlooking a side street and we did experience some noise late at night from passing revellers at the weekend, but apart from that, we really enjoyed our stay and will definately return and recommend this hotel. A tip, if you don't have a room with a balcony, there is a lovely roof terrace you can use.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rugaroo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights here. Overall, it was a good stay. The room was comfortable, staff were helpful, and the hotel has many amenities (bars, restaurants, gym, and spa). There are many other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, as well as shopping, a laundromat, etc.

We arrived shortly before 2:00PM and our room was not quite ready, so we went to lunch at the Café Zephyr on site. (It was quite good.) After lunch we were shown to our room.

Pluses of the room were the comfortable bed, nice shower, safe for valuables, and coffee, tea & cookies in the room. A minus for our room (silver category) was the very noisy bar crowds outside our fourth floor room from midnight to 3:00AM Friday, Saturday & Sunday nights. If you stay here, I recommend that you book a room in the newer area of the hotel facing the sea, as I expect those would be much quieter.

Our rate included breakfast each morning and the selection was quite nice (toast made to order, eggs cooked to order, bacon, beans, various pastries, cereal, fruit, juice, meats, cheese, bread, etc.)

My husband visited the gym / spa and said that it was quite nice.

We arrived by airplane, and there is a convenient, inexpensive public bus from the airport to the Liberation Station in St. Helier. From there it is a short walk to the hotel.

Note that the bus system is quite good. If you plan to use it a lot, you can buy a one or multi-day bus pass to visit other sites around the island. (I highly recommend a visit to the Jersey War Tunnels.) The visitor center has information on the bus system and various sites and activities around the island. The staff there are quite helpful.

We departed via ferry, and chose to take a quick taxi to the ferry dock that morning, but it would have been a reasonable walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargieMary19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,753 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,082 reviews
0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,607 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £92 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing