We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
1 review
“One of the best hotels ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Stayed in The Royal Yacht when visited Jersey for a wedding. In fact, had it not been for the wedding, we might not have left the hotel!

Had a fantastic stay, if only there was a Royal Yacht in every city! I can't find any fault!
As soon you as got there the staff made things instantly easy, sorting parking tickets, taxi's for wedding. The staff completley made you feel that it was a pleasure to have you stay there!!

Room was immaculate, better than many 4* hotels we have stayed in. Decor lovely and contemporary. Bed linen of fantastic quality and lovely Gilchrist and Soames bathroom toiletries!

You have a choice of 4 bars to start (continue and finish!) your evening in and 3 resturants, but despite all these different venues, the hotel retains a great feel of a smal friendly independant hotel and the bars, resturants are cleverly tucked away, so you could like you're in a different place each night you went there!

Ate in Zephyr restuarant downstairs on Fri night, which is definatley the place to be on a Friday. Not your usual hotel bar at all, a great buzzy atmosphere with lots of locals as well as guests. Fantastic food and really reasonably priced.

Breakfasts are excellent, I want to know where their fresh fruit is from! You can ask to sit outside on the balcony which made it a nice holiday treat.

Sunset drink on the roof top terrace perfect way to take in harbour views and plan which bar, resturant downstairs to go to next!

Can't wait to go back , and will stay for longer!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaltonDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    430
    100
    51
    22
See reviews for
151
979
40
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We spent a long time picking a hotel in jersey for a weekend away and picked this one because it was so new and had a balcony. We picked a platinum hotel and were allocated 301.

The room:
- its brand new with beautiful fixtures and fittings which absolutely up to the minute modern, money has clearly been lavished on this hotel.
- BUT the rooms lack charm, style - it all feels a bit Hilton - I know I should have spotted this from the pics. If you are into a simple wood, chrome, blue pallette this ones for you. For me it needed more character.

The Location:
- Being right in the heart of town is great - v convenient however the area in front and around the hotel is a major bar area and is also home to the cab rank that all the late night revellers use to get home. So although you have a lovely balcony you don't feel like using it after 7 as its just so noisy. Furthermore if you are coming back to the hotel after 7 it all feels a little scary with drunk people everywhere many so inebriated that they are throwing up. Finally although the double glazing is great you do have to fall asleep to a background noise of chatter and music. We were there over a sunny summer bank holiday so we probably got the worst but if you want peace I would think again.

The Facilities:
- Amazing spa. Lovely gym.
- Loads of bars and restaurants but again for me they all felt a bit faceless

The service
- Lovely friendly staff
- when they found out I was gluten intolerant they went and bought gluten free breakfast for my breakfast the following day
- lovely maitre d

The food
- breakfast is lovely a really lovely buffet
- over priced for average food. A plate of smoked salmon was £15 whilst main courses were around £25 to £30. I don't mind paying steep prices but only with quality to match.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndonFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2009
Thank you for your review.

We were very pleased to receive your compliments in relation to our rooms, facilities and the overall service provided. The hotel is situated in the heart of St Helier adjacent to the newly created Weighbridge park/plaza. Whilst we do admit that the area is busy and vibrant particularly on Friday and Saturday evenings. The area is very pleasant and the square opposite the hotel is a wonderful open space that plays host to a myriad of events from French Markets to Boules tournaments. Obviously being a town centre hotel it is impossible to provide absolute tranquility but the hotels double glazing is very good and usually works to the satisfaction of our guests. We are disappointed that the style of the Hotel was not your taste especially as so much time and effort went into its creation and we have received many compliments on the design and style of the hotel to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

I cannot compliment this hotel enough for its service and facilities. We stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday and were celebrating an anniversary. We were upgraded from a silver double to a large room with a balcony facing the museum on the second floor. We were allowed to use the spa because we arrived early in the morning from our flight. The spa was extremely well equipped and we used it 3 times. All the staff were very helpful at the hotel and allowed us to use their computer to book in for our return flight and arranged bus passes.
The location is excellent and it is only a few steps to the bus station and Liberation square. We used daily passes to travel all over the island and ate out at different places every day. We did not use the hotel's bars or restaurants but the room facilities were second to none. I would rate this hotel 5 star. It is modern, but friendly and new.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, C.I
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

This was a fantastic mini weekend break surprise for my wife, When arriving at the hotel you are greeted with the friendly smiles from the staff, that make you feel more than welcome(always a great start) we checked in that took no time at all, and arrived in the penthouse suite, where we found a big bottle of champagne, fruit, you name it, it was there,

We booked into a massage, my wife had the me,me,me, massage which she said was the best massage she had experienced(i do try my best, but admit i was beaten on the massage front), we had a lovely meal, and went for a swim, and at night time, we stayed in the jacuzzi, for what seemed like hours,and hours, of course it did help that we had external speakers on the balcony, so you could watch TV from the jacuzzi, the bed was very very comfotable, and you could also see how clean and tidy it was in the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone, and i will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newsradio2261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We have just returned from a short stay in the Royal Yacht Hotel and can highly recommend it. After reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, I chose to email the hotel beforehand to ask for a quiet room and that is what we got (in the older side of the hotel). Although we didn't have a view (might lead some people to leave less than positive reviews, but we weren't there for the view from the room), the room (silver) was perfect for a short stay for the two of us and was still luxurious. Highlights included the under floor heating in the bathroom, perfect cleanliness, TV and DVD player and the little extras such as the turn down service, bath robes and slippers, regular fresh clean towels and free toiletries. The hotel itself is perfect if you are looking to be pampered for a few days - the swimming pool and surrounding facilities are beautiful. Be warned - the hotel's bars/cafes are popular with locals so it's advisable to book for meals, and it gets very busy/bustling in the nice weather. Also, the meals aren't very cheap (though there is choice of around 4 different places to eat within the hotel itself, plus many more restaurants in the town) but breakfast (included in the room price) offers a huge selection so sets you up nicely for the day.

Location is perfect - just a few minutes on foot to the marina, town centre and bus station. The staff are also helpful - reception helped with any requests we had.

Overall I am glad we paid a little more to stay at this lovely hotel and are looking to return next year. I would ask for a quiet room again, particularly if we're staying over a weekend as we did this time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We arrived at the royal yacht for my husbands birthday just a 2 day break along with our two teenage boys, from the moment we landed we were welcomed to the hotel by the reception and the doorman, they were so polite and helpful as we had a little laugh about us being late due to 'flybe' or as it is know in jersey 'fly maybe'... from the moment we stepped through the door of the hotel we completely forgot about our earlier dilemma.

We had two rooms a twin for the boys and a gold deluxe doulbe for ourselves, the rooms were fantastic (a little lacking in view but we weren't away to look out of the hotel window). The bars and restaurants were all fabulous as we sampled during our stay.

The late evening are the best with such a fantastic and friendly atmospshere as the wine was flowing.. as we sat there what else could you want?

We visit Jersey evey year but this was far the best time we have ever had especially with the boys who also enjoyed the lively hotel atmosphere and sheer luxury of the rooms.

We are planning our next visit so should be back soon next week we hope...!

Mrs Stringer

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

amazing hotel with everything you could ask for 5 wonderful nights sleep due to fab bedding. staff very friendly and attentive Rooms beautifully furnished, we will be back

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duke1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Property: Royal Yacht Hotel
Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing