We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this time.”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We usually love staying here ! We were here in June and decided to come back in August. This time we are quite disappointed because they gave us a room on the street side which is so noisy at night, despite the "double glazing" ! The bed is not easy to get into on one side because of the eaves ! No chocolates when they do the turn down service .
The room was made up for one person instead of two although this was rectified as soon as I pointed it out. Maybe we need a change of hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,480 - 1,486 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this hotel. From check in to check out, everything was superb. Restaurants are good, highly recommended. Bars good, breakfast excellent. Staff very attentive and helpful. Room excellent. Can't fault a single thing and would recommend and will defo return.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank scottmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for a week in this very convenient well located Hotel. We were in a Platinum room which is spacious and very well maintained. There is nothing I can fault the hotel for. We were overlooking the harbour and it is a fact that it is a very popular social venue during Fridays and Saturdays. It made no difference at all to our sleep. Once you closed the patio door you couldn't hear anything. The food was very good with the breakfast very busy but never in seven days was the service in any chaos. The really commanding feature of this hotel was the courtesy and helpfulness of staff. I've never seen anything like it. They were all top notch. This hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a room in the new part .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimCardiganWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 7 nights here in July and it was one of the best holidays that we have ever had. It was the first time we had booked to stay in a hotel as we usually stay in holiday homes and cottages, but we had a brilliant experience. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms extremely clean, and the facilities perfect. Our room was cleaned every day, and our beds turned down every night. The pool and spa facilities were wonderful, which are free to use for hotel residents. There is a pool, jacuzzi, sauna, x2 steam rooms, foot spa, and relaxation room. We used these every day - very relaxing! We even decided to have lunch by the pool on one of our trips, which was a great way to top off a relaxing afternoon by the pool. There are a number of restaurants at the hotel which offer a good range of food, and I would recommend trying them all. As we had our anniversary during our stay we decided to book a table at the Sirocco restaurant for that evening. It was very quiet (mid week), but we had a delicious meal and the waiter also helped us pick the perfect bottle of wine.

We stayed in a gold room with a balcony which was on the side of the hotel next to the museum, but we found this to be great as we could sit out on the balcony and not feel as though we were being watched by anyone from the front of the hotel. Because St Helier is such a buzzing place you will find on a Friday and Saturday night that it can be a noisy place, especially with liberation square opposite, but the rest of the week is lovely and quiet.

The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring St Helier, and with the bus station over the road (all journeys £1.80!) you can get around very easily. When you arrive at the airport I would suggest waiting for the bus as it only costs £1.80 to get to St Helier and the buses run reguarly, and there is room for your luggage on board too - much cheaper than a taxi!

Thank you to all the staff at the Royal Yacht for a wonderful experience. Me and my fiance got engaged here so we will most certainly be coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have just spent 4 very enjoyable nights at the Royal Yacht. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a platinum room with magnificent balcony views of the marina. The room and bathroom were comfortable, spacious and spotless. Hotel staff were efficient and courteous and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The food is excellent and a wide choice available at the buffet breakfast.

The hotel is well appointed with buses and taxis nearby, and the main shopping streets (King Street and Queen Street) just a few minutes walk away.

From reading previous reviews I expected the noise from outside to be much worse than it actually is. With the balcony doors closed this was not a problem for me.

I would highly recommend the Spa, which is superb and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Best views from rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexandra051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just enjoyed 5 nights here in a Platinum room. It was light and spacious. I particularly enjoyed watching tv while in the bath.
We were not bothered by any noise outside although it was very busy. Once the balcony door is closed and the air conditioning is running there is no problem. We had purchased ear plugs after reading some of the reviews but found they were not needed.
This hotel is very handy for town and near bus station etc. and therefore ideal for anyone with walking difficulties. The staff are all first class. Friendly and very helpful. Any request was answered immediately. Trips were booked easily and good advice given over choices.
There are three restaurants and we ate in all three. The Sirocco (which is also where breakfast is served) is fabulous. The food and service is second to none. There were three chefs working at the preparation area and I watched them at work. Everything had to be perfectly arranged on the plates before being served at the table. Once there the waiter then described each course like a presentation. The lollipops with the coffee provided a perfect finishing touch.
This hotel seems to be the centre of the social scene in St. Helier as the outside bars were going like a fair every night. There is a good atmosphere about the whole place.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at this Hotel for 2 weeks while on a work trip this past March(2014). The Hotel was beautiful, centrally located and the bar scene was always buzzing with people. The rooms were very comfortable with plenty of room for the personal and business traveller. The balconies were fantastic and were quite spacious. Unfortunately, because of the bugs, many of us were not able to spend much time outside enjoying the space. It is centrally located, close to downtown and not far from other restaurants and the ferry if going to France. I would say for me, the greatest thing about this hotel which made it even more beautiful were the staff. They were so friendly, helpful and so accommodating, I cannot say enough about those working in the restaurants or the front desk staff on the day and evening shifts. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet room, I would ask for one not on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ral6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,753 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,085 reviews
0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,608 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £92 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing